Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government minister shows real promise as runner...

• 30-11-2011 02:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭

...or possibly not.

Leo Varadkar was interviewed for The Irish Times health supplement yesterday. He said: "Last week, I did the 10km Run for Mark in the Dark. My time was 38 minutes, which is not athletic but respectable.......I’m down to 96kg and a 36-inch waist."

Was very impressed. It's been a while since I got under 40 minutes, despite being much lighter. And then I checked out the relevant thread on here:
    mccarte2 wrote: »
    Either the course was shorter than 8km or all my training is paying off! Anyone get an accurate distance on it?
    PGL wrote: »
    My iPhone App (adidas miCoach) is saying it was 6.93km long, but it always underestimates by approx 100/150 metres, so it could be more like 7.05 or 7.1km. Does anyone know the exact distance?
    My Garmin had it clocked at 7:07K -

Anyone want to burst his delusional bubble? (His chip time shows 38m 58s - definitely a real runner though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Burgman wrote: »
    ...or possibly not.

Leo Varadkar was interviewed for The Irish Times health supplement yesterday. He said: "Last week, I did the 10km Run for Mark in the Dark. My time was 38 minutes, which is not athletic but respectable.......I’m down to 96kg and a 36-inch waist."

Was very impressed. It's been a while since I got under 40 minutes, despite being much lighter. And then I checked out the relevant thread on here:

Anyone want to burst his delusional bubble? (His chip time shows 38m 58s - definitely a real runner though!)

Id like to burst it. Where do i aim my Bazuka??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I love the way he rounds down from 38:58 to 38. :rolleyes:

5:30/km is not bad @96kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

It is a pity he shows so little promise as a Minister for Sport!

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I love the way he rounds down from 38:58 to 38. :rolleyes:

5:30/km is not bad @96kg

Not bad at all ....but doesnt look as good as 3:48km. Atleast it gives us a quantifyable measure for estimating his particular political bull**** quotient. 5:30-->3:48 = 31%

All that said its good he particpated in a run for a good cause. A pity he used it for Polliticking though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

A Sports minister who actually partakes in sport?

For me this is a step in right direction from previous ministers for finance wiithout bank accounts and the former minister for health (who ironically is gesturing exactly what putting them in charge is saying;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Jaysus lads. He ran the fun run for Mark Pollock. It was advertised as 10km.

He probably rounded it down to 38 minutes as he didn’t realise that it was a crime under the interwebs law to round down your time for the purposes of Q and A.

More than likely, the Minister doesn’t care about this time, rather keeping fit and supporting a great cause.

If anything, what sort of ego maniac measures their time in a fun run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads. He ran the fun run for Mark Pollock. It was advertised as 10km.

It was advertised as an 8k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭johnners2981

"Last week, I did the 10km Run for Mark in the Dark. My time was 38 minutes, which is not athletic but respectable.......I’m down to 96kg and a 36-inch waist."

Read this quote and it actually made me feel a bit bad. Did 8km in 33:39 and thought it was good, had little or no training though so hoping to get close to or under 30 min next year.
    Think it's possible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

menoscemo wrote: »
    It was advertised as an 8k.

Ah my mistake. So, erm, yeah, what a chancer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Read this quote and it actually made me feel a bit bad. Did 8km in 33:39 and thought it was good, had little or no training though so hoping to get close to or under 30 min next year.
    Think it's possible?

For 8k? It's going to be tough, but doable, seeing as you are not doing much training.

For the same race (7.1k) next year, it should be a lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Typical politician, always has to exaggerate the truth! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I say fair play to him. We have a Minister for Sport who can do some running, that's a positive for our sport. (As opposed to the Minister who can shout Olé Olé Olé the loudest).

The distance inflation I can live with; plenty of other targets the revolution can focus on!

I say fair play to him. We have a Minister for Sport who can do some running, that's a positive for our sport. (As opposed to the Minister who can shout Olé Olé Olé the loudest).

The distance inflation I can live with; plenty of other targets the revolution can focus on!

I hope youre right. We need a minister for sport who actually does something for our sport though.

When he got appointed he joked about how little sport he did or knew about, a rookie mistake. A minister for sport who is seen to partake in sport has half his PR work done. I am a cynic admittedly, but the distance inflation mention of gym work seems to be an attempt to maximise the PR side of it.

I have a feeling he's only in this ministry to get the foot in the door and as a ---yes-sir three bags full--- man for cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

The mention of gym work was in response to the question 'do you have a healthy lifestyle' it was afterall a Q&A section in a Health Magazine,, he stated yes, i go to the gym, ran the race for Mark and has lost weight,,,, granted he got the race distance wrong,assuming that was his mistake and not the journalist, but in fairness I don't think it came across in any way as a PR exercise !

Quote=T runner;75765355]

I hope youre right. We need a minister for sport who actually does something for our sport though.

When he got appointed he joked about how little sport he did or knew about, a rookie mistake. A minister for sport who is seen to partake in sport has half his PR work done. I am a cynic admittedly, but the distance inflation mention of gym work seems to be an attempt to maximise the PR side of it.

I have a feeling he's only in this ministry to get the foot in the door and as a ---yes-sir three bags full--- man for cuts.[/Quote]