Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford focus questions

• 23-11-2011 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭

Looking to pick up a focus sometime over the next 6 months, the sooner the better but won't be until after christmas at least.

Budget is max at €5k and ten that is pushing it. Looking at 05 or 06 models with 80k or less on the clock. there seem to be a few out there, generally 1.4 petrol which is fine for me. WOuld love a 1.6 or 1.8 diesel but they are few and far between at that price and age.

A few questions that I can't quite grasp. Have done quite a bit of research online and also most dealers I ring don't really know either.

1. How many models are there? I know of LX and Zetec, what are the main differences? there seems to be different zebec models just to confuse things!

2. Is a heated front windscreen standard on any model?

3. where is the button for it so I can see if a car has it if the description is poor but photos good? is it below the climate dials, a rectangular button, beside what I would assume is the rear heater?

4. what is the button that is on some models that is between the middle and right hand climate dials? has an orange light on it in this ad

5. what models have the aluminium parts on the steering wheel as standard and optional?

6. which models have the multifunctional steering wheel as standard and options?

7. which models came with air con and does the air con heating dial have temperatures or just a colour coded heat setting?

all questions relating to the era of car I am looking at.

I really appreciate this looks like I am being lazy but I seriously am finding it hard to get a proper answer on these, and it's important before I part with my cash, as well as not wasting time in looking at models that I'm not interested in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

DSC00803.JPG

Orange button in pic is demist. On manual aircon models, the button with the orange light on the right is air recirculation quick clear button is underneath, square button off to the left, rear heater ison the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

is that not off a much newer model?

I would have thought the button just to the right of the word "net" from the web address with the rounded window picture was the heated front screen? with the other squarer window picture being the back?

I'm probably totally wrong but just what i thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

How many models are there? I know of LX and Zetec, what are the main differences? there seems to be different zebec models just to confuse things!

There are even different LX models. I have a 05 LX First Edition which has a couple of things like Cruise Control not on a regular LX. This kind of thing is worth watching out for as it will be priced as a LX.

Front on left, rear on right. That's from the 2005-2010 shape just has climate

ardmacha wrote: »
    There are even different LX models. I have a 05 LX First Edition which has a couple of things like Cruise Control not on a regular LX. This kind of thing is worth watching out for as it will be priced as a LX.

Yeah there's lx connection models and lx steel models, it's a minefield!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Basically...and without a big response...

The orange light is air con on.

The models are freedom (rare), LX which for the most part ads heated screen and slightly less dreary trim.

Then comes Zetec - alloys, air con, arm rest, sports suspension and seats, fogs, darkened headlights.

Then on the same level Ghia and Titanium.

Ghia ads over Zetec cruise, rear elecs, Velour trim, wood dash, different alloys and auto lights wipers.

Titanium over Zetec offers half leather, Sony CD, same alloys but a polished finish.

The Ghia and Titanium were 1.6 up and had a better petrol engine than the other 1.6's that is surprisingly economical.

These are Irish specs roughly.The best is a 1.6 Ghia for choice and spec.

Then there was the Zetec Connection that bar cruise was the best spec IMO. Over Zetec it added key less entry and start, Bluetooth, climate and auto lights and wipers. There was an LX connection too which had Bluetooth, rear elecs and key less Henry and start. Very plentiful.

I had a 1.4 and it was horribly slow. Seemed to bog down on take off for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just a breakdown of the MkII Focus range from launch in 2004.

Freedom - Very basic and rare model, electric front windows, central locking, cd player and 14" steel wheels. Only ever seen one in 3 dr hatchback.

LX - Slightly better with electric heated colour coded door mirrors, chrome interior door handles, silver effect centre console, stereo remote on the steering wheel and 15" steel wheels.

LX "First Edition" - Limited run model from launch based on LX but added front fog lights, cruise control, alloy wheels and quick clear windscreen afaik.

LX "Connection" - Only from 2006 to 2007, LX + rear electric windows, 16" alloy wheels, colour coded bumper strips, voice activated bluetooth and keyless entry/start.

Zetec - Added manual air conditioning, sports seats, quick clear windscreen, sports suspension, front fog lights, tinted headlights and chrome surround front grill.

Zetec "Connection" - Only from 2006 to 2007, Zetec + rear electric windows, 17" alloy wheels, colour coded bumper strips & boot lid, digital climate control with auto air conditioning, dusk sensing headlights, rain sensing wipers, voice activated bluetooth and keyless entry/start.

Ghia - Cruise control, electric windows all round, wood effect centre console, manual air conditioning, quick clear windscreen, velour seats, dusk sensing headlights, rain sensing wipers, chrome surround front grill and 16" alloy wheels.

Titanium - basically a 3dr Ghia but with aluminum effect centre console instead of wood, half leather seats and different alloy wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

The higher spec focus are a much nicer car overall. The saloon version does not command the same resale value as the hatch which is much more usable and popular with many. The 1.4 while it is sluggish at certain points is fine for non motor enthusiasts and also sells quite well in the present time when buyers are gone ott about the cost of motor tax ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Just to mention that picture above is a Euro spec Focus, I think it has some slight differences in the console than the UK/Ire spec.

