Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving license

• 17-11-2011 11:18pm
    Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

I am moving to the South in a few weeks on a permanent basis from the North.

Having been down there before, whenever I show my UK driving license they look at me as if I have 2 heads.

Does anyone know the procedure for me to get an irish license? If I have a full UK license do I need to sit any kind of test, or is it just a case of filling in forms?

Is there a [high] cost involved?

Apologies if this is the wrong forum, it was the best I could think of, feel free to move if necessary.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

From the North, but living down here for 20 - 25yrs. I still have my UK licence and never had a problem when stopped.

At the moment, points for driving offences here cannot be added to UK licences, so there is a big advantage in keeping your licence as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if you are living and working down here and plan to do so for the future I would advise changing your licence as its legally what you have to do if you live in a different country (and in terms of official documents moving North to South - or vice versa - is a different country)

all you should have to do is bring your current licence to the local motor tax office and they will tell you where to go and what to do, it should take no longer than a day to get it sorted (you may need to goto a Garda station or may need to fill out forms and have proof of new address)

This site (although not an official site) says you are permitted to drive on your current (EU) licence until it expires....and as an EU licence holder you are permitted to simply exchange it for an Irish one. ...linky

Heres an official site linky however it doesn't say its a legal requirement to transfer your licence - I have a recollection that you must but - maybe I am wrong and open to correction.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    if you are living and working down here and plan to do so for the future I would advise changing your licence as its legally what you have to do if you live in a different country (and in terms of official documents moving North to South - or vice versa - is a different country)

all you should have to do is bring your current licence to the local motor tax office and they will tell you where to go and what to do, it should take no longer than a day to get it sorted (you may need to goto a Garda station or may need to fill out forms and have proof of new address)

This site (although not an official site) says you are permitted to drive on your current (EU) licence until it expires....and as an EU licence holder you are permitted to simply exchange it for an Irish one. ...linky

Heres an official site linky however it doesn't say its a legal requirement to transfer your licence - I have a recollection that you must but - maybe I am wrong and open to correction.

Still believe you should not change over to an Irish licence.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Thanks for the info lads!

Paul, how did you find insurance in the south? More expensive or cheaper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

if you are living and working down here and plan to do so for the future I would advise changing your licence as its legally what you have to do if you live in a different country (and in terms of official documents moving North to South - or vice versa - is a different ..... however it doesn't say its a legal requirement to transfer your licence - I have a recollection that you must but - maybe I am wrong and open to correction.

You're under no obligation to exchange your licence until renewal time or the expiry of 10 years residence. It would be foolish to exchange one easily held photocard for a piece of flimsy paper.

You won't be able tO get DVlA(NI) to change the address and issue a new card but you must inform them of the change of residence - it's an offence not to do so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

if you are living and working down here and plan to do so for the future I would advise changing your licence as its legally what you have to do if you live in a different country ....
    Untrue. Drive away on your UK licence until you need to change it.

From www.citizensinformation.ie

"Holders of licences issued by an EU/EEA member state

If you have a driving licence issued by an EU/EEA member state you can drive in Ireland as long as your existing licence is valid. If you wish to exchange your driving licence for an equivalent Irish driving licence, you must do so within 10 years of your driving licence expiring."

Welcome to Eire and please bring some money (not Euros).

"Untrue. Drive away on your UK licence until you need to change it.

From www.citizensinformation.ie

"Holders of licences issued by an EU/EEA member state

... you can drive in Ireland as long as your existing licence is valid. "

Licence will always be valid provided you renew it in the north.

awec
    Insurance bit more expensive, but you just need to shop around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Same here i have a full uk licence does,nt expire until 2017 unlike the south every ten years you have to throw more money at them to get it renewed.
    but then again welcome to the rip off republic were next we will need a licence
    to fart.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Cheers lads, this is going to be one expensive move :(

The taxman is robbing me blind! At least Dick Turpin wore a mask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Just renewed mine after our friends at Welfare lost the original!!:mad::mad::mad:. I've been stopped by the Gards several times, and have to say I've never had a problem. The rent's paid on the car, so no reason to hold me.

I had the choice of applying for a licence with the remaining time (was due to expire in 2 years) for £20, or applying for a new one altogether (10 years) for £20.

Guess which one I went for? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... Guess which one I went for? ;)
    Ah sure go on there Ted, give us a hint. How do ye do things in the Republic of Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

paulgalway wrote: »
    From the North, but living down here for 20 - 25yrs. I still have my UK licence and never had a problem when stopped.

At the moment, points for driving offences here cannot be added to UK licences, so there is a big advantage in keeping your licence as it is.
    This is obviously awful advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Why is it?

Why is it?
    The rules state that you must hold a licence from the country that you are resident in. Renewing your NI licence while resident in Ireland may be an offence (I'm not sure at all of that).

In any event, should we be encouraging people to try to beat the system and not have their points registered? Obviously it's these drivers that should be punished that are collecting many points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

The rules state that you must hold a licence from the country that you are resident in.
    Really? That is at complete odds with the EU position which states there is no need to exchange if the licence is valid.

Of course I'm open to correction, but my understanding of the wording is that you are supposed to exchange your licence.
    If you become normally resident in Ireland, you can drive for up to 12 months from the date of becoming resident, as long as your licence has not expired.

It's all a bit moot considering (I think) the plan is still to introduce the EU driving licence in January.

should we be encouraging people to try to beat the system and not have their points registered? Obviously it's these drivers that should be punished that are collecting many points.

I am not trying to beat the system, I am using the system that is in place; I am not breaking the law;

Also, driving here since mid-80's, and never been in a position where I may have got points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

My understanding is that if you have taken up residency in Ireland for longer than twelve months you must apply to exchange your UK licence to an Irish licence. You may also be inelligible to renew your licence in the UK as you are no longer resident there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

MagicSean wrote: »
    My understanding is that if you have taken up residency in Ireland for longer than twelve months you must apply to exchange your UK licence to an Irish licence. You may also be inelligible to renew your licence in the UK as you are no longer resident there.

Actually it turns out I am wrong. According to Article 1(2) of Directive 91/439/EEC you are not obliged to exchange your licence.

But you still may be ineligible to renew your UK one depending on their rules.