Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need advice please!

• 19-11-2011 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭

Hey boardsies,

So the gf had a crowd of them in the apartment tonight, and me, being the gent, decided I'd head out for a spin to give them some time to themselves. Also, lately, I seem to be a magnet for speed cameras (6 points since September :eek:), so I'm being especially mindful of posted speed limits, regardless of what seems like the logical speed limit.

Anyway, I was driving along a back road where the speed limit is 50 km/h (I specifically noted it), though the road could probably handle 80, but was keen on keeping to the limit, when this fella started driving right up my arse. I paid him no mind, and was of the opinion that if he wanted to pass, there was plenty of room to do so, and he was more than welcome to, but I wasn't risking more points. Anyway, he was there about 3 or 4 minutes, before he started shining a green laser into my rearview mirror. When it happened at first, I assumed I'd passed kids drinking in a field having a laugh, but when it came back more constantly a second time, I looked into the mirror and could definitely see the driver shining the laser himself, right into my rearview mirror. I stubbornly kept to the limit, and made a note of his reg, and he zipped past me a few minutes later.

I'm just wondering what should I do about this? What he did was clearly very dangerous, so do I go down to the Garda station tomorrow, will they do anything, or would I be wasting mine and their time if I report this carry on?

Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Report the cnut. Fairplay for playing cool and ignoring the numpty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

1890205805 Call them now and report this lunacy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Report the cnut. Fairplay for playing cool and ignoring the numpty.

Thanks man, thinking back there's a hundred and one things I could have done to provoke him more, but I'm wound up and stressed enough as it is I didn't want to risk getting hopped by a car full 5 lads, a tyre iron across the face is the last thing I wanted to deal with :D
    MugMugs wrote: »
    1890205805 Call them now and report this lunacy!

I rang them just now, didn't even know about this number, they're great to deal with, going down to the station to report him in person tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Ya make sure u report him!! Thats lethal them lasers would blind ya :mad:
    If someone goes up my ass and have loads of room to pass i go even slower and pull in if its goin on for more than 5minutes :)
    its really distracting and dangerous imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Pull over, drag him out of the car and stick the laser pen where the sun don't shine, is what most of us would have loved to do, but it would have been wrong :(

However, reporting him is the next best thing to do, they where probably doing this all night to loads of people, may have even caused an accident. Hopefully the Guards will be able to charge the tool with dangerous driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I rang them just now, didn't even know about this number, they're great to deal with, going down to the station to report him in person tomorrow ;)
    I'd expect you to get a good response from the Gardai too (civilians on the phone line I think). Unfortunately the emergency services are a target for these scummers with lasers too.