Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest RSA video - Loaded Weapon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

Just watched with the sound off, impressive production values, not convinced that the concept will resonate with its intended audience though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Makes me kinda want to go out and a buy a handgun now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

yet another poorly targeted campaign by the RSA that suggests that young lads are the only people that can possibly cause an accident.

Makes me want to buy a gun and go see gay byrne

also the RSA makes an ad with guns in it , and they bring in a black lad too....RSA you racists.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I think rsa is trying to target gamers here?

What's in fashion now? Modern warfare and battlefield 3?

I presume I can't shoot while driving so. Thank you rsa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Completely unrealistic.

The cyclist had working lights on the front and back which weren't covered by a bag or jacket, he had a hi-vis vest and a helmet, he didn't run any red lights and he wasn't jumping between the path and the road.

Also, the car fails on the lack of lit front foglights.

Finally, only boys cause crashes.

Aside from that, very true to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

I don't think that ad was made in Ireland, the English accents and lack of an licence plates showing means it's international.

As a film it's very good, nice production values and all that. The audience its meant to target won't watch it or understand it.

Yet again it's targeting young drivers who act like idiots, most young drivers I know have never had an accident.

Maybe it's time we got away from the 'slow down boys' thing and started targeting the driving community as a whole, most of the bad driving and near misses that I see on a daily basis are done by people my age both males and females.
    /rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The message i got from that video? Having a black man with a handgun in your car will cause you to crash. Nice to see the RSA tackling the real issues on our roads as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Didn't realise dangerous driving could be so glamorous. Waiting for "Grand Theft Auto: RSA edition" to come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Astra estate, but I cheated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

But you couldnt have a video that suggests women are bad drivers, cos that'd be sexist.

If the want to make the roads safer, start with the basics. Start lobbying councils to make sure roads themselves are in order. Actually do something about poor instructors, and bad teaching practices. Tackle bad driving as a whole. Get Gardai to start doing something about poor car care, ie start pulling people with 1 working light, bald tyres etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

But you couldnt have a video that suggests women are bad drivers, cos that'd be sexist.
    Isnt there one with 3 girls in a car and the driver is texting and she crashes?

But really, is there any evidence that these ads have any effect on peoples' driving behaviour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Is that a clip for this weeks love/hate or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

hollypink wrote: »
    Isnt there one with 3 girls in a car and the driver is texting and she crashes?

But really, is there any evidence that these ads have any effect on peoples' driving behaviour?

Dunno, but seeing them and from what I read in the papers makes me think twice about anything I do on the road and I rarely venture outside the limits, I used to drive about 5kph over the zone, but with the 'safety cameras' I am watching my speed all the time. I'm 21 Male by the way, but I must say from my driving I actully cannot target one group of drivers and say they are bad.

Everyone is just as bad. These ads targeting people in my age group are saying to other drivers, look these guys are causing every single accident on the road. Your an excellent driver, don't examine your own habits and keep breaking the amber lights at junctions and do what ever you want once you think it's safe, it's just young males that are poor drivers no one else.

Yet I know someone who is 35 male driver a Ford Mondeo and has racked up 5 points and a few that have expired, yet I am 21 drive a evolution and never had a penalty point in my driving career yet I am told I am the bad driver..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

I kinda liked it wasn't a civic or evo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Substantially better than the RSA ad with your man in the back of a Citroen "slow down boys", or the one on the radio which makes me want to crash into a tree.

The film was based on an idea from UCC student Richard Lahart apparently.

http://www.thejournal.ie/gay-byrne-reappointed-as-head-of-road-safety-authority-286410-Nov2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

That's one stupid ****ing add.
    I am an old fart and am getting quite sick of this type of campaign against young male drivers,any day of the week you will see older drivers doing far worse than that.
    We are the drivers that should be leading the young drivers by example and not by this condescending attitude we older drivers have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    They dont effect my driving but they do effect my blood pressure:pac: If the RSA spent as much money and time on actual useful endevours it might actually help.

What if we could do a referendum to let go all rsa and for the rsa budget we would employ more Garda to police the roads. Plus with all left overs we could biuld worlds best roads and still left over money for the pub!

I think it would work way better then a few ****y adds for all those millions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

This was actually the winning entry to the RSA competition ''Keep Drama off the Roads''.

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Education/Help-Keep-Drama-Off-the-Roads/
    ' wrote:
    ''This year’s subject, ‘Breaking the Culture of Speed’, aims to generate awareness among young people of the dangers of excessive and inappropriate speed. The theme

Entrants are asked to submit an innovative concept for a short film that tackles the ‘culture of speeding’ on Irish roads. Research suggests that road-users aged 17-25 are three times more likely to be killed in a collision than the rest of the population. This risk increases significantly for young male drivers aged 17-24, who are five times more likely to be killed in a collision.''

So that might explain the focus of the ad (while not excusing it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

The first thing I would have done was shoot the bloody cyclist!!

After that..... Who the funk brings 3 guns out with them when they're driving their mothers piece of crap.

It might be a good idea for the lads to stop messing with guns and to come on here and get some advice on a decent car to buy!

On a serious note:

While I can clearly see the aim of the ad I think it fails in what it's trying to do.

I'd really love to adverts and research done in relation to the time saving you actually achieve as a result of driving, say, 10 miles an hour fast through Dublin when you take into account lights and traffic. I think a campaign aimed at showing that the benefit of speeding is minimal then it'd be much more successful.

If you have 3 lads that go out driving in a car with the intention of speeding then there's very little that can be done. They don't think they're going to be the one to crash so the advert becomes irrelevant. If you focused more on people who speed in order to get from A to B quicker and showed that in most cases the benefits (time wise) aren't that great then you'd be more successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    This was actually the winning entry to the RSA competition ''Keep Drama off the Roads''.

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Education/Help-Keep-Drama-Off-the-Roads/

So that might explain the focus of the ad (while not excusing it).

However it seems the RSA's own stats over the years disagree, with 25-34 group having the most road deaths from what I remember reading.

Honestly, if we got rid of the RSA and RTÉ together, two entirely useless government funded groups, and put their budget towards actually improving the quality and maintenance of the roads then we'd have far less accidents in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Read about this today. Some Italian bloke directed it.

Seriously low wind noise off that car. Is it an Audi ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

That ad is useless. Car is a loaded weapon - come on ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Jesus Christ what a waste of time and money. The RSA need their heads examined if they think this will have any effect on any motorist, least of all young males. I wouldn't be surprised if it makes more lads drive around messing with airsoft guns now.

All I was looking at were all the pistol mistakes, at 1:28 the dis-assembly lever is all the way over to the left on his P226, good look firing that, at 1:42 it says CAL 6MM BB on the side of his Glock 17 and one of the lads racks the slide on his P226 at 1:41 before inserting the magazine.

I feel safer now knowing these lads can't operate a firearm. :)