Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on buying a road bike.

• 15-11-2011 7:53pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭

Alright lads.

I have decided to buy a new bike.
    Last one was a Lapierre RCR100 which I sold just a wee while back with intentions of replacing it, it's come to replace it and I was thinking of buying a road bike.

On the Lapierre I was doing spins of 50/60km pretty regularly and it was grand but the wind resistance from the upright position and the geometry of the frame wasn't really great.
    I loved the bike and it was perfect for getting around the city and the short spins but I;d have hated to go more than I was on it for a the reasons stated above.

I need advice on what to buy now.

I was thinking of a 50/52cm compact, I'm not a small man and have pretty short arms and legs (5'9 and 29" inside leg length) and a long torso so was thinking a smaller frame would be a lot more comoftable.

Anyone have any advice on what would be a good beginners bike to get in or around €500, I'd have a little give on the price but it wouldn't have a ton of money to spend.

Not looking to race or anything just need a bike that would be comfortable for mid-distance spins (anywhere up to 100km) and be good for every day use as a commuter bike.

All advice welcome and appreciated.

Cheers,

Seán.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I think you are supposed to buy a frame size based on your trunk length.
    You can move the saddle up / down to suit leg length, but you can't adjust the handlebar to saddle distance easily (move saddle on its rails, buy a shorter / longer stem.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

How would I got about getting sized for a frame? Is there like a way of measuring people for them or something?

Jaysus lads, don't fall over eachother in the rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

Canyon have a measuring program on their site ,it might give you an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

You may not be getting a huge number if responses because there are plenty of older threads with the answer you are after. Click here for some info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=71979 this is cheap and looks decent. There was a thread on it recently, think someone ended up buying it (might have been coolbeans, don't remember). If you can find it you can probably ask how they found it.

Anywho, for 500e new you're looking at alloy frame, usually a shimano 2300 groupset (although the forme is mircoshift), maybe some low end shimano wheels or else something own brand and either an alloy or very basic carbon fork with alloy steerer.
    Most of the more respected bike brands like trek, specialized, giant etc start around 600e up. Less well known or more budget brands such as forme or maybe merida, claud butler etc should have something closer to 500e, possibly better value.

Alternatively, you could go second hand and get something very decent for 500e, maybe tiagra groupset and/or some decent wheels.
    As regards sizing, there are a few sizing calculators online such as the canyon one mentioned.
    You could also just go to a bike shop and sit on a few bikes, see what feels good and ask them to help you figure out what size you need. Beware though, a lot of shops will be eager to tell you that the bike they have in stock is the one that fits best, so you have to have your wits about you.

For a really in depth approach to finding the right size there are proffessional bike fitters but that's more money again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

Vitus tiagra looks good for the money @ €676, in your size too
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=49201

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Donie75

I have the Elite version of this with 105 and it's very nice http://www.adverts.ie/bikes/specialized-bike/847191
    That one is a lower spec but then you'd have some money to buy upgrades.

Or this is nice http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/bicycles/2647529

Right lads.

More advice.

Like I said above, I am a big lad, and reading more and more stuff on here I am getting the feeling that the auld belly might be a bit of a factor comfort wise.

How much of an impact will being over weight (I'm not obese but I could lose a few kg) have on how comfortable I am on a drop bar bike?

I have just found a really good offer on a Lapierre Audacio 200 (second hand €500) and it's a smallish frame, guy who owns it is 5'7" (viewing it monday to see how it feels) but I also just found a Lapierre Shaper 100 (€399) and Shaper 300 (€599).

Considering I fair a fair bit of training to do before the belly is under control, would you lads recommend going for a flat bar again and then upgrade or just go for it straight away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Sean you will have to try both bike out before you decide which suits best, the straight bars will give you a more upright position on the bike but the drop will give you more hand position which imho is far better .
    if your not into racing or group cycling consider a good touring bike much more relaxed angles on a touring bike making a lovely bike to ride on long distance yes you can buy a light weight touring bike or even audex bike might be better again. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

Seaneh wrote: »
    Right lads.

More advice.

Like I said above, I am a big lad, and reading more and more stuff on here I am getting the feeling that the auld belly might be a bit of a factor comfort wise.

How much of an impact will being over weight (I'm not obese but I could lose a few kg) have on how comfortable I am on a drop bar bike?

I have just found a really good offer on a Lapierre Audacio 200 (second hand €500) and it's a smallish frame, guy who owns it is 5'7" (viewing it monday to see how it feels) but I also just found a Lapierre Shaper 100 (€399) and Shaper 300 (€599).

Considering I fair a fair bit of training to do before the belly is under control, would you lads recommend going for a flat bar again and then upgrade or just go for it straight away?

I presume you are following the flat-bar thread? That discussion is really about the extreme opinion that all flat-bar bikes are the same and next to useless - which, imo, is simply not true. It depends on usage and distance.

If you are happy doing 50/60km then a road bike will be fine. Its not really a drops vs flat-bar issue - it frame geometry, effective top-tube and reach. The shorter the effective top-tube and handlebar reach, the more upright the position is when on the hoods. When you are ploughing into the wind for an hour, you'll appreciate the option to use the drops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

I just bought a lapierre shaper 500 fantastic flatbar bike shimano tiagra front & back only 9.9 kg. plus it looks nice :D

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=45807

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

There are loads of fat cyclists very happy on drop bar bikes.