Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Subaru Legacy 2006 knocking and stuttered acceleration

• 20-11-2011 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭

Just picked up an 06 legacy 2.0. It has 130k on the clock but full Subaru service history. Just serviced and brakes done before I bought it.

Two things I've noticed.

1) a creaking knock sound when moving, accelerating, braking, etc. It sounds like metal on metal. The sound is coming from under the driver side pedals.

2) when accelerating, there's a noticeable stuttering of power pretty much all through the rev range and all gears.

Are the two things linked?

Any ideas?

Thanks for the help.
    D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

beams wrote: »
    1) a creaking knock sound when moving, accelerating, braking, etc. It sounds like metal on metal. The sound is coming from under the driver side pedals.
    Could possibly be front driver side spring broken - put your hand between the tyre and arch on both sides and see is there a noticable difference in height.
    2) when accelerating, there's a noticeable stuttering of power pretty much all through the rev range and all gears.

Just because it's a subaru I'd be inclined to say turbo issues first.... but I'm sure someone like Nissan Doctor might have a better idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭beams

Thanks for the quick response.

There's no noticeable height difference either side. Read on some forums might be an endlinks issue.

It's a NA petrol engine, no turbo (should have said that originally).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Its really only guesswork without seeing the car/hearing the noises but generally the subaru's, especially the N/A ones, are extremely reliable so I'd imagine the running issue is simply a misfire, perhaps a failed coil.

Thanks for the response. I've just recorded the sound http://db.tt/C8tPF8Lb. It's a little like crinkling a tin can.

The thing has a three month warranty so I'm trying to get an idea what it's is before going back to them (so I don't get a "that's grand, nothing to worry about" till the warranty expires).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Possible MAF sensor maybe, Does the CEL/Engine fault code light

come up on the dash at all. As for the medal sound you'd really need

to get under the car and check for "play" in the suspension/steering

parts. Also if still concerned lads over on www.isdc.ie are great when it comes

to Subaru's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

beams wrote: »
    Thanks for the response. I've just recorded the sound http://db.tt/C8tPF8Lb. It's a little like crinkling a tin can.

The thing has a three month warranty so I'm trying to get an idea what it's is before going back to them (so I don't get a "that's grand, nothing to worry about" till the warranty expires).

Where abouts are you based? If your in the Dublin area I'd be happy to check the noise FOC for you from a safety point of view as much as for your warranty.

Thanks very much, I'll PM you my details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Fair play that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

Your knocking / metal noise is more than likely the front anti roll bar bushes if they are dry the rubber actually stick to the bar and can make a creaking metal sounding noise as the bar twists it is usually very noticeable when going over speed bumps. The flat spot or hesitation is possibly what is known as the A/F sensor it is the front oxygen sensor , if faulty it can be seen on a scan tool if you have a competent technican who knows what to look for. It is also possible that it does not put on the check eng light if faulty.