Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is keeping you watching?

• 16-11-2011 3:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

Sup,
    So all I hear these days from friends and posters is how bad wrestling is. So I want you all to tell me why you're still watching.

For me it's just the weirdos of the industry such as Teddy Hart etc. If I relied on just entertainment from WWE or TNA I know I'd be long gone.

So why are you still watching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Habit I suppose!

I've been watching far too long to just give it up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I guess i'd have to say I keep watching because I don't have a viable alternative. I still love wrestling but i'm sick of the current product. It'd be too depressing for me to list the problems in both WWE and TNA and I'm sure ye know 'em well already! That said, I've stopped watching TNA iMPACT and I might watch SmackDown 1-2 times /month and recently I find RAW's gotten so bad, I'll just fast-forward/watch RAW in half an hour. I do however still listen to wrestling podcasts so I keep up with it.

I'm not interested in indy companies for a multitude of reasons (no weekly show, unacceptable production values, non-engaging storylines/promos/characters to me) and it's the same with Japanese wrestling. So more and more I find myself just watching old wrestling from the 80s and 90s and also wrestling documentaries. (Actually watching Memphis Heat now while i paused to check the computer!)

Wrestling done right is really awesome, and it's the thought of missing out on the next brilliant thing (say Punk's promo 3 weeks before MITB) keeps me coming back at some point.

It's a slow withdrawal for me - If the trend continues, I'll just watch the PPVs and then just the big ones. I feel like i'm at the end of my tether with the uninspired stalling-until-the-ppv, bs-finish-so-fued-continues, post-match beat-downs, meaningless/repetitive stips that are reneged-upon, beat the champion but lose the title match, worked-shoot promo bs etc. Really feels like i've outgrown wrestling since Punk's altruistic pleas proved fruitless post-MITB. I doubt I'll ever shake wrestling fully. I was hooked twice during the Hulkamania and Attitude Era and I'm convinced I'm a lifer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Chibs

I find myself fastforwording alot of it now. i dont know why i still watch it they need a clear out bring back attitude era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

I actually turn off Raw when they start wrestling :)

Im not an avid fan anymore, have not being one in a long time. I keep watching and reading this board to find out how my former heros are doing, are they dead, releasing a book coming to Ireland for whatever reason.

Other things that I love hearing about is ''beef'' who is on talking terms and all the gossip etc

There is no industry like it in the world for slime balls, psychopaths and real life bizzare charecters who are almost every bit interesting offscreen as they are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

I am a mark that has been watching it ever since I can remember, thank you older brothers and I will always watch it.

I remember sitting in my Grannies house on a saturday as a kid watching Baywatch, Knight Rider and then WCW though cant remember in what order. But that is part of it probably as well, it was my childhood etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I've been a fan for many years, so I guess I'm just used to watching it, whether it's bad or good. But also because certain wrestlers keep me interested. Sheamus, Wade Barrett, Christian and CM Punk are the reason I keep watching. You could also add Triple h and Undertaker, even though they're part time, semi-retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

I have given up on WWE totally and rely on these forums to keep me informed of what is going on.

I now only watch TNA which is more my style of show but can be so frustrating sometimes as they seem to be on the edge of a great storyline and manage to feck it up.

But what keeps me watching I suppose it is the hope that TNA might get better and also the great wrestler like Storm and Roode and the x-division plus I dont turn off the TV when the knockouts are on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Nothing at all. I fast forward through raw every week. if it takes me 30 mins, its a good show IMO. Never watch SD or TNA.

I keep abreast of ROH and to a lesser degree PWG, but I could go 3 months without watching a single match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I guess i'd have to say I keep watching because I don't have a viable alternative. I still love wrestling but i'm sick of the current product. It'd be too depressing for me to list the problems in both WWE and TNA and I'm sure ye know 'em well already! That said, I've stopped watching TNA iMPACT and I might watch SmackDown 1-2 times /month and recently I find RAW's gotten so bad, I'll just fast-forward/watch RAW in half an hour. I do however still listen to wrestling podcasts so I keep up with it.

This sums up me lately. I haven't watched TNA at all in a long time and I tend to miss Smackdown as I'm doing other stuff over the weekend. I record Raw (I know I could record Smackdown too...but I don't want to!) and if something starts to bore me I skip it.

I basically keep watching because I have watched since I was 10. Although there have been times where my interested has really waned and I just check online and watch the odd PPV. I think I'm getting to that stage again, although Sky+ does make it easier to just flick through in case something good happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I still get a kick out of being overly tired one monday morning in a month. :pac:
    9 times out of 10 i'll regret it, but i feel im at a level of dedication that surpasses some other 'sports' fans.

Im too far in now to turn back. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Smackdown
    NXT
    Superstars
    PWG
    CHIKARA
    NJPW
    To varying degrees TNA and ROH
    The zillion DVDs of old Wrestling DVDs both commerical and bootleg most of which Ill NEVER have time to watch.

I could go on.

I dont mind Raw. It is a campy entertainment show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I'm going to agree with the people who say habit and fear of missing something.

I've missed one Raw in the last year. It was the CM Punk "shoot". I fear when I miss Raws now.

Honestly though, I find myself losing touch. I now only watch Raw and even then I speed through it. I've stopped buying FSM since I've got the last three in my room unread.

I'd kill for a viable alternative to WWE but there isn't one out there to me. :/ Indy wrestling is too low budget for me, TNA is too infuriating. I've always wanted to get into MMA but don't know when to begin.

