Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Argos 1985

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Just imagine turning up to a meeting with one of those briefcases, popping it on the table in the midst of ipads and android tabs, and whipping out the Speccy!

Just a few minutes while I load up last months sales figures from this tape I brought....

Pity we don't have the rest of the catalogue, could have looked at the Penny Racers and the Zoids!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Penny Racers and the Zoids!

Flashback! Loved zoids!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Just imagine turning up to a meeting with one of those briefcases, popping it on the table in the midst of ipads and android tabs, and whipping out the Speccy!

Just a few minutes while I load up last months sales figures from this tape I brought....

Pity we don't have the rest of the catalogue, could have looked at the Penny Racers and the Zoids!
    The speccy is an iPad killer anyway
    You can flick through the whole catalogue in that link

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Here, none of your Ipod nonsense either, this is how we rolled in the 80's baby!
    3592618833_00c66bf604.jpg

Wow!
    Needs me a Tardis now!
    3592664355_d95fc01396.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,822 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

My dad still has his original Sony Walkman (bought in early 80s).

Also, I saw some of those Tomy things in one of my lecturer's studies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

'Cathay' haha the Argos special, later bested only by Alba and Saisho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Those things look so cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Have you seen the toy section from 86? Holy sh*t was that a good year for toys:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/sets/72157619081815831/?page=5

My God, I actually remember the cover of that catalog. I think this was the year Argos had that incredible Bush twin cassette deck boom box with 'high speed dubbing'.

I used to leave the pages of the Argos catalog open for the family to see that bad boy and I never got it. Ended up with some Sanyo thing.

Loads of lads at school had the Mad Masher truck. That thing was amazing.

I love how all the keyboards have built in tape recorders on them as well. I'd forgotten about that.

The Spectrum was famous for that. So was the Amstrad to a certain extent.

I'm still coming to terms with the fact that I actually recall collecting that catalog with me Ma in town in 1986. Christ on a bike I am superbly old*. :(

*even older next month.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/3590241309/in/set-72157619081815831

See that football stadium in the middle? I wanted that thing more than anything. Never got it though. A lad at school had it but his house smelled of wee and crisps. You'd hear stories of lads who braved the hefty scent just to have a go on it after school.

Same lad had Cup Final too, the one with two figures and you pressed their foot to kick the ball, I never braved the whiff of piss and potatoes to play either of them.

I did have Atomic Pinball though, well not that particular one. I had Astro Shooter Pinball. Ace game that was.

Pyongyang wrote: »
    The Spectrum was famous for that. So was the Amstrad to a certain extent.

I'm still coming to terms with the fact that I actually recall collecting that catalog with me Ma in town in 1986. Christ on a bike I am superbly old*. :(

*even older next month.

Oh I mean the electric piano Keyboards.

OH MY GOD! THERE IT IS! MY DREAM BOOM BOX! ITEM #13!

I need to find somewhere private and go cry or something. Damn I wanted that stupid thing so much. :(

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/3590196239/in/set-72157619081815831

DinoRex wrote: »
    Oh I mean the electric piano Keyboards.

Ah yes, some of those did have them in. I think they were for demos or something along those lines. This girl at school used to bring one in for 'show and tell' days. When she'd finished playing Obladee Obladaa (same fecking song every time) and we headed out to break, we'd record 15 minutes of 'waves crashing' and polka sounds on top of it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/3590241309/in/set-72157619081815831

See that football stadium in the middle? I wanted that thing more than anything. Never got it though. A lad at school had it but his house smelled of wee and crisps. You'd hear stories of lads who braved the hefty scent just to have a go on it after school.

Same lad had Cup Final too, the one with two figures and you pressed their foot to kick the ball, I never braved the whiff of piss and potatoes to play either of them.

I did have Atomic Pinball though, well not that particular one. I had Astro Shooter Pinball. Ace game that was.

TOMY Supercup Football. I had it. I now don't :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

EnterNow wrote: »
    TOMY Supercup Football. I had it. I now don't :(

I had that too. It was fierce noisy and the odd time one of your little spinny men would whomp the ball out of the stadium to the other side of the bedroom.

You two were truly lucky. I wish I had that game. Ghost Castle was another one I'd have loved to get. The lad who's house smelled of wee and crisps had that game too.

What was the other one he had? Oh yes, Valley Of The Dinosaurs (edit: Which oddly is on the same page as that stadium yoke).

My God, I actually remember the cover of that catalog. I think this was the year Argos had that incredible Bush twin cassette deck boom box with 'high speed dubbing'.

I used to leave the pages of the Argos catalog open for the family to see that bad boy and I never got it. Ended up with some Sanyo thing.

Loads of lads at school had the Mad Masher truck. That thing was amazing.

I had that bad boy:eek:

I remember the 1st argos opening in Ireland

Do you still have it? I'd actually buy it off you just to fulfill a dream!

... The Bush boom box that is.

Do you still have it? I'd actually buy it off you just to fulfill a dream!

... The Bush boom box that is.
    Oh no, it's well well gone and buried in a landfill somewhere.
    The tape doors were missing from the front last time I saw it in the attic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

DinoRex wrote: »
    Have you seen the toy section from 86? Holy sh*t was that a good year for toys:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/sets/72157619081815831/?page=5

I had a couple of toys in that catalogue, I remember the next door neighbour having a thundercats sword!

Oh no, it's well well gone and buried in a landfill somewhere.
    The tape doors were missing from the front last time I saw it in the attic

No way! You seriously had that stereo? WOW! I bet you felt like you were the luckiest person on Earth!

Seriously, stuff comes and goes but I still remember that bloody thing and how much I wanted it from a catalog that's nearly 26 years old. :(

You are such lightweights!
    This is what I wanted for my Run DMC, Public Enemy, New Order and 808 State to play on,
    ghetto+blaster+2.jpg

and what I want now, the 21st century version!
    ipod+ghetto+blaster.jpg
    Check out the ipod dock where the tape deck used to be!

That's pretty awesome but doesn't even compare to the Bush masterpiece!