Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 cars with all 4 wheels stolen from them

• 26-11-2011 8:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Was strolling along here http://binged.it/rMRJP4 at Hanover Quay in Dublin today which is a parking magnet for theatre goers to the Grand Canal theatre and couldn't believe my eyes(neither could passers-by!) seeing 2 cars on bricks with all 4 wheels removed. It was probably done overnight as there does be pedestrian traffic in the daytime hours but not at night and not a sinner around after dark.

I've never seen cars been interfered with in this area(lonely spot) so heads up if anyone is parking down that way in future.

261120111680_.jpg

261120111678_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭php-fox

new form of clamping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

That VW Bora doesn't look to be sitting too steady on them blocks at all.

Little skanger ba$tards whoever done that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I'd love to catch them and demonstrate another use for a tyre brace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

It's a horid pity the car wouldn't fall in and crush the s**m C***s doing that, I'd love to see someone in a tracksuit trapped under that bora :D

SOmeone tool a steel wheel off a late 90s fiesta during the day across the road from me a week or so ago. the car was sitting on the drum. Dad found two wheel nuts on the road and put then on the bolts, the owner was a student, left it here while he was in UCC, closest area to it without disc parking, the poor dude.

johnos1984 wrote: »

They'd have one too though john ;) :pac:

Happened a neighbour a few years back while they were on holiday. The car was left on the discs

RoverJames wrote: »

They'd have one too though john ;) :pac:
    Naturally I'd use theirs to demonstrate how you can use it to removed hubcaps. I know a taxi driver who keeps one in his door pocket for emergencies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

RoverJames wrote: »
    SOmeone tool a steel wheel off a late 90s fiesta during the day across the road from me a week or so ago. the car was sitting on the drum. Dad found two wheel nuts on the road and put then on the bolts, the owner was a student, left it here while he was in UCC, closest area to it without disc parking, the poor dude.

Lough area? I park there most days, never thought I had anything to worry about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Dont worry karma always gets people back. ;) Cheers for the heads up!

Redisle wrote: »
    Lough area? I park there most days, never thought I had anything to worry about!

Yep. Wouldn't worry about it, can't remember anything similar happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

KittyKat wrote: »
    Dont worry karma always gets people back. ;) Cheers for the heads up!

Thing is, this is probably the only street with no cameras on it as it has no businesses or residents. Outside of this street as near as 50m away from the scene, it is riddled with cameras both public(DCC) and private(docklands) so any escapee which was probably in a van in the middle of the night has a high chance of being caught driving away, thats the way I see it as there is only one way in and out from Hanover Quay.

Unless the feckers were smart enough to use a boat and put the wheels into that, would they still get away with it?

KittyKat wrote: »
    Unless the feckers were smart enough to use a boat and put the wheels into that, would they still get away with it?

I'd say we can discount that theory :)
    Respectfully.

LOL, as a local to the area. The following scenarios for any thief is possible:

1 - group of thieves be them kids or adults would have to escape east on the map wheeling the tyres on foot across 3 canal locks and then down a laneway and then make it up a flight of steps onto Ringsend Road and from there keep wheeling in view of many witnesses like a scene gathering for a halloween bonfire.:)

2 - escape on boats, possible if they actually owned any canal boats and powered their boats out to sea across said canal locks :P

3 - by veh-icle transport heading west to Macken st(the only exit point by road). Riddled with cameras even on side streets, I reckon the unfortunate owners with liason from the Gardai at Pearse st have a good chance of catching the thieves.

Great work detectives! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Is the VW on UK plates? Seems to have UK windscreen discs. And if it is, maybe theres an anti-British angle to be explored? Shinners I'll wager. Look for 4 heads in Celtic jerseys in a boat - could be them.

JMSE wrote: »
    Is the VW on UK plates? Seems to have UK windscreen discs. And if it is, maybe theres an anti-British angle to be explored? Shinners I'll wager. Look for 4 heads in Celtic jerseys in a boat - could be them.

How do you make that out? It's on Irish plates by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Either you're blind or you just overlooked the blue EU strip to the side of the plate, meaning it's certainly not UK plates :)

Lots of uk plates have them too

Never once seen a UK car with them tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

400px-British_car_registration_plate_labels.svg.png

Probably due to the "optional" part :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Maybe its the fact that I'm a wee bit hungover and not completely zoned in but I thought that a considerable number of UK cars have the European flag on the reg nowadays?

Anyway, even if the Bora had English plates I think it would be way too far fetched to assume it was an Anti Brit act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

polod wrote: »
    It's a horid pity the car wouldn't fall in and crush the s**m C***s doing that, I'd love to see someone in a tracksuit trapped under that bora :D

A bit off topic, but poetic justice none the less:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eClsjSM3oLs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

That VW Bora doesn't look to be sitting too steady on them blocks at all.

Little skanger ba$tards whoever done that
    windows open too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Wheely bad crime, despicable.