Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bolt and Pearson $100,000 richer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Delighted for Sally. Thoroughly deserved award for a fantastic athlete.

No way Bolt deserved that award though based on his 2011 performances. The media hooplah over Bolt is a bit hard to take at times. Blake won a world title and has run faster than Bolt over 200m this year. Bolt hasnt even been the best sprinter of 2011, not to mention best athlete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Pretty much amazed that Vivian Cheruiyot did not win the womens title.

Not sure what could be better than winning the World Cross Country, 2 World Champ titles and going unbeaten on the track.

Pretty much amazed that Vivian Cheruiyot did not win the womens title.

Not sure what could be better than winning the World Cross Country, 2 World Champ titles and going unbeaten on the track.

I suppose the 12.28 by Pearson had a lot to do with it. Had she won the gold in say 12.4x or 12.5x then maybe she wouldn't have won the award. But she has absolutely dominated what was seen as one of the most competitive events in the sport, and won every single race, with the exception of the last one in Brussels when she fell (when miles ahead).

12.28 is the fastest legit time in history in most peoples opinions, and if it wasn't for some seriously dodgey going-ons in Eastern Europe in the 80's then we'd be celebrating a world record by Pearson.

Deserving winner IMO.

2 golds > 1 gold in my opinion.

Even Pearson herself was surprised that she won.

2 golds > 1 gold in my opinion.

Even Pearson herself was surprised that she won.

Perhaps, but Pearson competes in an event that is quite specialised. Granted you do see people attempt the 100m/100m Hurdles double from time to time, still by and large you do not see many hurdlers attempt any other events in a major championships.

The likes of Blanca Vlasic, Andreas Thorkildson, Liu Xiang etc etc will only ever get one chance at winning a gold medal in a major championships because they are in a very specialist event. On the other hand the 5000m and 10000m are essentially the same thing (just one being longer) so it is much easier to attempt a double, especially in this day and age where there is no longer any 10000m heats. So for these reasons I'm not sure whether the number of gold medals won is a clear cut method of deciding who should win the award. I'm sure if there was a Standing High Jump event aswell as a regular high jump event then you'd see Blanca Vlasic winning double gold over the last few years. Maybe if we had a 200m hurdles event then Pearson would have walked away with double gold.

Also the scheduling quite often doesnt even allow somebody to attempt double gold in their 2 favourite events (200 and 400 have clashed over the years, 1500m and 5000m clashed this year in Daegu). Also doing a 100/200 double is probably easier than doing a 400/200 double, and so on and so forth.

And the World Cross Country gold shouldn't be a deciding factor either. I'm sure if there was cross-country sprint hurdles, then Pearson would have another gold to her collection...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

It's not just her 3 World titles (In my opinion World XC is harder to win than any track event simply because its a unified distance) which merit the award

If you were to have a sprint XC try combining 100m, 200m, 400m and hurdlers in one field and see how she would fair.

She performed both as a championship runner and a Time Trialist with her run in Stockholm effectively being a solo run and still running the 3rd fastest 5k of all time (14.20).

Remember though super performances one of her major rivals was out this season giving birth (Lopez-schleip)
    had she raced this year it could have been a very different story

ecoli wrote: »
    Remember though super performances one of her major rivals was out this season giving birth (Lopez-schleip)
    had she raced this year it could have been a very different story

She won in 12.28! Had she won in 12.48 then you could make that argument, but 12.TWENTY.EIGHT! Nobody in recent times has come within an asses roar of that. No reason to assume that Priscilla would have.

If you were to have a sprint XC try combining 100m, 200m, 400m and hurdlers in one field and see how she would fair.

There's a much bigger difference between the 100m, the 400m, the sprint hurdles and the long hurdles, than there is a difference between 5000m and 10000m. With the distance running, if you are world class at one, then more than likely you will be world class at the other. Not the same with sprints and hurdles. Just because Bolt is a world class 100m runner doesnt mean he'd be world class at 400m Hurdles. But any world class athlete over 5000m will be right up there in the thick of things in a 10000m championship race (barring the odd exceptions).

04072511 wrote: »
    There's a much bigger difference between the 100m, the 400m, the sprint hurdles and the long hurdles, than there is a difference between 5000m and 10000m. With the distance running, if you are world class at one, then more than likely you will be world class at the other. Not the same with sprints and hurdles. Just because Bolt is a world class 100m runner doesnt mean he'd be world class at 400m Hurdles. But any world class athlete over 5000m will be right up there in the thick of things in a 10000m championship race (barring the odd exceptions).

