Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

peugeot 607

• 22-11-2011 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

Whats everyones views on the 607?

Im possibly looking at the 2.0 diesel or petrol version.. 2.2 tax seems a bit steep, anyone know what kinda mpg these lovely looking cars do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

My neighbour is selling his 2.0 petrol 03. Looks to be a nice motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭celica1994

whats it like on juice?

Not a clue, But I'd guess averaging late 20s, official figure is only 31

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

My brother drove one - lovely car but he said MPG was '' not great '' , sorry I can't be more precise.
    I understand it has possibly the highest depreciation of any car on Irish roads.

why couldnt they just make a 2ltr instead of mainstreaming the 2.2!!! lol

They launched a 2.0 hdi towards the end to be fair

yea but the 406 was mainly 2.0 hdi, great cars all the same :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Delancey wrote: »
    My brother drove one - lovely car but he said MPG was '' not great '' , sorry I can't be more precise.
    I understand it has possibly the highest depreciation of any car on Irish roads.

I'd say the Alfa 166 gives it a run for it's money alright!:D

Volvo s80 in with a chance.

the 166 is a great car but depreciates in value terribly!

celica1994 wrote: »
    the 166 is a great car but depreciates in value terribly!

True my dads lost 90% of its value in 6 years.... Best car ever though :D

Yed swear heavy depreciation was a negative!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

They are massive yokes those 607's. They are really stylish looking and somthing very desirable about a big french car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    My neighbour is selling his 2.0 petrol 03. Looks to be a nice motor.

Any idea how much he is looking for? Any link to an ad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I don't understand why the depreciation hang up. Surely it's the benefits of that depreciation that makes you take a look at them now? If you buy it cheap then you sell it on cheap.

Unkel, just found it online

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2557890

It is mint but not worth that, he's had it for sale for a good while, seems to wash it 5 times a week! I'm sure he's open to offers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It looks mint alright but it's just the wrong side of €4k imo.

Nice reg to be fair. Bit of money off and it'd be worth a shot, will have a proper gander if you're interested unkel.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I don't understand why the depreciation hang up. Surely it's the benefits of that depreciation that makes you take a look at them now? If you buy it cheap then you sell it on cheap.

I was talking about depreciation from the point of a loss for us the seller and a gain for whoever bought the 166 in the end. It is of course a good thing for the buyer to get them cheap. However the 166 wasn't bought cheap and was certainly sold on cheap so I don't really understand your last sentence there Bazz.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Unkel, just found it online

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2557890

It is mint but not worth that, he's had it for sale for a good while, seems to wash it 5 times a week! I'm sure he's open to offers

Ye it does look clean, dreamer though. Maybe he thinks the reg makes it worth extra?

Lovely car but I'd say he'd struggle to get €3k

Everybody is selling big petrol cars and nobody is buying :D

What would you pay for it though?

I wouldn't want to insult him :)

No seriously, I am in the market for a large petrol car but the 607 would not be near the top of my list.

I'd give him 2k and not a cent more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Which 2.0 HDi did they sell over here - the 110 or 136 bhp? The former doesn't really sound powerful enough for such a big car (it's plenty for a 406 or C5, but this is about 200 kg heavier). I doubt the 2.0 petrol would be really up to the task either - it's 137 bhp (I think) but feck all torque compared to the diesels.

The 2.0 was 110bhp, the 2.2 was 136bhp in the 607. Really decent cars in diesel form, I was only mentioning them to another member on here a few days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bazz26 wrote: »
    It looks mint alright but it's just the wrong side of €4k imo.

When you could have this :
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2729946

ok double the miles but.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

RoverJames wrote: »
    The 2.0 was 110bhp, the 2.2 was 136bhp in the 607. Really decent cars in diesel form, I was only mentioning them to another member on here a few days ago.

Ah I see now - looks like the post-2004 facelift got some engine upgrades - 2.0 went up to 136 bhp (now 16v) and the 2.2 went up to 170 bhp (bi-turbo). Then there was the 2.7 V6 diesel :cool: