Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could a late 90's VW/audi 1.9tdi run on home heating oil?

• 20-11-2011 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭

Out of interest could a late 90's early 00's VW/AUDI 1.9 Tdi run on home heating oil and is home heating oil marked like green diesel or is it similar to running one on veg oil ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Its marked for sure. I doubt it would run tbh, youd need an old Merc diesel from the eighties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

A friend of mine ran his Golf mk3 1.9D (not TDI) on vegetable oil.
    However, he did fill it up with regular diesel at least once a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

Sobanek wrote: »
    A friend of mine ran his Golf mk3 1.9D (not TDI) on vegetable oil.
    However, he did fill it up with regular diesel at least once a month.

I know a few people that run their oldish diesels on 70/30 vegoil/diesel in the summer 50/50 in the winter with no problems and its not marked .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

bbsrs wrote: »
    Out of interest could a late 90's early 00's VW/AUDI 1.9 Tdi run on home heating oil and is home heating oil marked like green diesel or is it similar to running one on veg oil ?

You have to remember, even using vegetable oil in your car you still have to pay tax on it, there have been aa few threads on it before it might be worth googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

home heating oil is marked Diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

pa990 wrote: »

Is it legal to use in a car though? I would have thought the duties and taxes would be different.... similar to running a car on Agri-diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Same as running green diesel as far as customs are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

mickdw wrote: »

I can see a lot of home heating oil tanks being drained and the stuff being used in cars then..... Heating oil is about 83c per litre at the moment. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Miscreant wrote: »
    mickdw wrote: »

I can see a lot of home heating oil tanks being drained and the stuff being used in cars then..... Heating oil is about 83c per litre at the moment. :p
    But green diesel is banned for use in cars. My point was that there is no point in using heating oil even if it would run on it as its a marked oil and illegal for use in cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

bbsrs wrote: »

In theory yes quite probably. I know for a fact an 80s - mid 90s VW diesel will. And most other old stuff. In practice though it's illegal as it's nto taxed at the same rate as road diesel.
    Also if you take it out of an old dirty tank you'll end up with a blocked fuel filter fairly quickly or blocked injectors and fuel lines.

It would be "better"/ easier than running on staight veg oil but you'll get in a lot more trouble if caught running heating oil. Also there's realistically feck all chance of being "caught" for running a mix of veg oil and diesel and they're not looking for it, only for marked fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

No it isn't. It is Kerosene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

Whats the cheapest you can buy a litre of veg oil for these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Kerosene is what is normally referred to as home heating oil.

However we use Diesel and many others do as well - this is known as marked gas oil.

It is agri-diesel.

Would a car run on this - yes but if dipped a minimum of a stiff fine and worse siezure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Home heating oil is kerosene you'd be busy for the afternoon trying to convert your car to run off it. Octane is too low for a petrol engine and too high for diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Older home heating systems run on heating oil (marked diesel) modern systems run on kerosene.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It depends on what home heating oil you use, some heating systems use Kerosene and this is the choice for most Modern systems. Older heating oil systems usually older outdoor boilers run off Green Diesel (Agricultural Diesel - Marked Gas Oil).

As a Diesel car it will run on either fuel however using Kerosene will burn out the injectors in the engine and create a whole lot of engine trouble. Green Diesel is no different to White Diesel except for the dye and fuel duty taxation.

Running a car on either Kerosene or Green Diesel is illegal and against the law, if you were dipped and found with either in the tank you will be fined.

I can totally understand why people do it and if you can manage to get away with it then good luck to you, Fuel taxes are a disgrace in Ireland and we pay far too high a price for fuel in comparison to the third world levels of roads we receive in return and we pay too much for motoring in general so I sympathize and support people burning Green Diesel, if everybody did and there was a civil disobedience against taxation they would quickly cull change their tune and trim 100k excess drones from the public sector that has Ireland strangled.

Ah but the government's way is to herd everyone onto a one-track way of living life and then put lots of costly hurdles in everyone's place to extract money from people & give to the germans / unsecured bond holders

So lots of things have to be not allowed and the few things that are allowed are to be very expensive

Question - how would anyone know you're driving your car on the Marked Gas Oil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Question - how would anyone know you're driving your car on the Marked Gas Oil?

Have you ever seen a customs checkpoint..

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Have you ever seen a customs checkpoint..

