Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trap extends contract

• 29-11-2011 7:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭

I see that Trapatoni has had his contract extended until 2014. Is this good or bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Fantastic news. Anyone who states otherwise should be shot. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

great news for the national team.

John Delaney should give himself a raise for this amazing coup.

Is Denis O'Brien still paying some of the wages I wonder.

If not, did Trapp take a pay cut?

Is Tardelli still the assistant?

Is the translator being kept on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

shoot me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

He's taking us places, I'm happy.

I'd rather be playing at tournaments in an effective way (central midfield aside) than sitting at home envying other countries that have made it, regardless of how our team are playing. I'm also happy to have a manager who stands up to the media and doesn't take their crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Excellent news. He has us punching above our weight and we're a very difficult team to play against.

Anyone who doesn't rate him should have a read of

http://www.zonalmarking.net/2011/11/16/trapattoni-ireland-tactics-euro-2012/

Excellent football tactics blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Great news to wake up! An excellent manager who has turned Irish football around in the space of a couple of years.

The story for anyone who missed it;
    Giovanni Trapattoni signs new deal to remain Republic of Ireland manager until World Cup 2014
    The Football Association of Ireland have rewarded the Italian coach for his recent success in securing the Republic's place at next summer's Euro 2012 finals following victory over Estonia in their qualification play-off.

"I am very happy to continue my job with the FAI," said Trapattoni, whose assistant Marco Tardelli has also signed a new deal.

Trapattoni, who will travel to Kiev for Friday's Euro 2012 ahead of the tournament in Ukraine and Poland, said: "I have always said that Marco and I believe very strongly in the work that we are doing to grow and develop the Irish team.
    "It is a huge honour and a privilege to represent the Irish team and we look forward to continuing this important task."

Trapattoni's deal will again be part-funded by business Denis O'Brien, who played a significant part in the FAI's original acquisition of the former European Cup winner.
    FAI chief executive John Delaney said: "On behalf of the FAI board of management, we are very happy to agree a contract extension with Giovanni Trapattoni and his team of Marco Tardelli and Fausto Rossi.

"They have done fantastic work with the squad, bringing us to qualification for a major tournament for the first time in 10 years, increasing our world ranking to 21st and introducing many new players for the future. Giovanni's experience, professionalism and achievement in qualifying for EURO 2012 has impressed everyone including the players and the FAI board.
    "The FAI board of management are particularly grateful to Denis O'Brien for his continuing contribution which gives the Irish team and supporters the benefit of Giovanni's services into the next World Cup campaign."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Des wrote: »

To me, that's easily the most important question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Delighted, lets qualify for the World Cup. I am a big fan of Trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Is Tardelli still the assistant?
    Yes Tardelli is staying on also

Negotiations with Manuela are still ongoing.....:pac:

320296.jpg

Well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Agreed but a lot of it is plain ignorance imo. Unfortunately there is a hell of a lot of unknowledgeable "fans" out there who think we should or are capable of playing in a Barca type style. Sure bless em.

Thats ridiculous in fairness. I doubt you will find one single fan whos expects us to play like barca:eek:. People are entitled however to moan about the quality of football we play, long ball and nothing else. Most people like me don't care as long as we qualify for major tournaments. He deserves the new contract IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Great news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Thats ridiculous in fairness. I doubt you will find one single fan whos expects us to play like barca:eek:. People are entitled however to moan about the quality of football we play, long ball and nothing else. Most people like me don't care as long as we qualify for major tournaments. He deserves the new contract IMO.

Well in fairness i've heard many who say it tbh. Not saying yourself but some fans have unrealistic views on the group of players we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Agreed but a lot of it is plain ignorance imo. Unfortunately there is a hell of a lot of unknowledgeable "fans" out there who think we should or are capable of playing in a Barca type style. Sure bless em.

I think you may need to look closer to home for the "plain ignorance", the style of football has turned a lot of fans off going to & watching the games but no one expects "Barca type style".

For the record i'm delighted he got the new contract, totally deserved, he's turned us into a team that will cause problems for anyone. He seems to enjoy working with the group of players and vice versa, team spirit very high and that can count for a lot going into a major tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

NUTZZ wrote: »
    Yes Tardelli is staying on also

Negotiations with Manuela are still ongoing.....:pac:

320296.jpg

As she is the brains behind the team her nickname in the squad is "Penny", with Trapattoni being Inspector Gadget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Anyone who complains about the "Style of football" or questions his player selection should have their access to this forum revoked on grounds of stupidity.

That's bollox. You can still acknowledge his achievements while despising his puke football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

While I agree with the style of football thing, if he's staying on another 2 years, I want him to take an active part in developing Irish football for the future, and that includes giving solid chances to young players like Coleman. Once the Euros are over, we need to build for the future, which will probably not include Given, Dunne, Duff or Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Paulw wrote: »
    I see that Trapatoni has had his contract extended until 2014. Is this good or bad?