The heated Windscreen button is on the bottom of the console, you can see it there in that screen shot on the left (the one blocked by the URL is the ESP control), the one on the right is the rear window heater.
    The only other options that come down there are the heated seat buttons on either side if you have the full Leather interior, but I think they may be ST spec only?

really appreciate the responses, especially those who broke it down so well.
    I want a hatch, and the 1.4 will be fine, I'm driving an 03 polo 1.2 that has trouble firing all cylinders at the minute so it will be perfect :) not to concerned about tax, it is what it is.

Can I take it that if I see, say, a zebec advertised, it'll have everything listed above?

interesed about what EPM says about LX adding heated screen. DOes that mean that all LX models, and everything above has it? Its something I really want!

Has to have alloys and heated screen and front electric windows, plus remote central locking.
    I'd love voice bluetooth, aircon (would really love this), front fogs, and keyless entry.

others such as auto wipers and lights is not needed at all but wouldn't be turned down..

The zetec connection looks the business, anyone know of any going, even slightly above budget?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Ahh that's such a perfect car! If only I had the money for it now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Was in almost the exact same situation as you 4 months ago. Same budget and same years. Got a 07 LX with 75km, alloys, fogs, keyless entry, electric windows front and rear and heated front screen which is very cool. No air con but not bothered about that. Lovely car. You would think it was brand new. One owner. Dealer was looking for 8k but got for less with trade in.

Spent 3 months looking online for it, so take your time.

Ye that's why I'm looking now, so I get a good idea of what I want etc. my only issue is that if I find the right car now, I can't afford it :( but ye, I'll take my time and keep looking.

Can someone explain what the difference between manual and auto aircon is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

I wouldn't go near a focus, I had one and everything went wrong on it a disaster. Now I could have been unlucky anyway Get yourself a Honda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

200motels wrote: »
    I wouldn't go near a focus, I had one and everything went wrong on it a disaster. Now I could have been unlucky anyway Get yourself a Honda.

For the amount of them out there I think you must have been pretty damn unlucky. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

alexlyons wrote: »
    I want a hatch, and the 1.4 will be fine, I'm driving an 03 polo 1.2 that has trouble firing all cylinders at the minute so it will be perfect :) not to concerned about tax, it is what it is.

The 1.4 is not fine. I spent 3 years of my (under) 5 years driving in one. It's slow. It really is. This isn't a motorhead with a 330i talking, it's someone who owned one, and thought "I'm going from a 1.2 Corsa to a 1.4 = more power, tis grand for me". That car is too heavy for that engine.

It is also not efficient. In fact many here report better efficiency from the 1.6. It's because it's not powerful enough. You will get 35-37mpg tops.

I loved that car, the engine was just ****. Get a 1.6, and you will love the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

Is there not a model called the Style too? Though maybe it only started to be offered in 2008. I think it may be better speced then the LX but only just.

The 1.4 does feel underpowered but at the same time I wouldn't say it's an awful car. It seems to be difficult to find 1.6s to buy.

Thanks folks.

I'm a 21 year old male insurance with Aviva (mainly for 3rd party on other cars) and insurance on a 1.4 is 1100 (drops to 900 in may when I have my license for 4 years).

1.6 petrol jumps it to 1600. Would love a diesel if I'm honest but can't find any at all.

A friend of mine is with Aviva and got their boyfriend put on the policy as a partner even though they weren't living together (Aviva said they were a partner). If I can do that it'll drop a 1.6 petrol to 800 ish.

So if there are any diesels around I'd love one, think a 1.6 petrol might be a bit much on juice and insurance etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Thanks folks.

I'm a 21 year old male insurance with Aviva (mainly for 3rd party on other cars) and insurance on a 1.4 is 1100 (drops to 900 in may when I have my license for 4 years).

1.6 petrol jumps it to 1600. Would love a diesel if I'm honest but can't find any at all.

A friend of mine is with Aviva and got their boyfriend put on the policy as a partner even though they weren't living together (Aviva said they were a partner). If I can do that it'll drop a 1.6 petrol to 800 ish.

So if there are any diesels around I'd love one, think a 1.6 petrol might be a bit much on juice and insurance etc....

1.6 petrol focus will be less or equal on juice. I drive a 1.8 Volvo s40 now, and I get economy to what I got in a 1.4 focus (8.0-8.2 l/100km). The car is simply so sluggish that you'll be pushing it in even normal acceleration.

I hear what you're saying about the insurance, and it's shocking to be screwed like that when you've your license so long.

I only offer the advice because I regretted buying mine - not the car, but the engine. It's p1ss. 1.4 is too small for that class.

