Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag kicked my car!

• 28-11-2011 2:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭

Oh i'm seeing red here people! Friday night my fiance brought our car into work in Ballymahon Co. Longford! She works in a local chipper! She parked it a little bit down from where she works so couldn't see the car. All was well until Saturday morn I opened the sitting room curtains to see [IMG][/img]1CE19EBBC2D34DCA972DD168ED8B3D81-0000343879-0002646358-00800L-747D5CC0C9D64612BB264A708946F782.jpg Well I almost went through the front door to go and hopefully see that It wasn't what I thought it was. I know it was a kick because if it was somebody that hit my car with another the arch which comes out further would defiantly have been hit, and there would be transfer! I went to the Guards who told me that a certain person was caught doing the same thing on that nite to another car not too far away from mine! What do you think is my chances of getting money from them to fix it? The worst thing is my car is a minter! And she's up for sale. So if anyone rings, what do I do? This is prob more of a rant than anything else but i need to do it! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Kick them, the cunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,103 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I went to the Guards who told me that a certain person was caught doing the same thing on that nite to another car not too far away from mine! What do you think is my chances of getting money from them to fix it?

Unless they are convicted of damaging your car you've no hope of getting any money off them and even if they are convicted you may still not get anything.

You could take a civil suit against the person scumbag, the burden of proof is less then criminal cases. But even if you do get a judgement against the person you'll need to spend you own money, hire the local sheriff, to maybe get the money off them.
    The worst thing is my car is a minter! And she's up for sale. So if anyone rings, what do I do? This is prob more of a rant than anything else but i need to do it! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

You have to be honest. Then the choice is fix it or sell it for less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You'd want some all mighty kick to do that, sure she didn't hit only thing?

..............What do you think is my chances of getting money from them to fix it? The worst thing is my car is a minter! ....................

None unfortunately.

As it looks like a 10+ year old Avensis I don't think it will effect the price of it hugely although it will need attention as it's raw metal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Dirty bast$rds!!.. You might be as well to take it off sale until it has been repaired, make sure to take before and after pictures of any work so a prospective buyer will know what happened..
    I can feel your pain, my wife is a teacher in a local secondary school and her car has been vandalised on occasion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

RoverJames wrote: »
    ..............What do you think is my chances of getting money from them to fix it? The worst thing is my car is a minter! ....................

None unfortunately.

As it looks like a 10+ year old Avensis I don't think it will effect the price of it hugely although it will need attention as it's raw metal now.

I was thinking Astra?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

MugMugs wrote: »
    I was thinking Astra?

I was thinking on a Avensis also. If you REALLY wanted to, you could probably get a wing cheap enough from a scrap yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Take_Her_Handy

@Midnight_EG, It is an option! One I mite threaten if nothing cant be done by guards.
    @Del2005 No, It'l have to be fixed! Wont sell anything that's not perfect! It mite be pride but that's just me!
    @CianRyan No, she would have told me if she crashed it! And you can see dirt marks behind the dent from the runner!
    @RoverJames I'll have it fixed either by the fecker that did it or me! It'l be done soon, prob about €400-€500 or so i'd say!
    @Benny Cake Yea it is infuriating that someone will do this and prob laugh about it! Have the pics taken!

If the law cant do anything there's not a whole lot i can do! If I go after the fecker, I am one sizeable big **** and I have a good idea who it is, I mite get money but then the car is still parked in town 3 nights of the week! I'd be worried every night she takes it into work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Kick them, the cunts

Please be civil , this isn't After Hours

She's an Avensis, The wing can be pulled and filled i'd say! I'll weigh up all all the options, Would be lucky if I could get a wing, same color code (3 different shades of red of that Avensis) Prob get one for about €80ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Kick them, the cunts
    Exactly
    Is it not crossing a line to damage a man's (or girl's) motor?

.... as another poster has said it doesn't look like it was kicked really, hard to kick the top of a car's wing, also there is a scuff mark inches before the dent.

What would you think it is? I brought it into panel beater friend and that's what we came up with! The fact that on the same night right beside my car, another was kicked! All leads to that answer! Also the scuff marks is dirt that i haven't wiped till i took the pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

really if it costs that much to repair it won't be worth it. Car can't be worth over 2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

its looks like someone landed on it, as in maybe jumped onto it and left that mark, like the guards im sure you could give a good guess who done it, but unfortnuatly without proof you wont get anything from them, and even with proof you prob wudnt get a anything from them either.
    think twice before you approach them yourself op as you said you gf has to work there 3 nights a week and if they are hanging around, they could make trouble for her or even damage another car if she was to drive it in.
    do you know the other person whose car was damaged? could you find out from them if they are getting money of the people that done it for it to be fixed?

What would you think it is? .........

Dunno tbh, doesn't look like it was kicked though, I can't imagine a kick that would give that dent if the person who delivered the kick was standing, unless they jumped on the car.

Either way it was malicious it was the dirt marks that caused me to think of a runner! That you can't see because i rubbed it when i saw it first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Could of slid into a ditch and hit a pole/various lump of anything that was sticking out?
    Wouldn't be surprised of your lady tried to cover her tracks and that's not a judge of character, a lot of people would in a panic.

Na, she crashed my other car and just came out with it! I don't give a s##t if it was an accident. Something like this wouldn't bother her enough to lie! Plus when she came home Friday nite, she was in a great mood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Did you check the roof? They must have dropped a fair distance to put that dent in it.

Did none of you ever have a banger in a field that when she was no longer going you abused her. Lads you can inflict this much damage with a good kick! we used to strip cars and sometimes got to kick the crap out of them just for giggles before they went on to the steel scrapers! Its not hard done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I had a similar thing happen to my car a few years ago. Long story short I took €875 from the scrote that did it after threatening him with the guards and/or "other consequences"! Have a read here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055438107 Did I ever fix it? Did I fcuk! :)

Slight difference in that he was a student teacher and nearly sh@t himself at the mention of the Guards getting involved but a result none the less. The car was only worth maybe €1200 but having seen him kick the car on CCTV there was no way I was letting him off with it. Told him that if he had reversed into it with his own car or fell up against it I wouldn't have been bothered in the slightest.

Follow it up as far as you can.

I had a similar thing happen to my car a few years ago. Long story short I took €875 from the scrote that did it after threatening him with the guards and/or "other consequences"! Have a read here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055438107 Did I ever fix it? Did I fcuk! :)

Slight difference in that he was a student teacher and nearly sh@t himself at the mention of the Guards getting involved but a result none the less. The car was only worth maybe €1200 but having seen him kick the car on CCTV there was no way I was letting him off with it. Told him that if he had reversed into it with his own car or fell up against it I wouldn't have been bothered in the slightest.

Follow it up as far as you can.

Your my today's hero!
    I'm waiting too see from the Guards if there's cctv, I'm twoing and frowing as what i can do! The little scumbag i think it mite be is the little brother of 2 people I get on with! So I need to see him do it or hear from a few more people before i pursue it!
    Thanks man tho, its nice to see some justice, hopefully this thread ends up the same :D