Not as clear cut as you think few who spring to mind who have not transitioned well between the two

Bob Kennedy
    Sammy Wanjiru
    Galen Rupp (So far anyway)
    Leonard Komon
    Bernard Lagat

My point is not that you can transition easier in sprints but rather that is a bit unfair to say that if there was a cross country equivalent she would win. She is world class in her specialised event however that doesnt automatically mean this would transfer. If you look to cross you have S/C runners, 5k runners, 10k, runners and HM runners all in the same field. Even previous when the short course was a part you would also include more middle distance runners

To disregard XC is pretty disrespectful to actually how hard that XC is which is one of the reasons Bekele easily surpassed Geb in terms of being crowned possible greatest distance runner of all time

Not intending to be disrespectful towards cross country. I know full well how difficult it is to win a World XC title (I think Sonia's double in 1998 is possibly her greatest achievement), given the fact there are 6 from each country, rather than 3 in the Olympics (or is it 9 now?).

What I was trying to say is that distance runners get more opportunities at winning world titles than say hurdlers, or high jumpers, and that because of that it is not fair to use the cross country as a deciding factor, when most athletes in the world dont have such a competition to boost their medal tally (there is the indoor champs, but unlike World Cross Country they dont attract all of the world's best and so the credibility gained from winning ones of those isn't as high).

Seems to be alot of discussion about the topic

http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/sports/InsidePage.php?id=2000046658&cid=39&story=Was%20Vivian%20cheated?

(Kenyan so expect some bias)

Sums up achievements this year WL in 3000m, WL and 3rd all time 5000m (A Kenya NR to which is hard to come by in distance), World XC champion, World 5000m/10000m Champion personally to me Pearsons achievements though incredible don't compare

Any other year that would have won but I guess there seemed to be some sprinting Bias also this year (Farah I would have thought was a strong contender for the male one also)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I don't think Bolt deserved it this season either. He ran more or less ok but nothing special. I'd have thought someone like Mo Farah, or David Rudisha or Geoffrey Mutai might have deserved it more.

BTW, Bolt is planning to run the 4 x 400m relay in London

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/athletics/default.stm

Sums up achievements this year WL in 3000m, WL and 3rd all time 5000m (A Kenya NR to which is hard to come by in distance), World XC champion, World 5000m/10000m Champion personally to me Pearsons achievements though incredible don't compare

Any other year that would have won but I guess there seemed to be some sprinting Bias also this year

Disagree hugely with all of this. Pearson is a sprint hurdler. As a sprint hurdler she can only compete in one event. Just one. Vivian Cheryuiot is a distance runner and so can compete in several events: 3000m (Non championship event), 5000m, 10000m, and Cross Country. This increases her chances of success hugely.

May I ask what would Pearson have to do for her achievements to compare? I mean she showed overwhelming dominance in her event, won a World title, and ran the fastest non-communist Eastern European time in history.

You could also look at it the other way. Cheryuiot knew going into the championships that she had 2 chances at winning gold. That takes away the pressure slightly. Pearson had one chance. The pressure was huge, and she nailed it. Possibly the greatest female sprint hurdler of all time technically.

I think there may be distance running bias here to be honest :)

Quite possibly one of the worst articles I have ever read. The bias is one thing, but the belittling of Pearson is a joke. And they cant even get their facts right.

On the other hand Pearson only boasts of the 100m-world title having also run the fourth fastest time.

But to be fair, what the hell would Kenyans know about hurdles!

Mark Wind Athlete Nation DOB Pos Venue Date
    12.28 1.1 Sally Pearson AUS 19/09/1986 1 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.36 0.3 Sally Pearson 1sf2 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.47 1.1 Danielle Carruthers USA 22/12/1979 2 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.47 1.1 Dawn Harper USA 13/05/1984 3 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.48 0.7 Sally Pearson 1 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.50 1.8 Kellie Wells USA 16/07/1982 1 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011
    12.51 0.9 Sally Pearson 1 Monaco 22/07/2011
    12.52 0.7 Danielle Carruthers 2 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.52 0.2 Sally Pearson 1 Zürich 08/09/2011
    12.53 -0.6 Sally Pearson 1h2 Daegu 02/09/2011
    12.55 -0.6 Sally Pearson 1h1 London (CP) 06/08/2011
    12.56 0.7 Tiffany Porter GBR 13/11/1987 1sf3 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.57 1.9 Sally Pearson 1h1 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.58 1.3 Kellie Wells 1 Doha 06/05/2011
    12.58 1.2 Dawn Harper 1sf3 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011
    12.58 0.9 Kellie Wells 2 Monaco 22/07/2011
    12.58 -0.4 Sally Pearson 1 London (CP) 06/08/2011
    12.59 1.8 Danielle Carruthers 2 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011

Disagree hugely with all of this. Pearson is a sprint hurdler. As a sprint hurdler she can only compete in one event. Just one. Vivian Cheryuiot is a distance runner and so can compete in several events: 3000m (Non championship event), 5000m, 10000m, and Cross Country. This increases her chances of success hugely.

