Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need new engine for a 08 Chevrolet Aveo (1.4)

• 21-11-2011 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Hi.

Sister in law's timing belt snapped on her 08 Chervolet Aveo, 1.4 LS petrol.

Trying to locate an engine if any of you kind folk would have any tips, that would be great.

Tried all the ususal breakers yards etc (Including Traynors in Armagh)

Just hoping someone, somewhere may have spotted one for sale (or a scrapped c\r with good engine)

Thanks guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Why don't you get its own engine repaired? Should work out cheaper than replacing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Why don't you get its own engine repaired? Should work out cheaper than replacing it.

According to mechanic, engine is completely banjaxed. Reckoned best possibility is that hed locate another one, and try and make 1 good engine out of two.
    Bigus wrote: »

Thanks for that link, apparently engine from this model isnt interchangable though. (according to my mechanic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Unless she was flat out on the motorway there is no reason the engine couldn't be repaired. 'The engine is knackered' is the line used by a mechanic who either doesn't know how to fix it or couldn't be arsed IMO.

Put it this way, it never had a service in its history! Ever!

Apparently the oil was like tar, due to never been changed. This in turn is what made the timing belt snap.

I trust the mechanic 100%, he's been the family mechanic for years now, and runs a fairly large garage garage in south Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

costlier in the long run.......

Ghandee wrote: »
    Put it this way, it never had a service in its history! Ever!

Apparently the oil was like tar, due to never been changed. This in turn is what made the timing belt snap.

I trust the mechanic 100%, he's been the family mechanic for years now, and runs a fairly large garage garage in south Dublin.

If the engine siezed due to lack of oil thats a different thing altogether. The timing belt snapping is just a sypmtom of the actual problem rather then the cause as described in the OP.

If the engines has seized then yes, a second hand engine is the cheaper option.

Have you tried IVI engines for a reconditioned unit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Ghandee wrote: »
    Hi.

Sister in law's timing belt snapped on her 08 Chervolet Aveo, 1.4 LS petrol.

Trying to locate an engine if any of you kind folk would have any tips, that would be great.

Tried all the ususal breakers yards etc (Including Traynors in Armagh)

Just hoping someone, somewhere may have spotted one for sale (or a scrapped c\r with good engine)

Thanks guys.

Tell her to go look for one herself. If she's that careless about car maintenance why should anyone else waste his/her time looking for a replacement engine?

Gophur wrote: »
    Tell her to go look for one herself. If she's that careless about car maintenance why should anyone else waste his/her time looking for a replacement engine?

Thanks for your input Gophur, but have you ever considered the possibility that some people might actually care enough about other peoples problems to try and provider then with some sort of help?

no one is asking you to waste your time, thanks for your reply though.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Gophur wrote: »

If you can't post constructively then please don't post at all.

If the engine siezed due to lack of oil thats a different thing altogether. The timing belt snapping is just a sypmtom of the actual problem rather then the cause as described in the OP.

If the engines has seized then yes, a second hand engine is the cheaper option.

Have you tried IVI engines for a reconditioned unit?

Hi Nissan doctor, must admit I haven't called these guys, my mechanic is in Clondalkin though, so I'd be surprised if he hasn't tried them at this stage. (i'm not from these parts originally do wouldn't be too familiar with Some of these guys)

Sorry, I should've gave clearer instructions on how the car got itself into this mess in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

have a look here - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Aveo i presume, there is number manufactures, which were sharing same chasy/engine ,

" Also called : Chevrolet Kalos,Chevrolet Lova, Daewoo Gentra, Daewoo Kalos, Holden Barina (TK), Pontiac G3, Pontiac G3 Wave, Pontiac Wave, Suzuki Swift+ ".

Look around for these cars, might will find something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mar4ix wrote: »
    have a look here - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Aveo i presume, there is number manufactures, which were sharing same chasy/engine ,

" Also called : Chevrolet Kalos,Chevrolet Lova, Daewoo Gentra, Daewoo Kalos, Holden Barina (TK), Pontiac G3, Pontiac G3 Wave, Pontiac Wave, Suzuki Swift+ ".

Look around for these cars, might will find something.

I'm pretty sure the only one that's on sale in this country is the kalos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Jesus ... those lil things 08, cost under 4 k. you sure, want do something about it ? source engine, labour for fitting, at the end, itll cost more, than market value. get another one, , and keep old one for spares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Jesus ... those lil things 08, cost under 4 k. you sure, want do something about it ? source engine, labour for fitting, at the end, itll cost more, than market value. get another one, , and keep old one for spares.

I can't see how a grand or so on repairs/replacement engine is better than buying another one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

EPM wrote: »

I can't see how a grand or so on repairs/replacement engine is better than buying another one?
    At the risk of stating the obvious.....did you price a new engine from Chevrolet..?..they don't sell tons of the things, and might have one on a pallet know knocking around.......happened to me with a bike, years ago, and got a span new engine for a Suzuki for a very reasonable price.....nobody else was going to buy it when it's there a while....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

galwaytt wrote: »
    At the risk of stating the obvious.....did you price a new engine from Chevrolet..?..they don't sell tons of the things, and might have one on a pallet know knocking around.......happened to me with a bike, years ago, and got a span new engine for a Suzuki for a very reasonable price.....nobody else was going to buy it when it's there a while....

This is a good idea- certainly no harm in asking. Fixing an engine with a timing belt broken might be a massive job- bent valves are to be expected which could be major job and really not worth it. A second hand engine should be small money, but it might take months before one comes along

Good luck

Casati wrote: »
    This is a good idea- certainly no harm in asking. Fixing an engine with a timing belt broken might be a massive job- bent valves are to be expected which could be major job and really not worth it. A second hand engine should be small money, but it might take months before one comes along

Good luck

Fixing a head with bent valves due to a failed timing belt is time consuming yes, but not difficult for any competant mechanic and on any car other then few hundred euro bangers will be more cost effective then finding a second hand(unknown history) engine plus fitting.

We're OT though as none of this is relevant to the OP's situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Hard to make a call on this one as we don't really know the extent of the problem. OP states the T belt has snapped, indicating the possibility of valve, maybe camshaft damage, they further state that the poor old car has never had a service so all kinds of scenarios pop up.

Their trusted mechanic (the only knowledgeble one who has the facts) has made a call for a replacement engine so I guess we have to go with that.

As an aside, who's engine is in that car? (Chevvy being a marketing brand these days)

Fishtits wrote: »
    Hard to make a call on this one as we don't really know the extent of the problem. OP states the T belt has snapped, indicating the possibility of valve, maybe camshaft damage, they further state that the poor old car has never had a service so all kinds of scenarios pop up.

Their trusted mechanic (the only knowledgeble one who has the facts) has made a call for a replacement engine so I guess we have to go with that.

As an aside, who's engine is in that car? (Chevvy being a marketing brand these days)

Are they not fitted with slightly updated versions of the older generation GM engines that where in astra F and G models amongst others.

I believe Astra engine has been mentioned alright. ^^

I kinda get second hand info about everything relevant to the car, through my father in law.
    A I work in the spare parts industry (my expertise lies in trucks and in particular 40ft trailers) am seen as a guy who can source stuff, and though this may be true for Scania etc, the car end of things wouldn't really be my scene.

If helpful to you guys, I can calk the mechanic today and ask him exactly what is the problem with the engine, and write down his reply so I can fill you in.

The part in this thread where I mentioned the oil turning to tar came directly from the mechanics mouth when I spoke with him in the phone last Friday.

Will definitely contact Chevrolet today, not sure if mechanic has of yet. Thanks again for all your help guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

EPM wrote: »
    If you can't post constructively then please don't post at all.
    There's a method to his madness. At least my mate who seized his engine after letting it run low on oil is checking it all the time now, several years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

Condron's in tullamore have one recently in for breaking, 08, 1.4. (057) - 9322221

Also try Autobreak, Limerick, 061-311858. Have a 08 also but engine might be gone.

Economy auto Parts in Donabate have a 1.2 but you want a 1.4, yes ?

lifer_sean wrote: »
    Condron's in tullamore have one recently in for breaking, 08, 1.4. (057) - 9322221

Also try Autobreak, Limerick, 061-311858. Have a 08 also but engine might be gone.

Economy auto Parts in Donabate have a 1.2 but you want a 1.4, yes ?

yes, after 1.4 model.

Thanks for that Sean, am on hold for Condrons as I type this.:)