Never in my 5 years, 4 months, 21 days of staying in Ireland :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

eth0 wrote: »
    Home heating oil is kerosene you'd be busy for the afternoon trying to convert your car to run off it. Octane is too low for a petrol engine and too high for diesel

Ah no, you'd run an old fashioned diesel engine on it if you wanted, just not ideal at all and it'll smoke a bit more and smell more. might notice a drop in power/ different runnign behaviour too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

Older diesels will run on kerosine, but as others have said, it will burn out your injectors long term due to it burning hotter. I used it to get my 1.9 diesel renault magane through it's NCT.

Would fly through the emissions test. Then I'd go back to regular diesel till next one was due:)

Never in my 5 years, 4 months, 21 days of staying in Ireland :eek:

I have not seen one in 10 years but I know damm well the first day I fill green I will met one...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I have not seen one in 10 years but I know damm well the first day I fill green I will met one...

When I was on the road I saw customs checkpoint once a week, this was mostly Limerick and Clare, nowadays I commute and I never see one. They must keep mostly business hours so.
    Despite driving a diesel van, I have never been dipped, they're looking for dodgy old vans and trucks it would seem.
    Once diesel goes above the 1.50 mark I will consider filling up with the green, I don't want to, but I might have to.
    Otherwise I cannot afford to go to work anymore, I am right now at the very edge of how far I can be stretched. Alternatively I could give up eating, heating my house or having electricity.
    Anyways, older home heating systems run on red diesel, agri stuff is green but also diesel, both are illegal to use on the road. But the very same as regular diesel, which is clear as it doesn't have a dye in it.
    Hence a roaring trade in the washed stuff, but the additives used in the process could destroy your engine,fuel pump/injectors, ironically it would be better to just fill up with green/red.
    Dunno about Kerosene, most likely illegal, most likely bad for your engine.

Question:
    Has anyone ever been dipped whilst using veg oil, what was the outcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Some boilers run on kerosene, others on marked gass oil ( green diesel), and some on a 50 50 mix.

Check your facts

I do notice garda checkpoints and the like discriminating against older cars. Have only seen the customs crowd dipping once or twice.

The guards would be waving all the relatively new cars through as the people driving them are deemed to be 'well on the grid', but they check nct,tax,insurance & even the tyres on my early 90's heap with 'protective' layer of mud on the sides.

So if you filled a spotless '11 5-series with green you could likely drive through as many customs checkpoints as you like without being dipped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

eth0 wrote: »

So if you filled a spotless '11 5-series with green you could likely drive through as many customs checkpoints as you like without being dipped

Will the green damage a modern 2.0 turbo diesel engine or is that just scaremongering to stop people doing it.

1.9tdi 110/130bhp and the like would be fine, I take it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I drove through a Fuel Checkpoint recently with my sister driving her car (Diesel 2004 Bora) and we were beckoned on, they had two lorries, an Isuzu trooper jeep and a Transit van pulled in and had some hose shoved into the fuel tank it seemed.

Basically if you drive a diesel guzzler you will quite likely be dipped as they are the types most likely to be using green diesel as they have the biggest savings. Drive a new or fairly normal clean non-farmer car though and chances are you won't be dipped especially if you are a woman. My uncle is a retired customs officer and he often talks about the job, they also had a policy of dipping cars with tow-hitches as it was a likely farmers car.

Squall19 wrote: »
    Will the green damage a modern 2.0 turbo diesel engine or is that just scaremongering to stop people doing it.

1.9tdi 110/130bhp and the like would be fine, I take it?

No damage at all. The older stuff had a higher sulphur rate but its all uniform now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Some boilers run on kerosene, others on marked gass oil ( green diesel), and some on a 50 50 mix.

Check your facts

The "fact" is that if you ring up an oil company and order home heating oil you will get a tank full of kerosene, not green diesel. And if you fill your 1.9TDI with that then it won't end well ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The "fact" is that if you ring up an oil company and order home heating oil you will get a tank full of kerosene, not green diesel. And if you fill your 1.9TDI with that then it won't end well ;)

Always thought that agri diesel was green and home heating oil red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Down south its all green, up north and in the uk its red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

There are two home heating oils: kerosene and diesel. All home heating oil suppliers stock both. If you don't specify they'll give you kerosene which works in all boilers. Home heating diesel burns dirtier but a bit hotter. It's not recommended for all boilers.