May I ask what would Pearson have to do for her achievements to compare? I mean she showed overwhelming dominance in her event, won a World title, and ran the fastest non-communist Eastern European time in history.

You could also look at it the other way. Cheryuiot knew going into the championships that she had 2 chances at winning gold. That takes away the pressure slightly. Pearson had one chance. The pressure was huge, and she nailed it. Possibly the greatest female sprint hurdler of all time technically.

I think there may be distance running bias here to be honest :)

Again my distance background you could even look to Cheryuiot's Diamond League performances its not just her medals this is based on.

5000m 15.05 Shanghai Samsung Diamond League 14:31.92 1st
    5000m 03.06 Eugene Prefontaine Classic 14:33.96 1st
    10,000m 15.07 Nairobi Kenyan Ch. 31:55.8 1st
    5000m 29.07 Stockholm DN Galan 14:20.87 1st
    10,000m 27.08 Daegu IAAF World Championships 30:48.98 1st
    5000m 02.09 Daegu IAAF World Championships 14:55.36 1st
    5000m 08.09 Zürich Weltklasse 14:30.10 1st

This is not taking into account her World XC or WL @ 3000m indoor

In terms of the Double this is only the second time this has ever been done at worlds by a female so that should show you its not as easy as you think.

She went the whole season undefeated over all distances (XC, 3000, 5000 and 10,000) (14 in total)

Its not simply good performances or medals that make her favourite in my eyes its simply she dominated the sport (not just the event) this year

Mark Wind Athlete Nation DOB Pos Venue Date
    12.28 1.1 Sally Pearson AUS 19/09/1986 1 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.36 0.3 Sally Pearson 1sf2 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.47 1.1 Danielle Carruthers USA 22/12/1979 2 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.47 1.1 Dawn Harper USA 13/05/1984 3 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.48 0.7 Sally Pearson 1 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.50 1.8 Kellie Wells USA 16/07/1982 1 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011
    12.51 0.9 Sally Pearson 1 Monaco 22/07/2011
    12.52 0.7 Danielle Carruthers 2 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.52 0.2 Sally Pearson 1 Zürich 08/09/2011
    12.53 -0.6 Sally Pearson 1h2 Daegu 02/09/2011
    12.55 -0.6 Sally Pearson 1h1 London (CP) 06/08/2011
    12.56 0.7 Tiffany Porter GBR 13/11/1987 1sf3 Daegu 03/09/2011
    12.57 1.9 Sally Pearson 1h1 Birmingham 10/07/2011
    12.58 1.3 Kellie Wells 1 Doha 06/05/2011
    12.58 1.2 Dawn Harper 1sf3 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011
    12.58 0.9 Kellie Wells 2 Monaco 22/07/2011
    12.58 -0.4 Sally Pearson 1 London (CP) 06/08/2011
    12.59 1.8 Danielle Carruthers 2 Eugene, OR 26/06/2011

In terms of times also she ran the following

5k: 1st, 3rd and 6th fastest times of the year (not including her 14.55 to win at worlds
    10k: 3rd and 11th fastest times of the year

In terms of the Double this is only the second time this has ever been done at worlds by a female so that should show you its not as easy as you think.

I don't think it is easy at all, and she is an exceptional athlete. But certain disciplines in athletics offer more chances of success. Distance running tends to offer an athlete 2 chances at a gold medal (with a cross country world championships on top of that). Similarly a 100/200 sprinter also has more chances of winning gold medals. A high jumper, sprint hurdler, hammer thrower etc only have one chance. In their discipline there is only one event. What more can Pearson do than dominate the only event that is in her discipline (sprint hurdles)?

If there was a 200m hurdles like I said earlier then we quite possible could be seeing her win that aswell, but there isn't such an event. Therefore for Pearson to match Vivian in your eyes she would have to excel in 2 different disciplines (say 100m flat sprinting and the sprint hurdles). This is something that has been done almost never.

What would somebody like Dayron Robles have to do to match Bekele winning 2 gold's for example? What would Anna Chicherova have to do to match Cheryuiot? Both these athletes only have one event within their discipline. Vivian has a few.

