Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tax really necessary for just one day's use?

• 30-11-2011 4:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭

bringing a camper back from the uk to get re-registered/taxed/insured over here. between collection and the ferry i'll only have it in the uk for a few hours. minimum tax option there is 6 months with possible option to cancel for a 5 month refund costing £20 at the end of it all, but just seems like a load of crappy hassle

what happens if I'm stopped? down the station for a chat, or just be told to sort it out pronto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

bringing a camper back from the uk to get re-registered/taxed/insured over here. between collection and the ferry i'll only have it in the uk for a few hours. minimum tax option there is 6 months with possible option to cancel for a 5 month refund costing £20 at the end of it all, but just seems like a load of crappy hassle

what happens if I'm stopped? down the station for a chat, or just be told to sort it out pronto?

Hey you're Irish, talk your way out of it :D Be positive !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

depends on the cop you meet.
    Of course, if it had no MoT or Insurance you can be sure it will be off the road in a trice and on a towtruck.

Well worth the £20 I think, they focus on stuff heading for the ferry at times, easy pickings ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Tedious Bore

corktina wrote: »
    Of course, if it had no MoT or Insurance you can be sure it will be off the road in a trice and on a towtruck.

yeah the current owner says he'll leave the insurance on it for a few days after selling so that we can get it back.
    how above board is that insurance-wise...?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Well worth the £20 I think, they focus on stuff heading for the ferry at times, easy pickings ;)

yeah it just seems like a load of rigmarole tho, and I'm not even certain yet if i can reclaim those 5 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You can always pay a transport company to get it for you. 400 euro or thereabouts, it's nearly the same price as flights+ferry+fuel+connecting transport+food&drink, less inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I once handed the tax disk back to the owner when bringing back a car from the uk as a sweetner to do a deal. He simply could not understand how I was going to drive it from Chester to Holyhead with no tax, it's as if the car wouldn't run without it.
    On another note, he thought I was a complete weirdo anyway, it was about 9 ish in the morning and he offered me a "brew". To which I replied "no thanks its too early for me and I am driving". He looked shocked again - but only after I realised a "brew" was a cup of tea - not a can of Tennants !

Owen wrote: »
    You can always pay a transport company to get it for you. 400 euro or thereabouts, it's nearly the same price as flights+ferry+fuel+connecting transport+food&drink, less inconvenience.

thanks, decent suggestion but were booked now and it's actually working out reasonably cheap as is.
    flights booked - €18 each for 2 people, 3 hour drive, and ferry with discount code yoinked off boards here is €176. hopefully have it all done for €250ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

corktina wrote: »

yeah the current owner says he'll leave the insurance on it for a few days after selling so that we can get it back.

You will not be insured at all unless his policy insures you which is highly unlikely. Police will seize the vehicle if you can't prove it's insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

No one is going to give you definitive answer.

It's all up to luck and your ability of persuasion if stopped ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i think what the craic here is that it wont ping up on ANPR as having no insurance.

sounds a bit iffy, but Ive got away with worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Standard UK insurance doesn't have "open driving" type concepts so I'd be very surprised if you were covered. If you are stopped by the police, you will be in a worse position than a UK resident as you can't accept a fixed penalty notice. It's an arrest, down to the station and possibly held in custody until next available magistrate's date (next day at best) although there have been reports of people in NI being granted bail. Might be a low prospect bu given number of ANPR cameras in cop cars, not sure I'd want to risk it. Where are you picking itI up? Cheshire Police and gwynnedd ones have been stated to be more unforgiving in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I think the OP knows what's required, he's looking for reassurance if he decides to do otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

That reassurance will only arise when he's on Tge boat. Post check in at Holyhwad, you have to pass through a police checkpoint but I've never seen them interested in tax discs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭tankbarry

I had a friend get stopped before when he explained that he just bought the car from a guy and was bringing it home the guards did not seem to have a problem. I think they rang the guy he bought it off to confirm and that was it. Guards didnt have a problem once they had a booking confirmation for the ferry

So when you land here you reckon the previous owners policy will cover you here while you get it home? Big risk if that's your strategy.

Maybe there is such extension to the policy that covers new owner for few days. But OP wouldn't know until he checks the T&C of this policy.

If that was the case, then it's would be valid in UK as in Ireland (assuming it's third party).