Take these examples, a 206 (class below) and the focus, both 1.4:
    Peugeot 206:
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=123926
    Ford Focus:
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=121781

The 206 is
    - 1.4L
    - 90PS
    - 6.1L/km claimed economy
    - 0-100km/h in 10.9s
    - Power-to-weight ratio of 85.74 bhp/ton

The Focus is
    - 1.4L
    - 80PS
    - 6.6L/km claimed economy
    - 0-100km/h in 14.1s
    - Power-to-weight ratio of 63.35 bhp/ton

WTF happened? The Focus has less power, same size engine, LESS economy, 4 seconds slower to 100 km/h? It's because the engine is both p1ss, and ill-matched for that weight of car. Power-to-weight isn't everything, and a search on your polo comes up with something equally woeful, but its a good indicator of how cars compare off the blocks before aero-dynamics take over.

The 206/207 isn't my cup of tea, but this is just to illustrate that I wouldn't again (remember I did it once by buying focus) aspire to a car class only to pick a crap car. I wonder what the insurance on a 206 like this would be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

MrDerp wrote: »
    1.6 petrol focus will be less or equal on juice. I drive a 1.8 Volvo s40 now, and I get economy to what I got in a 1.4 focus (8.0-8.2 l/100km). The car is simply so sluggish that you'll be pushing it in even normal acceleration.

I hear what you're saying about the insurance, and it's shocking to be screwed like that when you've your license so long.

I only offer the advice because I regretted buying mine - not the car, but the engine. It's p1ss. 1.4 is too small for that class.

Take these examples, a 206 (class below) and the focus, both 1.4:
    Peugeot 206:
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=123926
    Ford Focus:
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=121781

The 206 is
    - 1.4L
    - 90PS
    - 6.1L/km claimed economy
    - 0-100km/h in 10.9s
    - Power-to-weight ratio of 85.74 bhp/ton

The Focus is
    - 1.4L
    - 80PS
    - 6.6L/km claimed economy
    - 0-100km/h in 14.1s
    - Power-to-weight ratio of 63.35 bhp/ton

WTF happened? The Focus has less power, same size engine, LESS economy, 4 seconds slower to 100 km/h? It's because the engine is both p1ss, and ill-matched for that weight of car. Power-to-weight isn't everything, and a search on your polo comes up with something equally woeful, but its a good indicator of how cars compare off the blocks before aero-dynamics take over.

The 206/207 isn't my cup of tea, but this is just to illustrate that I wouldn't again (remember I did it once by buying focus) aspire to a car class only to pick a crap car. I wonder what the insurance on a 206 like this would be?
    The 1.4 isn't bad, it's just how people drive it. Plenty of people I know with that car got along fine with it and got good economy out of it.

I don't get all this hate about it. It moves you, and the car. It gets okay mpg, it's cheap to tax... Are people going around in 3rd in these yokes just to have the power available?

I dunno, maybe I'm crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I was driving to 1.4 for 3 years until recently. I found it good on fuel but any overtaking needed to be planned in advance, well in advance :d. It was a great daily though and never missed a beat. I've a 1.6 now and it's a bloody rocket in comparison and 2 doors lighter :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I drive an 07 1.6 lx connection. I won't go into the differences between the various models as thats been well explained already. On the engine front, I'd have to strongly advise on getting the larger engine. I test drove the 1.4 for several days in various conditions and its very underpowered and not as economical as the 1.6, especially on longer runs. I can well understand your financial issues, but if you can hold off until you have enough cash for the larger engine, I would. Its a cracker of a car but after the New car thrill wares off, you'll regret the smaller engine

I think insurance is going to be the main thing sopping me with the 1.6 petrol.

even if I could afford the 1600 for it, I wouldn't want to spend that sort of money because they think I'm that much more dangerous in it. I'm 21 driving with a full license 3 and a half years with zero points, they need to cop on.

diesel would be ideal, non i can find with reasonable miles at that price range.
    I'd prefer to stick the extra 500 i would spend on the petrols insurance towards a decent diesel.

Well.. I got it :) Sooner than expected.

1.4 LX with 54k (km) on the clock and it has alloys, heated front screen and one or two other bits. Great car in good nick, really pleased with it.

184914.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

That looks in great condition. I bet your well happy. All you need are a few led bulbs to replace the existing ones like the reverse, boot light and number plate. There can be improved on. A few 'how to'guides here.

P.S. I'm selling front wind deflectors that will fit yours, see my ads. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Looking to pick up a focus

Budget is max at €5k and ten that is pushing it. Looking at 05 or 06 models with 80k or less on the clock. there seem to be a few out there, generally 1.4 petrol which is fine for me. WOuld love a 1.6 or 1.8 diesel but they are few and far between at that price and age.

You'll be looking for quite a while to find a diesel at that price and with that mileage.
    Mine's a '06 CMax ZETEC, it has aircon (useless in this country), heated front screen (VERY useful here), alloys, disc brakes all round, 115 hp 1.8 deisel and is generally a nice thing to drive and live with.
    It cost €8k a year ago and I consider that reasonable.
    But even that one has manual rear windows and is missing tons of storage options that you would get as standard in the UK.

Ye storage options are really lacking in my one...

Can you add any of them in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ye storage options are really lacking in my one...

Can you add any of them in?

I'd say aftermarket, Halfrauds, etc... maybe.