Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsie getogether for a headlit trail run

• 18-11-2011 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

Just putting this out there to see what the interest might be in a trail run by torchlight probably near the next full moon, which google tells me is 10th December? Its not a formalised event per se so I didn't see it falling in the Events space. (Feel free to move if you wish mods).

It'll be a chance for ye to try out your headtorches (see separate gear thread) and, touch wood, our local trail loop in Annacurra outside Aughrim Co. Wicklow will be completed to show it off. Also a chance for many of us to meet in person.

I ran 4 loops of it this afternoon. Link: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/129452116

Our trail is built from local fundraising and is overseen by Coillte (no funding there unfortunately). A nominal contribution to the building work will apply (5 quid). I hope thats acceptable. Its not a commericial concern.

I'm not envisaging a race, but a social run, of 4 laps. If speedsters want to take off we'll have it marked out for you so no one goes astray.

And the pub is c. 100m from the start/finish point. Oodles of parking there too at Annacurra church yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Would love to but Waterford is on that day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

That's the night of the A/R/T xmas beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

National Novice the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Is that 6 miles per loop or 6 miles in total ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'd sacrifice the christmas beers for this, alas, I may not be around that night anyway. Sounds good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

c 9k total. Around 2.25k per loop, c. 45m climb in each.
    Ye can do it as a warmdown after your races. :)
    Enjoy the beers in town guys.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Also signed up for Waterford unfortunately. Love the idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Would love to do this but I've no means of transport to and from Aughrim, unless I cycle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

c 9k total. Around 2.25k per loop, c. 45m climb in each.
    Ye can do it as a warmdown after your races. :)
    Enjoy the beers in town guys.

Meh, they are not even category 5 climbs :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

a lot of excuses there lads.....ill more the likly be there but u may have to hold my hand...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

ultraman1 wrote: »
    a lot of excuses there lads.....ill more the likly be there but u may have to hold my hand...

I've no headtorch. Or car. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Great idea and would love to do a trail run at night or during day.

Unfortunately I cant make that night due to family event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

I've no headtorch. Or car. :p
    there is also the option of a torch lite run through the lawns in ballyer if any cant make it to annacurra.....

I'd look after you Anto. If numbers are looking slight we could push it out til the new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Love the idea but racing Waterford that day followed by beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I'm signed up for the Aware run that day. Probably wouldnt fancy a second run in the evening.

Almost certainly can do it if its on another day.

Jaysus, its a crowded calendar in December. When is the running off-season exactly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

what time are you thinking? I am interested to try it out, but the great Shaun WIlliam Ryder is playing that night...

cambo its probably not going to happen at this stage as so many boardsies have prior engagements (races, beers etc). Might seek to re-arrange in the new year.

Well it won't happen en masse, but I'm up for a run most evenings:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

cambo its probably not going to happen at this stage as so many boardsies have prior engagements (races, beers etc). Might seek to re-arrange in the new year.

Well it won't happen en masse, but I'm up for a run most evenings:)

Beers 1st and then a run in the woods :D