Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wheels....

• 23-11-2011 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭

howya
    i need a new set of wheels for my bike, the rims on the existing wheels are well worn. I use the bike for commuting, about 60km a week

The bike cost €900 4 years ago and i want some wheels that will match the value of the bike (if you know what i mean). So my questions are, what would you recommend and what's the difference in different price ranges of wheels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

What kind of bike is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

How are the rims well worn ?

If you are confident at wheel building you could always just replace the rim

http://www.instructables.com/id/Bicycle-Rim-Replacement/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭radiat

oh yeah.
    hybrid bike, 700c wheels. Racing bike spec (ish) with straight handlebars

no, definitely wouldn't try replacing the rim but thanks for the link

There's an inward curve on both rims where the brake pads are and the back wheel is creaking when i'm on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Is it 130mm rear spacing (road bike) or 135mm (mountain bike, but also a lot of hybrids).

If it's 130mm then mavic aksiums seem to be a popular choice around here, apparently decent value, hard wearing and not too heavy for the price. http://www.wiggle.co.uk/mavic-aksium-black-clincher-road-bike-wheelset/

funny enough i was just looking at the very same wheels on chainreactions. The front wheel is 1/2 price!
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=42068

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Aksiums are a bit pricey for a 60km a week commute, though they would be bombproof for the OP.

There are Shimano R501's reduced to £89 a pair on Wiggle. Not much heavier than the Aksiums and handy enough to maintain. What about tyres?

Remember to have a look at changing your brake pads too!

yeah i've just replaced the brakepads

I replaced the back wheel about 2 years ago, i got a cheap entry level shimano, propably like the R501's

the tyres are 23mm gatorskins

I'm not sure should i keep this bike up to the same spec, or let it waste away with the cheapest components

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

radiat wrote: »
    howya
    i need a new set of wheels for my bike, the rims on the existing wheels are well worn. I use the bike for commuting, about 60km a week

The bike cost €900 4 years ago and i want some wheels that will match the value of the bike (if you know what i mean). So my questions are, what would you recommend and what's the difference in different price ranges of wheels?
    i still have a new set for sale mavic 319 rims deore 9 speed hub 36 spoke new tubes and panaracer ribmo tires 700x28 shimano 105 cassette 180euro and there yours.

thanks for the offer feck. How did you come by them if you don't mind me asking, are they brand new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

thanks for the offer feck. How did you come by them if you don't mind me asking, are they brand new?
    yes brand new i restored my raleigh had great ideas to pull a trailer so needed a good set of strong wheels theres about 70 miles on the wheels excellent wheels the tires cost 50 each ,yeah there perfect .

thanks feck but i'm going to pass
    My cassette is fairly new and I don't need tyres or tubes. There's a mavic aksium front wheel going for 1/2 price on chainreactions so i'm getting to get it and keep an eye out for a bargain rear wheel

unless of course you want to just sell the rear wheel minus everything else?

I have a pair of Shimano RS10 wheels which I want to sell.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=25888
    Yours for 100 if you want them. Great nick, not used much.

oh!
    just bought the front wheel

interested in just selling the back wheel? If so could you expand on "not used much"

oh!
    just bought the front wheel

interested in just selling the back wheel? If so could you expand on "not used much"

Yeah I could sell the rear one on it's own. I used it a little bit but not much! It was an auxiliary wheel for when stuff went wrong with my other ones. Very little mileage, but I've no use for it anymore. 97 new on CRC so I'll let you have it for 65 if you want it.

I'll pass if you don't mind Raam

Got a brand new higher spec front wheel for €54 so i'll hold out and try and get a new bargain wheel on line

I'll pass if you don't mind Raam

Got a brand new higher spec front wheel for €54 so i'll hold out and try and get a new bargain wheel on line

No worries.