Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athlone Golf Club Deal

• 30-11-2011 9:47am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭

After their AGM on friday night, Athlone Golf Club decided to try increase membership numbers so they have slashed their membership fee by 50% to €375 + GUI for the year. Details are on their website.

Am just passing info on, i'm not a member...........yet!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

unreal value
    played it once, fine track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Well done to Athlone GC ....... spread the word as some clubs still believe that increasing subs is better than increasing membership. I hope they are inundated with new members as its a great deal (one I would take up if I was within an hours drive even).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Looks from the website that it's the 1st year membership fee that's been reduced by 50% ..... not just the entrance fee.

Fair play ..... it's good to see clubs trying something new ..... even for a limited period ....... not easy to attract new people these days.

Will be interesting to see if this brings in the number of new members they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

charlieIRL wrote: »
    After their AGM on friday night, Athlone Golf Club decided to try increase membership numbers so they have slashed their entrance fee by 50% to €375 + GUI for the year. Details are on their website.

Am just passing info on, i'm not a member...........yet!!!

Don't suppose they did anything on distance membership ?
    Inlaws up that way but I'm only up a limited number of times a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

unreal value
    played it once, fine track.

tight course
    they need to buy some land off Hudson Bay and build a real course
    not some course for midgets and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

I played Athlone GC before and really enjoyed it - nice course in good nick.

Looking forward to getting out there again next year.

There are other clubs around that have slashed the first years membership to get people in and keep their numbers up. Fair play to them I say !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

conno16 wrote: »
    tight course
    they need to buy some land off Hudson Bay and build a real course
    not some course for midgets and the like

they tried to buy some land a few years ago but went about it the wrong way and didn't get it.

alxmorgan wrote: »

i can find out for you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Great value but a lot of old school exists in Athlone Golf Club and tee times at the weekend can be a nightmare, anyhow that 13th hole is a joke.
    I'm happy with my 18month membership in Moate for €550 inclusive of two years GUI.
    I have heard they are in serious cash crisis so it looks like a short term cash injection effort.

the cash rumour has been going around a good few years now. I heard of another one thats in a real crisis but am not going to name names here.

BTW - anyone fancy a round in the midlands in the next few weeks? Am away the 10/11th Dec but any other weekend or over the christmas break

the cash rumour has been going around a good few years now. I heard of another one thats in a real crisis but am not going to name names here.

BTW - anyone fancy a round in the midlands in the next few weeks? Am away the 10/11th Dec but any other weekend or over the christmas break

Will be up in inlaws over the hols so will be looking to get out a few times if I can - will let you know when I know more
    Any interest in the 26th ?

Will be up in inlaws over the hols so will be looking to get out a few times if I can - will let you know when I know more
    Any interest in the 26th ?

Afraid not, it would have to be a few days after the big man comes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

I'll be home (in Knockcroghery) from 23rd Dec to 2nd Jan. I'd be happy to meet someone for a game during that time.

Afraid not, it would have to be a few days after the big man comes!!

Will probably be there for a few days so we'll see closer to the time
    I'll be home (in Knockcroghery) from 23rd Dec to 2nd Jan. I'd be happy to meet someone for a game during that time.

Had to look up where that was :D
    Will be in Edgeworthstown so Athlone areas looks like a handy middle ground
    We can see closer to Xmas

Will probably be there for a few days so we'll see closer to the time

Had to look up where that was :D
    Will be in Edgeworthstown so Athlone areas looks like a handy middle ground
    We can see closer to Xmas

Spot on. will stick up a thread closer to the time. will be out your country with work Friday alx. new school going up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭day dreamer

I have heard that every course in the Midlands is in some kind of financial trouble. Most courses are struggling to retain membership so well done to Athlone for the efforts, Moate too for that matter.

I agree with Slave about the old school mentality (present company excluded) and difficulty with tee times on Sundays in the past but its not much of a problem any more.

Not sure where conno 16 gets "course for midgets and the like". Most members and guests give out that the re-development has made it too long. Could do with a decent practice area though.

Didnt hear that they tried to buy more land from Hodson Bay, probably just as well they didnt if there are money troubles.

its a good few years ago since they tried to buy the land Day Dreamer, i know some of the adjoining landowners.

they changed the course around a bit over the last year, closed in bunkers, made a par 4 into a par 5 etc. I haven't played it since they changed it around (actually haven't played it since start of summer 2010!!) but am going down for a game before i take the plunge.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

€375 for new members is a bit of a kick in the nuts for the present members paying €750 though, too heavily discounted, that said I think I'll find myself as a member visitor quite a lot in Athlone next year
    New Forest are something like €680 and much better value when compared to Athlone's €750, obviously a bit of a trek but it won't be closed because of flooding as much as Athlone (16/17/18)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭day dreamer

Let me know when Charlie, i might get a game in myself!

