Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Master Minded - Serious lay

• 19-11-2011 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

I wouldn't often post here folks but Master Minded is probably the lay of the season here.

Yes he will come on for Aintree run but that run was just so poor that he'd actually need to come on 30 to 40 pounds for it. No horse comes on that much for a run and he won't either.

He's paying for a younger hard career and will not win here as long as any of his rivals run to their mark.

Serious lay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Huntey

Probably best you don't post here often so :pac: (only messing)

On a serious note, 30 or 40 lbs? That is ridiculously off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 tommyhans

what a clown . Get in masterminded you beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

30-40lbs?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

tommyhans wrote: »
    what a clown . Get in masterminded you beauty.
    A clown for having an opinion? Opinions are what makes the sport of horse racing so good.

Joncol - fair play for voicing an opinion, you can't always get it right and I hope you weren't hit in the pocket for too much. I think your analysis was fairly off.

Clearly there is only one clown here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

lol hope you didnt burn your fingers to much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Agree with Bluetonic

We've all laid piles of winners & backed plenty of losers. Racing is a game of opinions, you get some calls spectacularly right & others spectacularly wrong. Get over it!

Agree with Bluetonic

We've all laid piles of winners & backed plenty of losers. Racing is a game of opinions, you get some calls spectacularly right & others spectacularly wrong. Get over it!

Case in point, I thought Kauto was finished & was simply praying he'd get to retire in one piece. Then he goes out & jumps them silly to win another Grade 1!

Opinions are what make it interesting and everyone gets it wrong sometimes but it is easier to acknowledge them when the facts are somewhat accurate, still can't see where someone could think MM needed to improve by 30 - 40lbs on the field here.

The personal abuse is unwarranted of course and I'm sure Joncol will land a nice lay when the rest of us have our fingers burnt at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

He shouldnt have been so bullish and made stupid over the top comments then.

He deserves some abuse (not personal abuse though obv)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 baazzaa

You have to go all the way back to Desert Orchid to find a horse that hadnt run over 3 mile prior to winnning this and Dessie stayed all day with the heart of a lion.

I cant see master minded doing a dessie.Its a massive ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

mdwexford wrote: »
    He shouldnt have been so bullish and made stupid over the top comments then.

He deserves some abuse (not personal abuse though obv)

Maybe he does deserve some stick for the post but that guy doesn't have the right to give it out. Its his first post in this forum and anyone who thanked bluetonics post will agree that until you put your opinions out there you can shut up about aftertiming on someone elses.

Master Minded is weak as water on Betfair. Very little on the lay side too. Some bookies are going NRNB.

If you want to back something each way there's a huge dilemma over waiting as there might not be 8 runners on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

MM has beaten Somersby everytime they met but even still there is too much of a disparity between their prices. One of them had to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Master Minded is weak as water on Betfair. Very little on the lay side too. Some bookies are going NRNB.

If you want to back something each way there's a huge dilemma over waiting as there might not be 8 runners on the day

Even though I hugely fancy Long Run for this, I can't help thinking that Ruby's sentiment in riding Kauto Star is overriding his judgement with Master Minded. I think Master Minded is the biggest danger to Long Run, and I can't undertsand why Ruby is on Kauto, apart from the obvious sentimental reasons.

If Kauto was a 100/1 outsider, rightly or wrongly, I think Ruby would still ride

The horse is a legend and there's no way he'd get off

I agree with you, as outlined here

If this is a truly run 3 miles I'm quite confident that Master Minded won't even be getting in the places. His best chance of being competitive is if the ground becomes more testing.

He is definitely unexposed over the trip but I have constantly said just because he has lost the pace for the top 2 mile contests does not mean he is a 3 miler. This seems more of a hit and hope from Nicholls as he doesn't know what to do with the horse imo, and I really couldn't fancy him in the slightest for this.

The without Long Run market is interesting enough

Real shame there's not one more runner, you'd probably get 1/4 the odds 3 places here

I'm guessing Nacarat and/or Golan Way will set the pace. Think back to Kauto's win in 2009 when the pace was brutal. You've 3 horses unknown at the trip (Master Minded, Captain Chris and Somersby), if it was a similar pace you might have very few horses getting into this

For win only purposes I think a searing test of stamina will suit Long Run but in the w/o market it's far more interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Plentyofice

I'd be shocked if MM gets the 3 miles. I think Nicholls knows he has lost the pace (realistically how long since he bet a good G1 field over 2 miles). He has Al ferof in the future and has a line on Sizing through Kauto stone.
    I think Long run with the biggest danger being Captain Chris.. I'm worried Hobbs is so quiet. He can be a hoor like that and pounce with these type horses.
    12 meetings X 7 races = 96 ways to lose your money :);)

Jaysus where do you start ??:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

I don't think MM will win tomorrow but to write him off so easily is folly. He has so much class he could come out and rout them all.

Bit of an exaggeration.

Would be a major shock if the step up in trip brought about enough improvement to rout Long Run at his best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

Nichols was asked during his twitter interview a few weeks ago about Masterminded

Q from @nick_wba_khfc: Can MAster Minded go over 3miles? Yes, I'm really looking forward to seeing him in the King George #askpaul

Nicholls only aimed Master Minded for this because he realised the horse doesn't have the speed for 2 miles and his options are limited.

I don't understand how people think he is suddenly going to morph into a stayer capable of winning a King George. Not going to happen.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Bit of an exaggeration.

Would be a major shock if the step up in trip brought about enough improvement to rout Long Run at his best.
    Huntey wrote: »
    Nicholls only aimed Master Minded for this because he realised the horse doesn't have the speed for 2 miles and his options are limited.

I don't understand how people think he is suddenly going to morph into a stayer capable of winning a King George. Not going to happen.

I didn't say he was going to win, but to say he is not capable is silly. He loves going right handed and has all the class. I wouldn't be surprised if he won.

Huntey wrote: »

And he isn't short of speed, I'd still back him to win the Champion Chase on soft ground

Why do you think the horse was stepped up in trip if he hasn't lost that bit of toe to compete with the top 2 milers?

Surely Clive Smith didn't get a bout of Alan Potts syndrome and just decided out of thin air that Master Minded could be a 3 miler?

Copycat. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Being honest I'd still fancy master minded in this seasons champion chase. There's only a handful of top quality 2m chasers out there and I definitely think MM is one of them.

The distance will be an issue today for MM but he's entitled to take his chance. I certainly won't be writing him off.

I'm not a fan of Long Run so I'd love to see MM or KS do the business. I did hear from a lad in Henderson's yard that Long Run has come on a ton since his last run.