Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Heath 10K 2012 - 22nd January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I think it's a great idea to give the option with or without a t-shirt.What are the prizes?What is the course like and results from last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 gislegend

The prizes on offer are as follows: 1st 250e 2nd 150e 3rd 50e (Men and women) 1st U19 100e and Best Team 200e (Averaged time)

The course is generally flat with one small incline. Fully marshalled by stewards and civil defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I hope the main improvment is the price;)

Two local races recently but were 10 euro for 10k.................double the price almost.

At 350 runners last year Id imagine we were one of the biggest 10K's in laois. With a rural course fully marshalled by Gardai, stewards and civil defence (no cars to deal with).

Any results from last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Same as above any results from last year. I hope to give this a go since its beside me. Never ran a home race before.

love to see resultsfrom last yearas you can always judge the course from previous years.
    regards the team event do you have to pay 17euro each along with your individual entry here?
    was thinking of getting a good crew down for this from the club but would like the info if you have it?

I'll try and get the results from last year up.

No it's just 17e per head for team entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭jprboy

Two questions:
    • What's the cut-off time/date for online entry?
    • The website states that "Late registrations will be welcome on the day (at a slightly higher entry fee)" How much will the higher fee be?

Thanks.

I will be entering on the day and as the previous poster asked what will the entry be on the day if I can get hours off work.

Also still no results from last year ?????:confused::confused::confused:

Lads apologies. No results from last year yet. Last years organiser has emigrated so he's hard to contact.

The late entry prices are as follows (Online reg closes on Friday):

- Adult no t-shirt 23e
    - Adult with t-shirt 30e
    - Team entry 17e
    - U19 with t-shirt 22e
    - U19 no t-shirt 15e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Doinker

Is there any public transport from Portlaoise to the race loacation? May have to get the train down.

You might be better getting a bus then. Most take the old Dublin road and he could drop you at Treacys pub which is only 100m away from the clubhouse. If you get the train you'd need a taxi to drop you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Doinker

gislegend wrote: »
    You might be better getting a bus then. Most take the old Dublin road and he could drop you at Treacys pub which is only 100m away from the clubhouse. If you get the train you'd need a taxi to drop you out.

Thanks for the info.

gislegend what are the number like for Sunday?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Roll call time, Hill street style

Tunguska - 34:20

Were looking at 350+ runners... so happy enough.

Red face Dave 50.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭loughie

Red face Dave 50.00
    loughie - 41.00ish

Only 100 places left. So anyone doing late registration get there early!

Best of luck in the morning hope we get the weather for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Looks like it's going to be windy as f*ck. Looking forward to it though.

Red face Dave 50.00
    loughie - 41.00ish
    cwgatling - 37:29

Rough evening here alright. Wind was very strong but has died down now. Hopefully it will be at our backs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭netmann

Red face Dave 50.00
    loughie - 41.00ish
    cwgatling - 37:29
    netmann - 45:00

2nd 10K for me so might be ambitious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭daithieoghan

Great race today, well organised and a great race for a first timer. See you next year

Got what I wanted 50 minute finish and a new p.b by 7 mins.
    A small gripe would be the water stations got no water at the first one and then had to stop for water and the 2nd maybe a few more people at these would have been handy plus maybe bottles but overall really enjoyed it and well done to all who organised it. I will be back next year:)

Thought this was a really great race. Very well organized and marshaled. Food and drink was great afterwards and even haribos for the kids. Course was challenging enough more climbs than I thought! Came in with about 40:30 which is nearly a minute improvement from Athenry 10K so happy and mile splits were even. Will definitely try to get back next year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Went down to this event today with MrsLeoB and have to say it was a great day out. Left North Dublin at 8.20 and was parked in The Heath at 9.40. Got a warm welcome which was a good start.
    The course was well marshalled. They were all friendly. Good facilities. And a nice bit of weather into the bargain.

The refreshments after were so welcome and I heard so many competitors expres delight with the Soup, Tea, Coffee, Water and Sandwiches, not to mention the fruit at the finish.