I've always wanted to get into MMA but don't know when to begin.

Just watch a show.

This season of the Ultimate Fighter is probably a fun entry point too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭perfectisthe

First time posting anything wrestling related.

I watch because I love the sport of wrestling. I love how every now and again something like CM Punk's MITB entrance happens - a truly incredible organic moment. I watch because I'm a total mark, as has been said before - I'm in too deep now!

I've always wanted to get into MMA but don't know when to begin.

Dont begin with "Im a pro wrestling fan", anyway. :p

True the CM Punk shoot and the MITB match almost makes up for the rest of Raw this year. The Elimination Chamber PPV was awesome as well. As was The Undertaker v HHH. Things like that keep me interested. You have to wade (Barrett:pac:) through a lot of nonsense, but when it is done well wrestling can be fantastic.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I watch WWE because I enjoy it.

PPVs are very good.
    Raw is a good soap opera style show
    Smackdown is a fun wrestling show
    Superstars is a great place to see a 10 minute match.
    NXT I only watch from time to time

I have a simple recipe, record everything so I can fast forward through Cole, Kelly Kelly etc.

before watching leave any pre conceptions of what should or shouldn't happen out of your mind. You will only end up wrong and annoying yourself for no good reason.

don't over analyse whats happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I barely keep up with the newer stuff but have a huge DVD collection that I delve into every once in a while.

I keep trying to get into it but it doesn't hold my interest as much. I am looking forward to the Wrestling Revolution Project though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,469 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Raw is a good soap opera style show

i am glad you enjoy it.

does the lack of sense not annoy you greatly?

i mean, i can live with things not happening as i expect them to. that's fine. as long as it makes sense.

like with most soap operas, you rely on it at least being logical, even when it's a bit ridiculous...

DM-ICE wrote: »
    before watching leave any pre conceptions of what should or shouldn't happen out of your mind. You will only end up wrong and annoying yourself for no good reason.

don't over analyse whats happening.

THIS!
    A few months back i decided that the best way to get enjoyment out of a match is to go back to when you were a kid.
    Who do you want to win the match, who are you backing?

Of course, all of us being ignorant know it all smarks who know nothing about the business means that its hard not to think about who is getting a push or who is being punished, but when your actually sitting and watching a match its a lot easier to enjoy it when you try not to think about that kind of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

I have been a fan for almost 20 years & apart from saying I enjoy watching wrestling I can't give you a reason why I watch. I have even tried my hand at training a couple of times in the last 2 years & that has given me a whole new appreciation for wrestling both as a sport & as a form of entertainment.

To all the smarks I say go to a WWE live event because even if you've been watching wrestling for most of your life you do get caught up in it when it is live.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

SlickRic wrote: »
    i am glad you enjoy it.

i mean, i can live with things not happening as i expect them to. that's fine. as long as it makes sense.

like with most soap operas, you rely on it at least being logical, even when it's a bit ridiculous...

It used to annoy me.

Since I started watching more and more US TV I see illogical, inconsistant writing all the time. British TV usually has maybe 8 episodes in a series while in america the quality is watered down with 15/20+ episodes in a series. So WWE's inconsistencies when they have 52 episodes of RAW a year really doesn't get to me anymore.

Plus I make a real effort not to over analyse it while I watch it. Like CMPunked I started to treat it more like when I was a kid and shout for the goodies and boo the baddies. I find it great craic.

A while back Christian losing all the time would have annoyed me as I respect him as a performer. But now I enjoy seeing him losing all the time as I treat him like a heel not a respected performer.

I don't expect everyone to agree I just have a way I like to watch it.

All that being said if things improved I wouldn't complain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Because I love it.

I think the people saying they don't like the current WWE output (or wrestling in general) are not saying they don't like it because they want all the smark favourites on top all the time. I know that is the case with me anyway. I just want to be entertained. For example, it didn't bother me that Orton beat Christian. I enjoyed the matches and enjoyed Christians hammy reactions. It is just that I'm not really being entertained on a regular basis any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

SlickRic wrote: »
    i am glad you enjoy it.

But things shouldn't happen as it would expect you to...that would be boring. It's supposed to be unexpected and if the WWE are keeping you guessing then that's a good thing. The fact the online community still can't predict what will happen next despite all their analysis is a good thing from the WWE's point of view.

I started watching wrestling again recently (I got Sky Sports for the first time in a few years), not as great as it used to be but the last Raw was fun with the Rock, Mick Foley and Jim Ross all returning...as well as Kevin Nash hanging about. Not so interested in the newer crop...find CM Punk a bit of a cheesy face but the heels are fun....like Del Rio and Christian. Then again, I always preferred the heels.

I find it interesting what goes on backstage but I find all the online commentary by fans odd. The whole community goes up in arms when the "best wrestler" doesn't win. Since when was professional wrestling about who is the best wrestler? Its about entertainment and unpredictable storylines. This was also the case during Hulkamania and the Attitude Era. It was always about the weaker guy finding that last bit of strength to upset the odds and win the match.

If the online community ran a wrestling federation it would be boring and predictable.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I'm just too fond of it I guess. The product is far from the best it's been, but I still hope that it will improve, and that more or less keeps me watching.

The reveal who is behind Nexus and who is the anonymous GM. ;)

I think next week will be the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Goodhelmet keeps me watching.