I don't think it is easy at all, and she is an exceptional athlete. But certain disciplines in athletics offer more chances of success. Distance running tends to offer an athlete 2 chances at a gold medal (with a cross country world championships on top of that). Similarly a 100/200 sprinter also has more chances of winning gold medals. A high jumper, sprint hurdler, hammer thrower etc only have one chance. In their discipline there is only one event. What more can Pearson do than dominate the only event that is in her discipline (sprint hurdles)?

If there was a 200m hurdles like I said earlier then we quite possible could be seeing her win that aswell, but there isn't such an event. Therefore for Pearson to match Vivian in your eyes she would have to excel in 2 different disciplines (say 100m flat sprinting and the sprint hurdles). This is something that has been done almost never.

What would somebody like Dayron Robles have to do to match Bekele winning 2 gold's for example? What would Anna Chicherova have to do to match Cheryuiot? Both these athletes only have one event within their discipline. Vivian has a few.

As I said its not about the multiple medals or fast times over both but just lining up all the factors

Number of defeats: Cheryiout has one less than Pearson (ie more dominant)
    Number of medals: Cheryiout has more
    Times in comparison to WR: Cheryiout's time ranked 3rd All time woman (Pearson 4th)
    Number of races won: Cheryiout has more this year

I am not saying these are why she should win but simply putting all the info up to help try and understand why many people feel that she was a shoe in as no matter what way you look at it (4 points being just handful of angles) Cheryiout seemed to get one up on Pearson

In terms of what Pearson achieved. It was great and i think that any other year she should have one hands down but Vivian had effectively the perfect season and I think the only thing Pearson could have done to outshine that was a WR. Harsh i know but these are probably two of the 3 best seasons of all time (Would put Jelimo's in 2008 up there to) and it is somewhat of a treat that we got two of them in the same year.

My point is not to say that Pearson's season has been nothing but spectacular but simply that we have been spoiled for choice in terms of what was achieved this year

Number of defeats: Cheryiout has one less than Pearson (ie more dominant)to be fair, she fell in the last race while winning by a country mile. Her fault of course.
    Number of medals: Cheryiout has moreagain, this is due to the nature of the 2 disciplines
    Times in comparison to WR: Cheryiout's time ranked 3rd All time woman (Pearson 4th)In most people's eyes 12.28 by Pearson is the World Record. Also the women's 5000m has only been going really since the mid 90's, so there are no dodgey Eastern Europeans wrecking the all-time list of that event
    Number of races won: Cheryiout has more this yearI'll concede this one, but there's only so many hurdles races you can run in one year. They aren't on every Diamond League program. There is usually something for Vivian each day though

Again not my personal opinion just some of the possible angles which someone could take.

The fall was unfortunate however it becomes the deciding factor in what would have been a perfect season. Results sheets usually dont put up "was winning but fell" later when the stats are dug up from the archive

Agree with your point on the DL rotating 5000/10000 but a counter argument to that can be recovery period needed between distances races compared to sprints (allowing to pursue World athletics tour meets etc) also the fact that Pearson started her season very early (AUS season) would counter any advantage VC had in terms of racing calendar being longer

As I said before this year in my opinion two of the greatest seasons by female athletes of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

She went the whole season undefeated over all distances (XC, 3000, 5000 and 10,000) (14 in total)

She lost the Kenyan cross country championships to Linet Masai.

ss43 wrote: »
    She lost the Kenyan cross country championships to Linet Masai.

Cheers overlooked the Kenyan Trials:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

It was nip and tuck between Pearson and Cheruiyot, my personal choice would have been slightly leaning towards Sally Pearson, as the 100m Hurdles is an amazingly technical event and to dominate it in this fashion has been almost unheard of, sure some greats of the past were clear favourites in the women's sprint hurdles in seasons gone by, but not to the extent that Pearson has obliterated the opposition this year and this in an event that has many outstanding athletes at the moment. Vivian has been invincible also, and as ecoli says, if it was any other season, then either of these two women would be odds on for the award. However, I'm surprised Bolt won the men's award, would've picked David Rudisha myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

loving this debate lads.Even though im a distance man I have to agree with 04072511 here as Pearson was outstanding.
    lose call but in such a technical event she was pure class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Pearson has so much cross-over in the athletics community, this counts for something. Many are turned off by African dominance in distance running. Kind of like DCU dominance in varsity, it's more big news when they lose! Pearson's event is exciting, something the IAAF would probably like to encourage as opposed to a train of Africans in a distance race.

