Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! battery problem

• 16-11-2011 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

Lads I put a new battery in the car 24 hours ago because the car had been sitting up for a while and the old one seemed to be past it. Just went to start it and it's completely dead. It started fine when I fitted it yesterday. I didn't leave the lights on and the car doesn't have an alarm or immobiliser. What the feck??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Need more details. When you say it's completely dead, does the dashboard light up when you turn the key to the first position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭roberto_98

Owen wrote: »
    Need more details. When you say it's completely dead, does the dashboard light up when you turn the key to the first position?

It does just about yeah.Wont turn though. Just a click like it's flat.

There's been a development.:D An interior light was switched on but the light itself wasn't on. Its never worked properly so i leave it switched off but for some reason it was on. Jump started the car and did 2-3 miles in it just now and its starting perfect again. Could the light have drained the battery??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Sure could! Best get that light fixed.;)

i'll keep an eye on it and see how it is tomorrow. ah lads what would i do without ye.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Also, most new batterys need to be charged up properly which happens with a couple of miles driving after they are fitted. If you just fitted it and didn't drive it then it wouldn't have been fully charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭jones 19

bad connection on battery terminals possibly ?

There's been yet another development.... In 5 years of owning this car there's been a light inside the boot that has never ever worked. I assumed a bulb was blown and wasn't too pushed in doing anything to it but in having a quick look around the car today I discovered that it is now stuck on and refuses to go off. There is no switch for it and I don't know what governs it being turned on and off so for now I have taken out the fuse. Funnily enough it's linked into the same circuit as the interior lights which as I said give their own share of trouble. Sooooo....out with the multimeter and it turns out there is no power going to the rear interior light above the back seat. Also the front interior light at the top of the windscreen is only working on one setting (after a quick clean of the contacts it started working properly....happy days). They both flick forward and back with the middle position being "off". I had a look at the wiring diagram for the car and all these lights as well as the cigarette lighter are linked in the same circuit. Cigarette lighter works fine, no obvious fault. The only other thing I noticed was when I was pushing one of the window heater switches it was sticking a bit and the light in the boot would go out for a couple of seconds only to come back on again. So overall I think we're looking at a dodgy earth or something along those lines??????