New Forest is a fabulous course alright, really impressed whenever i played it. I hope they can make a go of things there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭KOJAK_1

alxmorgan

Moate have announced a distance membership for 2012 at €200 + GUI levy for anybody living more than 100km from the club.

Only a few miles over the road from Athlone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Maverick.ie

[QUOTE=

Moate have announced a distance membership for 2012 at €200 + GUI levy for anybody living more than 100km from the club.

[/QUOTE]

Ballinlough has a 5 day membership for that price it might even include the GUI fee

KOJAK_1 wrote: »
    alxmorgan

Only a few miles over the road from Athlone

they also announced a "Pavilion" membership for €100 as well, no idea of the details though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭KOJAK_1

Ballinlough has a 5 day membership for that price it might even include the GUI fee

A distance membership will give 7 day golf - only limitation, that i am aware of, is that the distant member cannot win the majors such as "Free Golf for Year" and "Captains" or "Presidents" prizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Unglika Norse

KOJAK_1 wrote: »
    A distance membership will give 7 day golf - only limitation, that i am aware of, is that the distant member cannot win the majors such as "Free Golf for Year" and "Captains" or "Presidents" prizes.

Most of the distance memberships have a charge per round, with the exception of the alone all alone club and the mountain view,and at e220 + provided you live more than 100kms away you wont get to play on many of the 7 days,if your only up that way a few times in the year it's cheaper to pay the green fee, pavillion membership generally means you can have a drink in the clubhouse,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

i missed this thread while doing exams so heres a friendly bump and a " I'm available for golf today and tomorrow in athlone if anyones interested ? :D "

Hope you join Charlie. We need all the great golfers we can get! :D

i missed this thread while doing exams so heres a friendly bump and a " I'm available for golf today and tomorrow in athlone if anyones interested ? :D "

Hope you join Charlie. We need all the great golfers we can get! :D

Dunno about the great golfer bit but am joining up alright.

3 of us were due to play there at 11 but weather isnt looking too good at the moment. hope it clears off

going to clear for about an hour, then squally showers for the rest of the day.

Looking like that alright. Will see how it is around lunchtime.

yeah should be good by 12 / 12:30. you'll be pushing to get the holes in if you play any later than that.

http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp

rain is coming in fast, but should be almost clear by the time you'd get started. I'll be tipping out there around 12 on spec to see if I can get a game in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Beaulieu

I have heard that every course in the Midlands is in some kind of financial trouble...

Nothing like an understatement eh? I'm a member of a club in the Midlands and thankfully we are able to keep our head above the water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

So did Athlone get twice as many paying subs this year as last year?
    If they didnt then they lost money on their deal...
    And if they did get twice the members then good luck getting onto the time sheet, so the members lost on the deal...

Rock --> Athlone <-- Hardplace

GreeBo wrote: »
    So did Athlone get twice as many paying subs this year as last year?
    If they didnt then they lost money on their deal...
    And if they did get twice the members then good luck getting onto the time sheet, so the members lost on the deal...

Rock --> Athlone <-- Hardplace

your post makes no sense.

We started this offer this year. It's only for new members joining the club, existing members still pay the 750.

Looking like that alright. Will see how it is around lunchtime.

Good game today Charlie. we'll have to get another in sometime :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

your post makes no sense.

We started this offer this year. It's only for new members joining the club, existing members still pay the 750.

Hmm ok, but from the first post it seems like the joining fee is halving?
    I know in my own club that most of the capital expenditure is paid for from new members joining, the subs just cover the day to day expenses.
    How much is the joining fee usually/now?
    Are there a lot of members expected to leave at the end of the year?

there is no joining fee in Athlone. we got rid of it 5 years ago. what is 50% is the yearly subscription :)

charlie must have worded it wrong in his excitement to join :)

golfwallah wrote: »
    Looks from the website that it's the 1st year membership fee that's been reduced by 50% ..... not just the entrance fee.

Fair play ..... it's good to see clubs trying something new ..... even for a limited period ....... not easy to attract new people these days.

Will be interesting to see if this brings in the number of new members they need.

ahhh, this might be the offending post. namely the underlined in the first paragraph

Good game today Charlie. we'll have to get another in sometime :)

Cheers dude. enjoyed the game even with the bad weather. we played on until the light faded.
    one of the lads on the committee came over to me in the carpark after and introduced himself and thanked me for joining and if we enjoyed the round. fair play to him. hope the weather picks up to get out again in the next few days

yeah, that would be Des Rushe. He's our new secretary, I was chatting to him when I came in and he was hoping to catch ye when ye came in :)

I played today and had 34 points ( +2 for the 15 holes ). Good thing I finished on the 12th yesterday, I didnt burn myself out :)