Sports on a downward curve have tried to re-invent themselves, make them more appealing. The Cricket 20-20 effect, IAAF probably are attempting this to make the sport more TV frendly, the false start, less qualifiers, less attempts in the field. An exciting sprinter would always get the vote.

Ecoli - the point regarding cross and it being the meeting of the greats across many events give the winner of that the edge, should we not then give the AOY to the decathlete and heptathlete each year, after all that event is designed to find the athlete with the greatest talent across as many events as possible.

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    Pearson has so much cross-over in the athletics community, this counts for something. Many are turned off by African dominance in distance running. Kind of like DCU dominance in varsity, it's more big news when they lose! Pearson's event is exciting, something the IAAF would probably like to encourage as opposed to a train of Africans in a distance race.

Sports on a downward curve have tried to re-invent themselves, make them more appealing. The Cricket 20-20 effect, IAAF probably are attempting this to make the sport more TV frendly, the false start, less qualifiers, less attempts in the field. An exciting sprinter would always get the vote.

That makes alot of sense actually in terms of marketability and would expelain Bolt getting the male award also considering his marketability (doubt Sky sports would have even mentioned it had it been anyone but Bolt who won)
    Ecoli - the point regarding cross and it being the meeting of the greats across many events give the winner of that the edge, should we not then give the AOY to the decathlete and heptathlete each year, after all that event is designed to find the athlete with the greatest talent across as many events as possible.

In terms of comparing cross to the multi events. Is Hep/Dec actually more inclusive of wider range of competitors? To me the Multi events are actually probably the most specialised events in the whole programme. All you would have to do is look at any national championships results sheets to compare participation levels and I would be surprised if you found many countries where there was a higher participation than many of the track distance events let alone cross (maybe I am wrong here however)

I agree with a lot of this reasoning. Marketing is a key factor.

I would summarise it by saying: Pearson is white, speaks word perfect English and competes in a discipline that is so short, it can hold people's attention.

I agree with a lot of this reasoning. Marketing is a key factor.

I would summarise it by saying: Pearson is white, speaks word perfect English and competes in a discipline that is so short, it can hold people's attention.

Not really a valid point given that Mesesret Defar won the award a number of seasons ago....Pearson is a worthy winner.

Dan man wrote: »
    Not really a valid point given that Mesesret Defar won the award a number of seasons ago....Pearson is a worthy winner.

I'm not sure how Defars win is relevant.

Pearson is a worthy winner, she had a superb season. We are talking about one of the top 3 athletes of the year (along with Valerie Adams). She is just not the worthiest in my opinion.

When it comes down to a close call, i suggest marketability counted ahead of pure achievement.

AW article here about both awards. A lightly less biased publication than the Kenyan daily! His summary quote below sums up my opinion more eloquently than I have done so myself.

http://www.athleticsweekly.com/blog/iaaf-athlete-of-the-year-awards-in-danger-of-becoming-popularity-contest/
    I should add that I have nothing whatsoever against Bolt and Pearson. They are in fact two of my favourite athletes and both had superb seasons this year. But I can’t help but feel that this is yet another year in which an athlete who is slightly more deserving has missed out.

I'm not sure how Defars win is relevant.

Pearson is a worthy winner, she had a superb season. We are talking about one of the top 3 athletes of the year (along with Valerie Adams). She is just not the worthiest in my opinion.

When it comes down to a close call, i suggest marketability counted ahead of pure achievement.

AW article here about both awards. A lightly less biased publication than the Kenyan daily! His summary quote below sums up my opinion more eloquently than I have done so myself.

http://www.athleticsweekly.com/blog/iaaf-athlete-of-the-year-awards-in-danger-of-becoming-popularity-contest/

I have no problem with anyone who feels Cheruiyot should have won, both she and Pearson were exceptional and there is a good argument to be made for either athlete, but I think it's very harsh to suggest that Pearson nicked the award because she is a white English speaking sprinter. She won because there was an amazing argument to be made in her favour. Can't understand why anyone would begrudge her the award, and people suggesting that she won for marketing purposes is in my opinion begrudgery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Not marketing, PR. I was glad she won. Glad for her, her coach and all the short hurdlers trying to beat the North Americans and Jamaicans. Great to see.

PR is a factor though. She stands out more. She gets more publicity. It's a 'cooler' event. She is easily distinguishable in a 100H race.

She deserved to win but it's made easier to pick her due to her circumstances. She seems really nice, nobody begrudges her win apart from the odd diehard muckaa.