Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saorview/Freesat

• 27-11-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Assume indecent levels of ignorance about all things tv related.

I have a VERY old house in the centre of the city (Cork), and i'm hoping to run saorview and free to air channels on my tv.

TV is new, has mpeg4 and mheg5 and i currently get the channels via old 'rabbit ears'. I would like to get a satellite dish and run the cable into my sitting room, however as the house is stone built drilling holes for cables is a bit of a no go, there is one existing hole which UPC used bringing in the broadband, but i'm hoping at a squeeze to get two cables through there! The other issue is the chimney which is brick built and I don't want to mess with it too much so putting up two items (aerial and sat) is also a no go. I've checked lots of these threads but i'm sure there are hundreds more I missed so apologies if people have already asked this. I'm basically looking for advice as to whether there are satellites out there that can run both services on one box, and how much they would be. Also in my research I discovered that there is a difference between free to air and freesat, but im not sure I quite understand the difference??? As I said, assume complete and total ignorance, but any advice would be appreciated!!!

Thanks,
    Huffet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,850 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

huffet wrote: »
    I'm basically looking for advice as to whether there are satellites out there that can run both services on one box, and how much they would be.

The 4 regular Irish channels (RTÉ, TV3, TG4) are only available via a satellite dish if you have a Sky sub.

For Saorview you'll require an aerial whether mounted externally or internally connected to your Saorview TV.

There are combi terrestrial/satellite receivers but they still require an aerial and satellite dish.
    Also in my research I discovered that there is a difference between free to air and freesat, but im not sure I quite understand the difference???

There are two types of satellite TV channel, either encrypted - generally requiring a subscription and decoder/viewing card to view the channel (e.g. Sky) or a free-to-air channel which is not encrypted and can be tuned into a suitable FTA satellite receiver without the requirement for a subscription or decoder.

An advantage of the Sky service is that the programme information for all channels carried is available in a 7/8 day programme guide (epg) while a standalone FTA only carries now & next programme information.

A few years ago BBC and ITV developed a satellite platform - Freesat, for its FTA channels but with a 7/8 day epg similar to the Sky epg. To be part of the Freesat epg a satellite channel pays an annual fee. So Freesat is basically an epg for FTA channels which can be accessed thru a Freesat approved satellite receiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 huffet

@ Gerry, thanks, i'd forgotten about those things, that's actually how my mother runs hers into her house. Definitely something to consider if I can't get the cable through the other hole!!

@ The Cush, I get the full saorview range right now on the ears, when they turn on saorsat they won't be turning off the signal i'm receiving them on now will they? So, worst case scenario I could still watch terrestrial via the ears?

And, in my travels through the site you sent Gerry I came across this, would this be a solution for me? Does this give me access to both, with cables for one, and with full EPG options???

http://satworld.ie/product-info.php?Combo_HD_Self_Install_System_Kit-pid273.html

Thanks again guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

When Saorsat comes online, Saorview will still be there, so don't worry about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭Gerry Wicklow

And, in my travels through the site you sent Gerry I came across this, would this be a solution for me? Does this give me access to both, with cables for one, and with full EPG options???

http://satworld.ie/product-info.php?Combo_HD_Self_Install_System_Kit-pid273.html

Thanks again guys!
    Combo boxes like that will give you a 7 day guide for SaorView but only now/next for satellite. You would need to buy a FreeSat box to get a 7 day satellite epg but that would not get SaorView.
    Swings and roundabouts :)

lol, isn't it always!!! never can quite get EVERYTHING you want ;)

So, if I'm not bothered about getting 7 day listings is this the way to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭Gerry Wicklow

Yes and for the sake of fairness have a look at
    http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Ferguson_Ariva_Diy_Kit.html

**I have no connection with either company**

Thanks Gerry, I believe you!!

In the second link though, i think it doesn't have an aerial as well?

Also, what are 'F' connections?

Cheers :)

@huffet

If you already have a TV compatible with Saorview do you also require a terrestrial combi receiver, would a separate FTA or Freesat satellite receiver be sufficient?

hmmm, you've got a point, i dont do i? I just need the aerial and cable....I think??

Oh, should also have mentioned that I have no tv sockets in my house, is this an issue??

No, just run the cable and attach a co-ax plug

Hi guys, sorry to be bugging you, one last question, if I don't use a combo receiver will I have to switch 'modes' on the tv to go from satellite to terrestrial? Or, do I have to do this even with a combo? (I noticed on the listing it mentions having to split the two cables again to go into the receiver?)...

Thanks!

**Clueless**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Hi guys, sorry to be bugging you, one last question, if I don't use a combo receiver will I have to switch 'modes' on the tv to go from satellite to terrestrial? Or, do I have to do this even with a combo? (I noticed on the listing it mentions having to split the two cables again to go into the receiver?)...

Thanks!

**Clueless**
    If you don't have a combo box you will have to switch between terrestrial on the tv and satellite on the receiver. If you go with a combo box they will be all in the one place just the same as sky or upc you'll have them one after each other in a list on the receiver.