Bad????
    Give me the bore the arse off us but win anyway footy of Trap over the great high tempo match shame about the 2 late conceded goal of the Brian Kerr era.

That's bollox. You can still acknowledge his achievements while despising his puke football

I dont particularly enjoy his football, but the difference between watching a random English club you picked as a kid vs the national side is you watch the foreign club to be entertained, you watch the national team for pride and results, no matter how atrociously boring we might be in getting said results. It would be fun if we scored 5 times a game but tbh Im happier with the grinding one nils and actually qualifying tbh. No doubt about it, there are few teams in Europe who will be pleased to have us drawn in their group. I fcuking love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

great news and well deserved. we wont be far off world cup qualification with this man at the helm. he turned a team, 3rd seeds after a horrific campaign under stan, into a team who has risen about 20 places in the world rankings since he took over and finished 2nd in both groups.

delighted to have him on board for another 2 years, this is great for the game in this country.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    That's bollox. You can still acknowledge his achievements while despising his puke football.

there is acknowledging it and then there is calling for his head which the majority of the anti trapp crowd are doing. we get a world class manager as we were promised and peolpe are not happy, its a typical irish reaction. hed walk into alot of jobs next june.

and for what its worth, the standard of international football for the majority of teams, is awful, its not just us. on our day, we can mix it with the best of them. go watch the s*ite that england play for example and they have a team of world class stars apparently.

calling it puke football really begs logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fully deserved. The football may not be pretty but it's effective and we've qualified for our first major tournament in ten years.

Definitely think he can also get us to Brazil too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Without him we wouldnt have made the last two playoffs. He has us playing a type fo football that plays to our strengths and has helped us get great results that many of the managers before him would have struggled to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Well in fairness i've heard many who say it tbh.

Seriously you have heard people say we should play like Barca???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Well in fairness i've heard many who say it tbh. Not saying yourself but some fans have unrealistic views on the group of players we have.

Not on the forum you haven't.

RoryMac wrote: »
    I think you may need to look closer to home for the "plain ignorance", the style of football has turned a lot of fans off going to & watching the games but no one expects "Barca type style".

For the record i'm delighted he got the new contract, totally deserved, he's turned us into a team that will cause problems for anyone. He seems to enjoy working with the group of players and vice versa, team spirit very high and that can count for a lot going into a major tournament.

Excellent point - well made.

Very true as well.
    PHB wrote: »
    While I agree with the style of football thing, if he's staying on another 2 years, I want him to take an active part in developing Irish football for the future, and that includes giving solid chances to young players like Coleman. Once the Euros are over, we need to build for the future, which will probably not include Given, Dunne, Duff or Keane.

The looking to the future point is huge as well - we can't be relying on Dunne to perform miracles or to Keane to score more than half the goals in every campaign. Especially the next one I dare say.
    That_Guy wrote: »
    Fully deserved. The football may not be pretty but it's effective and we've qualified for our first major tournament in ten years.

Definitely think he can also get us to Brazil too.

I can't see us getting to Brazil as things stand but here is hoping. As difficult as we are to beat we are hoping for 2nd at best in the next group and any prospective play-off would likely be a bridge too far unless Estonia perform more miracles. Getting ahead of myself here though.

I'd be interested in a quote or two as well. Its that kind of extremism that sullies discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

No not really that's why i said it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Trapp's critics will be waiting to pounce on him no matter what he does or doesn't do. I see the latest straw which the anti-trap brigade is clutching at is that he should be prepping the side for the post 2012 era. Already we can be certain he'll be hammered by the usual suspects for his team selection come the friendlies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Personally, am I happy he has got an extended contract? Not really. I had issues with his style of play, his selection policies and his handling of certain players in the media forum. I am hopeful that some of those issue's will change in the WC campaign.

But the real question is................is he deserving of a new contract? Well the answer is.....yes he is. He has held up his side of the bargain by getting us into the Euro's. That was his remit ,and that is what he has achieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Results aside, having him for another two years could probably influence the likes of Keane , Duff and Given to stick around. I could see them calling it a day after 2012 if we were going into our next campaign with a new manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Le King wrote: »
    Fantastic news. Anyone who states otherwise should be shot. That is all.

Bring me outside and let the firing squad loose so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

As she is the brains behind the team her nickname in the squad is "Penny", with Trapattoni being Inspector Gadget.

as if a bunch of footballers would have heard of inspector gadget , go home geek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

This.

I've thrown my fair share of criticisms towards Trap but I never moaned about the style of play, it was the only way we ever stood any chance of qualifying from the group, glad he got the job and he thoroughly deserves it but he needs to put his stubborn streak aside for the long term benefit of the team, thankfully there's been positive signs recently that he's willing to keep an open mind with team selection.

Good to see they accepted a pay cut too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I don't think any Irish manager can afford to ignore our best players just because of their age. We don't have the depth of talent to do that. Dunne will still be our best centre back after the Euros, he HAS to play.