CiniO wrote: »
    Maybe there is such extension to the policy that covers new owner for few days. But OP wouldn't know until he checks the T&C of this policy.

If that was the case, then it's would be valid in UK as in Ireland (assuming it's third party).

So the new owner has a crash and it's the old owner's NCB that's killed, come on now Cinio. Also there is the insurable interest thing, if a yoke is sold you no longer have an insurable interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ImARebel

regarding insurance you must put your own insurance in place to be covered

we got stopped by customs going back after buying our car and he rang Quinn Insurance to make sure all was well (which it was)

but a good tip he gave us was to get the insurance company to fax a copy (or email I suppose) of the insurance cover because he said some sailings are at 2am in the morning and they wouldn't have been able to ring the insurance company then to check the insurance was in place, you'd have been kept til morning time until they could ok it

assuming you have insurance here in ireland just ring your insurance co and ask for the cost of transferring the insurance for a few hours, I think we paid 20 or 40eur.

We didn't even think about tax, I can't recall whether the car had a valid tax disc or not, but I definitely know you have to have insurance in place

Hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Katekat

unless he adds you to his insurance as named driver but as soon as you take possession of the vehicle he has no insurable interest on the vehicle. so anything happens you will not be cover. I would ring an irish insurer to get insurance on it, some insurers will take the UK reg on the basis as soon as you have the vehicle over you will re-register it here. is the existing tax cert still in date? if so, you might ask the seller if you could keep the cert for the time being until you get over to Ireland. It will be useless to you over here.

So the new owner has a crash and it's the old owner's NCB that's killed, come on now Cinio. Also there is the insurable interest thing, if a yoke is sold you no longer have an insurable interest.

I don't know how it works. And I assume most people posting here don't know. Maybe rules in UK concerning camper vans are different.

What I know is that in Poland insurance policy is sold together with a car, so the new owner is covered on it straight away after buying a car. If it works there, it's not an abstraction, and maybe similar kind of thing may apply to campervans in UK. I just don't know, so I'm only guessing. I already written that OP needs to check it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

i think I saw someone post here befoere that you could book an MOT very near the port. You are allowed to drive without tax if going to MOT garage.

thanks for all your replies.
    anyone know can I just get tax/insurance/registration sorted in advance with an irish company before I collect it?
    ...or is that a silly question

thanks for all your replies.
    anyone know can I just get tax/insurance/registration sorted in advance with an irish company before I collect it?
    ...or is that a silly question

It's very wise question I'd say, but unfortunately I doubt it's possible, as vehicle has to be presented for inspection prior to VRT. I'm not sure if it applies as well to campervans.

CiniO wrote: »
    It's very wise question I'd say, but unfortunately I doubt it's possible, as vehicle has to be presented for inspection prior to VRT. I'm not sure if it applies as well to campervans.

thanks, but spoke with a friend just now who got a vintage car taxed and insured before collecting it in uk, so seems it can be done. he went through Axa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

few years ago ( i think 2 or 3) bought jeep in uk over ebay., and had to drive over to Latvia, without goin to Ireland. Jeep had few months tax on it, and i was digging around for eu insurance .... emm ... i didnt even try get insurance quote from irish insurers for my jeep .. 4.7 v8 petrol engine .... solution was - short term insurance, there is number companies which offer this, you can get insurance from 1 to 28 days. cost to me 40 GBP for 5 days fully comprehensive , all around europe, which was completely enough for me. Even Police check it before i went on ferry to Norway, and all was grand. Bit strange were on policy - uk car, with ROI address...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Stick twenty euro in the disc holder.

Mar4ix wrote: »
    few years ago ( i think 2 or 3) bought jeep in uk over ebay., and had to drive over to Latvia, without goin to Ireland. Jeep had few months tax on it, and i was digging around for eu insurance .... emm ... i didnt even try get insurance quote from irish insurers for my jeep .. 4.7 v8 petrol engine .... solution was - short term insurance, there is number companies which offer this, you can get insurance from 1 to 28 days. cost to me 40 GBP for 5 days fully comprehensive , all around europe, which was completely enough for me. Even Police check it before i went on ferry to Norway, and all was grand. Bit strange were on policy - uk car, with ROI address...

thanks, but seeing as I'm planning to get it fully sorted over here for the next 12months I'm hoping to just get it done without a stopgap policy if possible.