I am now thinking strongly of having a go at one of these events and let MrsLeoB do the encouraging!!

The event was a credit to the organisers. Well done to all.

Will post a few pictures later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Got what I wanted 50 minute finish and a new p.b by 7 mins.
    A small gripe would be the water stations got no water at the first one and then had to stop for water and the 2nd maybe a few more people at these would have been handy plus maybe bottles but overall really enjoyed it and well done to all who organised it. I will be back next year:)

Two water stations at a 10k? I wouldn't have a gripe with that, you were spoiled :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭ChampionChip

I have provisional results posted at www.championchipireland.com I am still waiting for the late entry names to get sent to me and will insert those when I get them but thought this would keep some of you happy for now.

PS if you want last years results email me at championchipireland@googlemail.com as I still have them on file.

I know it was a small gripe it was more so the point of not getting water at the first (didn't need it anyway:)) plus glasses. Other then that it was well organised event.

Might be wrong but I don't think the first drink station was an official one, more like locals helping out, it was a bit early!

A few shots from today

Tomas Fitzpatrick Off to a flyer.... And he also flew home in 32-01

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]6743048141_982dfe7d69.jpg[/EMAIL]">

Fun (or hard work) for all

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]6743071981_d5f3944245.jpg[/EMAIL]">

Will ya be grinning like this at the end?

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]6743058607_9cf3cede1e.jpg[/EMAIL]">
    She was!!

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]6743085631_737b43ab1d.jpg[/EMAIL]">

Does anyone knows the race secretary or who I can P.M in The Heath G.A.A club?

Some more images should be here. http://www.flickr.com/photos/25899546@N03/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

This doesn't seem to have got much attention on Boards - maybe us midlanders are not using the Internet as much as we should ;)

The race started absolutely on the button of 11am. There was ample parking. And the nicest after-race soup I have ever tasted! There were marshals at every lane, junction, or gateway - often accompanied by some of the locals. And a nice challenging course (BTW - the midlands are not flat when you run this course :-) )

Two things - fairly minor that can be fixed for next year.

1. There didn't seem to be start hooter or bell or whistle. Some of the front lads told me the lead marshals just said "the race has begun" after a countdown. Seemed a bit hectic in the first few rows of runners.

2. There was a set of mats over a cattle grid on the bridge at the finish - several runners stopped at this thinking they were the finish mats... The mats were great - but maybe a sign with "50 meters to go" or something would indicate that that wasn't the finish.

Well done to the organisers - mightn't have hit the headines but for me this race ticked all the boxes that many races bigger than it fail to do.

Had a great day out at this race, really enjoyed it. Well marshelled(dont think I saw even one car on the entire route) decent depth of field, nice feed after(although more jaffa cakes will be needed for next year)and the course was accuratley measured. Tough enough aswell, some nice drags plus a fairly strong wind to contend with.
    A couple of gripes though. Lads, some dude with a barely audible bull horn saying "Ok The race has now begun" is not the way to go. I was standing directly in front of him and I could barely make out what he had just said, never mind anybody further back. It caused much confusion which wasnt neccessary. A starting gun(even a shotgun) or some sort of siren would've done the trick. Also the finish was a bit confusing too. No gantry or even a sign that let us know the finish was approaching. I had no idea when to kick, it was only when I spotted a lad about 100m ahead of me stopping did I realise where the finish line was. A couple of signs saying 800, 400, 200 to go would've been useful. The results aswell seem to be missing a good few names. I mean the leading lady(linda byrne) was just behind me but theres a blank where her name should be and she won the womens race. Ditto for Pauline curly who was 2nd. Bit of a cock up with the team prize aswell *cough Tallaght ac winners cough*

But overall it was a good race with lots of positives, everybody was very friendly and welcoming so Ill be back next year.

Few more pictures here. First picture is funny, good few people enjoying a bit of a laugh at being caught out by the start.

http://alfharvey.photoshelter.com/gallery/The-Heath-GAA-Club-2nd-Annual-10K/G0000yhzIKXo7xS4/P00005TT7_81YTL0