Hi guys, sorry to be bugging you, one last question, if I don't use a combo receiver will I have to switch 'modes' on the tv to go from satellite to terrestrial? Or, do I have to do this even with a combo?

If you don't use a combi receiver with your Saorview TV you will have to select either Scart or HDMI (depending how you connect the satellite receiver to the TV) to watch the satellite channels.

With the combi receiver you can just leave the TV on the scart or HDMI input and watch terrestrial and satellite thru that input.
    (I noticed on the listing it mentions having to split the two cables again to go into the receiver?)...

Not sure what you mean, can you post the quote?

Is it referring to a twin-tuner pvr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

TV is new, has mpeg4 and mheg5 and i currently get the channels via old 'rabbit ears'. I would like to get a satellite dish and run the cable into my sitting room, however as the house is stone built drilling holes for cables is a bit of a no go, there is one existing hole which UPC used bringing in the broadband, but i'm hoping at a squeeze to get two cables through there! The other issue is the chimney which is brick built and I don't want to mess with it too much so putting up two items (aerial and sat) is also a no go. I've checked lots of these threads but i'm sure there are hundreds more I missed so apologies if people have already asked this. I'm basically looking for advice as to whether there are satellites out there that can run both services on one box, and how much they would be. Also in my research I discovered that there is a difference between free to air and freesat, but im not sure I quite understand the difference??? As I said, assume complete and total ignorance, but any advice would be appreciated!!!
    How come drilling holes is a no go? UPC managed it.

I don't know Cork, but perhaps you'll get away with a loft aerial for the saorview side? It depends on the surroundings, but Satellite dishes just need the line of sight so don't necessarily have to be high (I can work on mine with two feet firmly on the ground).

As your TV appears to be saorview capable, if not certified, I'd personally go with a Freesat+ receiver for the satellite channels and use the TV for saorview. We've a combo now and it's fine, but we managed fine for years with analogue channels via the TV and a seperate satellite reciever for UK channels. If/ when our current TV gives up the ghost, we'll probably go that route ourselves anyway for what it's worth. Freesat+ gives you sky+ style ability to record, pause etc, with series link and 7 day epg. That, for us, would outweigh the single channel list advantages.

I'd also consider getting a pro in, if that's a feasible option. There's a few recognised trade associations from which I would have a look at. DIY is possible (I've done it myself), but it can be frustrating. Especially when I look back at the time I wasted on my early attempts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

Macy0161 wrote: »
    How come drilling holes is a no go? UPC managed it.

I don't know Cork, but perhaps you'll get away with a loft aerial for the saorview side? It depends on the surroundings, but Satellite dishes just need the line of sight so don't necessarily have to be high (I can work on mine with two feet firmly on the ground).

As your TV appears to be saorview capable, if not certified, I'd personally go with a Freesat+ receiver for the satellite channels and use the TV for saorview.

I would echo this - also in Cork city center(ish) have Saorview on the tv (just using rabbits ears) and Freesat+ box via satellite - I tend to watch live tv on Saorview (or catch up on RTE1+1) and the UK stuff recorded on the Freesat. Works well for me and with the Picture in Picture features and stuff on the telly I find it great.

@The Cush,

this is the quote...

2 TV/Sat Combiners (For combining Satellite & Terrestrial Signal so you only have to run one cable through the house and then splitting it into the receiver)

from this link ...

Cheers...

2 TV/Sat Combiners (For combining Satellite & Terrestrial Signal so you only have to run one cable through the house and then splitting it into the receiver)

from this link ...

Yes a great solution for a single cable install, I've sugested these many times previously.

I would suggest if you could run 2 co-ax cables for future satellite twin tuner recording (PVR/Freesat+) - watch one channel record another channel or record 2 channels which requires 2 separate feeds from the dish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 CJL

Huffet.

I had a sky+ hd box, but due to our recession I decided to give it up and purchased a Humax Foxsat pvr box which receives UK Freesat channels.It works almost exactly like the sky box but does not receive any sky channels except sky news , which can be tuned in manually and there are no subscription charges. It pauses and rewinds live tv and has the option of a 500g or 1tb hard drive.I am very happy with it. I purchased a new tv last July and it has mpeg4 and mheg5. All you need to do is connect a set of inexpensive rabbits ears to your tv and you will receive the saorview channels.Simply scan and store the saorview channels. Changing channels from saorview to freesat and back again is childs play. The only problem I could see with receiving saorview via rabbits ears is the fact that you mention that your house is very old and may have extremely thick walls which may restrict the saorview signal from penetrating the walls and connecting with the rabbits ears.Trial and error is the only way my friend.
    ...Colin.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭charlie2505

Hi guys-wonder if you techie people or at least more technically minded might be able to help me too! CJL re being able to receive the Irish channels re bunny ear arial, am I incorrect in thinking that as of next year you will not be able to receive the Irish channels that way unless you have a saorview topbox or equivalent? I am not in Cork so perhaps there is something else already down there that isn't in my area?
    Ok so here is my set up and looking for advice as to what to do.
    Currently have no aerial in the house (apart from bunny ears!), did have sky and have old sky box which we now use to receive free sat channels so not paying any subscription anymore, which I love. However cannot get the Irish channels and signal thru the bunny ears is not great-fuzzy & distorted most of the time so we rarely watch them. Also our old style TV which is almost 10yrs old is about to give up and die. Fair play to her she has done me proud but sort of a little excited that we will now have a good excuse to purchase a slim lcd.
    So with the digital thing coming in next year, not wanting to pay Sky another cent (ideally), need a new tv and also now needing another tv in another room (toddler has to have cbeebies at least an hour a day!!) what do you suggest? I know money is going to have to be spent one way or another and dont want to spend much but prepared to spend a little more if it meant it killed alot of birds with one stone if you get my meaning?
    I like the idea of a freesat receiver that can enable you to watch Irish and free satellite channels and be able to see what's on either-doesn't have to be 7 day-now and next is grand.
    And really like the idea of a receiver that can be used like sky plus box-record live tv etc. Can you record satelite and Irish channels? Can you watch satelite while recording an Irish tv programme and visa versa.
    I have pretty much stopped watching tv altogether the past 2 years cos with small babies, well for those with kids, you'll understand. And nothing on by the time your finished putting them to bed and bottles done etc for next day. Would be so nice to have a series recorded that I can watch when I can.
    Do you have to buy a receiver in Ireland in order to get Irish channels?
    The receiver you mentioned earlier CJL-can I ask how much you paid?
    And can you then use it to watch tv in other rooms? If you can what do you need to get extra to allow this? And if you can also then watch tv in another room is it like sky that if you split it yourself that you'd have to watch whatever was on in the other room-can;t watch differing channels? Or am I better off investing in a proper aerial?
    Ok I appreciate that is an awful lot of questions but neither me or hubby to up on these things and trawled internet all day looking for info-learned a bit more than I knew but my situation is a little different from the norm in that I have no aerial or tv!! Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Quick question lads. I think it's relevant to this thread.

Is there such a thing as a Freesat+ (7 day EPG) combo box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

no
    Not actually Freesat certified.

Hi guys-wonder if you techie people or at least more technically minded might be able to help me too! CJL re being able to receive the Irish channels re bunny ear arial, am I incorrect in thinking that as of next year you will not be able to receive the Irish channels that way unless you have a saorview topbox or equivalent? I am not in Cork so perhaps there is something else already down there that isn't in my area?

From the 24th Oct next you'll require a Saorview receiver connected to an aerial to receive the Irish channels without a subscription (Sky, UPC etc).

Saorview is available now to over 97% of the population, check for coverage in your area here - http://www.saorview.ie/make-the-switch/coverage-checker/
    Currently have no aerial in the house (apart from bunny ears!), did have sky and have old sky box which we now use to receive free sat channels so not paying any subscription anymore, which I love. However cannot get the Irish channels and signal thru the bunny ears is not great-fuzzy & distorted most of the time so we rarely watch them.

The use of an internal aerial will depend on the signal strength/quality where the aerial is located. Only worthwhile in a strong signal area but still subject to local interference. An attic or external aerial may be required at your location.
    So with the digital thing coming in next year, not wanting to pay Sky another cent (ideally), need a new tv and also now needing another tv in another room (toddler has to have cbeebies at least an hour a day!!) what do you suggest?

Digital terrestrial is here now. The list of approved Saorview TVs and STBs can be found here - http://www.saorview.ie/products-retailers/
    I like the idea of a freesat receiver that can enable you to watch Irish and free satellite channels and be able to see what's on either-doesn't have to be 7 day-now and next is grand.
    And really like the idea of a receiver that can be used like sky plus box-record live tv etc. Can you record satelite and Irish channels? Can you watch satelite while recording an Irish tv programme and visa versa.

Lots of discussion in the forum on (non-Freesat) FTA terrestrial/satellite combi/combo receivers. Do a search.

Some links
    http://www.tvtrade.ie/satellite-receivers/combined-digital-receivers.html
    http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Satellite_and_terrestrial_receiver_if_you_do_not_have_a_dish_and_aerial.html#aArivainstalled
    http://www.freesat.ie/index.php?cat=HD_receivers1&ActinicSID=169473ef04f4057c0f9e6dad8445de4c
    http://www.satellitetv.ie/shop/index.php?controller=category&path=63
    http://astraltv.ie/combo.html
    And can you then use it to watch tv in other rooms? If you can what do you need to get extra to allow this? And if you can also then watch tv in another room is it like sky that if you split it yourself that you'd have to watch whatever was on in the other room-can;t watch differing channels? Or am I better off investing in a proper aerial?

Generally for FTA terrestrial and satellite you will require a separate receiver at each tv point connected to an aerial distribution amp for the terrestrial channels and back to the satellite dish for the satellite channels.

Thanks Colin, ya the thick walls do restrict it, bad weather restricts it, and due to the fact that i live in the city from about 8 o clock on friday night i have little or no reception due to the fact that taxis apparently interrupt it!!???