Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

woodcock

• 16-11-2011 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

anyone bag any woodcock yet? seen a couple on sunday when out after pheasants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭hughmace

Met 3 shot 1 !!
    About average for me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

Have bagged 19 so far but they aren't in right yet. For I have been out often and no the numbers aren't there yet just wait for the colder weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

ferrete wrote: »
    Have bagged 19 so far but they aren't in right yet. For I have been out often and no the numbers aren't there yet just wait for the colder weather

Very impressed where are you based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

ferrete wrote: »

Yep - like here, most of Europe has had a record warm autumn which means migrant woodcock are not on the move yet. Probably take a few more weeks yet for them to start arriving here in numbers, assuming winter will arrive at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bamanlou

ive met 8 and shot 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

saw 1 shot 1 only been out twice doh be out all day this sunday giving it hell 4 leather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 stevieboy

got 1 last thing sunday evening,met about 6 over the weekend,fired at 2 and got one.will be after them from now on and leave the pheasnts alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

got a shot at one , hes in the fridge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

got a shot at one , hes in the fridge :D

Hope you didn't shoot him in the fridge...lol,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Seen 2. They aren't in yet.
    Need colder weather. The later the better- I have no time off work to Jan!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

shot 0 ,seen none, just waiting for them arrive, just shot my first mini jetfighter( snipe):D:D last wkend twisty,tricky feckers!!:D still on a high,tried sevearl time to nail one, would love to try for a woodcock:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

ya got one the monday (which i must breast later),starting to see a few more around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

quick question lads would woodcock be in cover like a phesant or open ground like a snipe? ,generally speaking now.and with a pointer that is good on phesant should he hunt woodcock too????

ya it should point them.i usually find them in light bushes/trees though you will find them in heavy cover or open ground at times. (a good frosty morning iv often found them out in the open)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I've seen fifteen. Two about three weeks ago and the rest last weekend. Shot two so far. They are definitely in, traditionally this weekend is when we would normally see the first influx of them, so for us they are quite early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

lots about here. the missus was out training her springer yesterday and the dog picked up a woodcock it was uninjured, just tired i'd say she put it back in the ditch bottom and it was gone an hour later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

charlie10 wrote: »
    quick question lads would woodcock be in cover like a phesant or open ground like a snipe? ,generally speaking now.and with a pointer that is good on phesant should he hunt woodcock too????

My fella will find, pause & flush them. Rarely points them & hates retrieving them. Must be the fiddly feathers or somethin. Usually meet them in boggy areas at the foot of trees, often holly, with water nearby.
    Great shooting. Best of the lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

My fella will find, pause & flush them. Rarely points them & hates retrieving them. Must be the fiddly feathers or somethin. Usually meet them in boggy areas at the foot of trees, often holly, with water nearby.
    Great shooting. Best of the lot
    My gsp bitch does the exact same and hates retrieving them too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ya i know some good spots that should hold a few so !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Got 1st woodcock of the season today. Way too warm yet. Was weird walking around in glaring sun sweatin like a pig meeting them. It was roasting today!
    Not the same as frosty days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭snipeface

Seen 1st one today, didn't even get the gun up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

snipeface wrote: »
    Seen 1st one today, didn't even get the gun up.
    Same as, seen the first one this afternoon. Was too busy wondering what it was until it was out of range. I was hunting pheasents and when it dawned on me what it was, I thought " oh yea" but too late to fire.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Put up 8 today and shot 2, they are in great condition, put up 2 yesterday.

they are really in now.went in to check out a spot and once my springer got going she flushed 15 in an hour, and 5 pheasant too. my friend has a gp and she will sit rock steady on woodcock lads so i dont know why yer pointers are flushing,they take their notions i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭hughmace

garyc007 wrote: »
    they are really in now.went in to check out a spot and once my springer got going she flushed 15 in an hour, and 5 pheasant too. my friend has a gp and she will sit rock steady on woodcock lads so i dont know why yer pointers are flushing,they take their notions i suppose

What part of the country ru in?
    Wasn't out the week end trialing instead
    Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I was out earlier with my terrier, just having a wander over some nice fox country. Dog disappears into a bush, woodcock rises like a missile, I shoot,I hit, dog decides too see what fresh, raw woodcock tastes like before I get to him, dog still spitting out feathers! LMFAO:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

shot 0 ,seen none, just waiting for them arrive, just shot my first mini jetfighter( snipe):D:D last wkend twisty,tricky feckers!!:D still on a high,tried sevearl time to nail one, would love to try for a woodcock:D

Brill quote Pheasantstalker I am Breaking my backside laughing after you described them little Snipe that way and too true you are there little feckers to get but it makes the day when your out after Pheasants and you get nothing only a couple of shots at a little mini jetfighter thanks enjoyed the laugh.:D:D.

DavyDee wrote: »
    My gsp bitch does the exact same and hates retrieving them too!

i spoke too soon. my springer wouldnt retrieve one for me the other day,kept spittin it out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 AppliedICT

Plenty about today here in County Antrim today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

We met at least 30 last weekend in a few big plantations and shot 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

saw over 30 today beating in Galway, great numbers about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

what is the best way to work a small plantation for woodcock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

got 7 yesterday, put up about 10-15 more mostly hunting plantations and cut-away forestry.. land is awful wet so they seem to be in deep hard to get a crack at them when they are in that deep..

EastTyrone wrote: »

use a good dog lol:D

depends how many of ye is hunting? easiest way would be to try and surround it and one lad go through it and hunt it..

saw over 50 in Galway today, every bit of ground held a bird, sitting very tight though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

tfox wrote: »
    saw over 50 in Galway today, every bit of ground held a bird, sitting very tight though :)

noticed the same yesterday they were very sticky...
    just wondering was it coillte woods that ye were hunting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

EastTyrone wrote: »

As many springers as you can get your hands on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Saw about 7, flushed 4 and shot 1. I lay off the pheasants after christmas and then go after woodcock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

I went out for an hour yesterday on a small plantation met seven shot two was on my own could have done with another lad on the other side of the ditch.they seem to be in both ditches and forestry. Its looking good for the season!!

sniper83 wrote: »
    noticed the same yesterday they were very sticky...
    just wondering was it coillte woods that ye were hunting?

Some of it was woods, found a lot out in light covers on edge of bogs aswell.

2 days solid beating, the dog has barely moved since :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

Myself and pippa the springer beat cover today for two hours flushed fifteen in total from forestry edges with birch and willow trees on the edge of the woods. I shot two.Exciting stuff they were flying out in threes and fours and the odd single one.When you hear the wings breaking out thru the cover its a buzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Pup flushed a woodcock yesterday. So happy - her first flush of proper game.