Trap will blood new players, he has shown that throughout his time. If he feels their time is up (like Kilbane) then they will be moved on. But not before then.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

as I mentioned in the other thread I think this will help Irelands next managers chances
    If only because the trap era should improve our ranking this should atleast mean our next manager has a better chance imo as he should have an easier group and perhaps a less transitional squad than he would have if appointed for the WC campaign.

hopefully the improved ranking would mean we would be a 2nd place ranked team in a group and Coleman, McCarthy etc should by then be more established and the new manager wouldnt have to be the one to call time on players like Keane, Duff, Dunne etc. who in some cases (Dunne) may get one last crack at another tournament if they can keep proforming under Trap. Afterall Kilbane did as long as he could this time so I doubt trap would 100% get rid of these men unless they Retired and even Keane as our record scorer id imagine would like to keep playing as long as he could a la Beckham for England. Keane like Beckham may find that there is more competition for his spot than say Kilbane had however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't think there could be a better manager out there to take the players he has picked and mold them into an effective team. That's some achievement by itself.

Still, I am worried that come the end of the Euro 2012 tournament, whatever happens there, and the start of the 2014 WCQ, we will see the public and media get on the team's back if Trap's tactics fail to deliver. I can't see Sweden or Germany faltering in any big way, apart from the hope that one knocks the s**t out of the other and Ireland can hold firm.

Also,

J.D. : "We're knocking 300,000 off the pay packet. Free bars do not pay for themselves but we've done a deal with......well, let's just say you'll never have to buy another jar of Dolmio again."

Trap : "MAMMA MIA!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Very welcome news. Well deserved and his qualities will be needed in particular for the very tricky World Cup 2014 group we've landed. Let's get behind him and be the 12th player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Great news. Anyone that fulfils the brief they were given and defies rankings to do so deserves to be kept on in their role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

No not really that's why i said it :rolleyes:

you must hang around with some really stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Puke football? Nah buddy, this is puke football:

And this:

How about this:

And how could you forget these?

Or this:

They made me throw up. This:

3033914786-15112011222527.jpgphoto_1321393018466-1-0.jpg0cdd78365a4f79fe40ae0c89491957dc.jpg

Not so much.

People just don't get it. YOU PLAY TO WIN THE GAME

Delighted for Trapp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Happy for Trap, well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

3 beatings at the Euros and 2 more years of horrific football under Trap!! Not happy at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

3 beatings at the Euros and 2 more years of horrific football under Trap!! Not happy at all!!

2 more years of results, you mean. Who would you have instead?

Yeah it's tragic. I much preferred losing 5-2 in Cyprus and not getting to the Euros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Dotrel wrote: »
    Yeah it's tragic. I much preferred losing 5-2 in Cyprus and not getting to the Euros.

What has Cyprus got to do with it?? Is Steve Staunton the only other person we are allowed to have as manager if we get rid of Trap??

Because that was one of the many "highlights" of the Ireland campaign immediately prior to Trap's appointment, so I believe is fair example for comparison between where we were, where we are and where we might be again with the next manager.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Lads ye need to relax. This morning I was playing Pro Evo 6 on the Playstation 2. I did a Euro Championship simulator, put all the teams into the groups that they were supposed to be in, played Croatia, Spain and Italy.

Ireland beat Croatia 1-0 (Robbie Keane)
    Italy 1-0 (Mr. Robbie Keane)
    Spain 2-2 (1 from Doyle and 1 from Le Keane)

Ireland came second in the group to Italy (Croatia and Spain went out!)

In the next round we play England. Haven't played that match yet, I'll let you know when I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Dotrel wrote: »
    Because that was one of the many "highlights" of the Ireland campaign immediately prior to Trap's appointment, so I believe is fair example for comparison between where we were, where we are and where we might be again with the next manager.

And now its an extreme example in fairness. The most extreme you could have possibly chosen.

Augmerson wrote: »
    Lads ye need to relax. This morning I was playing Pro Evo 6 on the Playstation 2. I did a Euro Championship simulator, put all the teams into the groups that they were supposed to be in, played Croatia, Spain and Italy.

Ireland beat Croatia 1-0 (Robbie Keane)
    Italy 1-0 (Mr. Robbie Keane)
    Spain 2-2 (1 from Doyle and 1 from Le Keane)

Ireland came second in the group to Italy (Croatia and Spain went out!)

In the next round we play England. Haven't played that match yet, I'll let you know when I do.

So Ireland beat Italy 1-0? ie "(Mr. Robbie Keane)"
    If so then aren't we definitely gonna finish on 7pts? Meaning Italy can't finish ahead of us?

Great news anyway. I feel a lot better now.

noodler wrote: »
    And now its an extreme example in fairness. The most extreme you could have possibly chosen.

Not really. The FAI could go back to picking unqualified yellow-pack managers again if guys like Denis O'Brien decide they don't feel like they want to be the one paying half a guys wages out of their own pocket any more.

This idea that we're going to have another top manager after Trap is slightly presumptuous.