Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What made you want to go to Maynooth?

• 12-11-2011 7:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hey, I'm a 5th yr student , thinking about colleges etc.. I've been to UCC, UL, NUIG and Trinity, and I didn't really like any of them... I have Maynooth In my head though for the past year, even though I've never been there or anything... Just read the prospectus, over and over again...I have no idea why :) but I'm just wondering for Maynooth students out there... What made you want to go to Maynooth? I'm going to them open day in two week, and I'm hoping I love it! I'm friends can't understand why I would want to go there, and I can't even say why. Any info/advice on Maynooth? :) Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Maynooth had a degree in my area of interest and was really close. Never went to any open days.

It worked out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

It had the lowest points :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

My friends were there. Btw I cant believe how many colleges you've already been to!:eek:

I dunno I wouldnt expect it to be way better than the others really. I'd say UL, NUIG and NUIM would be similarish from the way others have described it to me.

Trinity wouldnt be for me though. I suppose Maynooth is a friendly enough place, but I've had alot of trouble with accommodation which I didnt expect and its stressful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

When I was in second year, I saw they had a swimming pool and became set on it <_<

Then in fifth year, I went to the open days; I felt UCD was too big and immpersonal, while Maynooth was such a nice place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 amy..

DB10 wrote: »
    My friends were there. Btw I cant believe how many colleges you've already been to!:eek:

I dunno I wouldnt expect it to be way better than the others really. I'd say UL, NUIG and NUIM would be similarish from the way others have described it to me.

Trinity wouldnt be for me though. I suppose Maynooth is a friendly enough place, but I've had alot of trouble with accommodation which I didnt expect and its stressful.
    Well, the only actual open day was UCC and UL, the other two were just becuase I was doing stuff there etc, not actual open days, but I still got the feel of the places. See, thats what I'm afraid of, that I have it built up to highly in my head for absolutely no reason at all :D Yeah, Trinity was too impersonal or something.. and I've heard UCD is fulll of D4s and cliques.. but I don't really like Dublin anyway...
    Trouble with accomdation? Could you expand on this please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mischiefman

Hey Amie,
    I can say from experience, Maynooth is a fantastic place. Positives are New College Restaurant-Phoenix- Great place to meet etc./Great nights out (Mantra Mondays/Bradys Wednesdays/Roost Thrusdays) both in town and the city just a Train or bus down the road/New Library(basically) by the time you get through LC- Its currently under consruction- i believe it'll be one of the biggest in Ireland- Someone can call me on that if they wish- not too sure but it'll be BIG and SHINY for sure! If there's one thing maynooth has had going for it its that its friendly- from staff(open door policy) to students. The open door policy im talking about is that you can sit in a lecture theatre with a 200 hundred students- not understand a thing in the lecture(hope not)- then waltz into their respective office/department(they'll telll you their dept/toom no.) and ask for help- 1 to 1. Friendliness is a big one alright in maynooth. Negatives in my opinion are- Not a great deal of good Clubs/Socs- maynooth is the smallest uni in ireland but its got a BIG heart, and its Growing faster than any other...because there's a relatively smallish population of student- not a whole lot of money goes in2 various clubs and soc- some does! just not a whole lot...this leads to a handful of good clubs/societies and on the majority a lot of smaller crappy socs- but ill reemphasize that the place is growing and expanding every year. Also the town is yours to make your own fun in. Frankly , i've rarely taken part in a soc, and ive still had a blast. I'll kinda agree about accomodation and its tricky but if you get a house with some mates, the craic is limitless(just get ahead of the population-look early-deposit down early etc. Check the residence office on the NUI website- or email them is better- because its local access only(you have to use the internet on campus to gain access)- email the R.O and they'll send along the forthcoming list of houses for sept 2014 i think is if/when you'd be coming in. Oh and to add to the friendly bit ive been in maynooth for 2 years and I haven't seen 1 fight, yeah there's the drunken brawl between two eejits on the rare occasion but for the greater part its absolutely fine. I hope this helps- and as for getting here, for the most part points are average, so it should be handy enough- then again there are the High Pointers like Maths Theoretical physics/Science Education etc...either of which ive seen 1st year general science students hop into after 1st/beginning of second year.
    Best of Luck! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 amy..

Hey Amie,
    I can say from experience, Maynooth is a fantastic place. Positives are New College Restaurant-Phoenix- Great place to meet etc./Great nights out (Mantra Mondays/Bradys Wednesdays/Roost Thrusdays) both in town and the city just a Train or bus down the road/New Library(basically) by the time you get through LC- Its currently under consruction- i believe it'll be one of the biggest in Ireland- Someone can call me on that if they wish- not too sure but it'll be BIG and SHINY for sure! If there's one thing maynooth has had going for it its that its friendly- from staff(open door policy) to students. The open door policy im talking about is that you can sit in a lecture theatre with a 200 hundred students- not understand a thing in the lecture(hope not)- then waltz into their respective office/department(they'll telll you their dept/toom no.) and ask for help- 1 to 1. Friendliness is a big one alright in maynooth. Negatives in my opinion are- Not a great deal of good Clubs/Socs- maynooth is the smallest uni in ireland but its got a BIG heart, and its Growing faster than any other...because there's a relatively smallish population of student- not a whole lot of money goes in2 various clubs and soc- some does! just not a whole lot...this leads to a handful of good clubs/societies and on the majority a lot of smaller crappy socs- but ill reemphasize that the place is growing and expanding every year. Also the town is yours to make your own fun in. Frankly , i've rarely taken part in a soc, and ive still had a blast. I'll kinda agree about accomodation and its tricky but if you get a house with some mates, the craic is limitless(just get ahead of the population-look early-deposit down early etc. Check the residence office on the NUI website- or email them is better- because its local access only(you have to use the internet on campus to gain access)- email the R.O and they'll send along the forthcoming list of houses for sept 2014 i think is if/when you'd be coming in. Oh and to add to the friendly bit ive been in maynooth for 2 years and I haven't seen 1 fight, yeah there's the drunken brawl between two eejits on the rare occasion but for the greater part its absolutely fine. I hope this helps- and as for getting here, for the most part points are average, so it should be handy enough- then again there are the High Pointers like Maths Theoretical physics/Science Education etc...either of which ive seen 1st year general science students hop into after 1st/beginning of second year.
    Best of Luck! :D
    Wow, thanks for the detail, really appreciate it :) it's those kind of things you just don't get on the prospectus ;) it sounds like my kind of place, personal and friendly :D

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I agree with mischief mans post. Just on the point on accommodation I mentioned, I feel anyway that on campus isnt for everyone. Now I have most on my friends on there and they like it, and it may just have been the apartments I was in, but I just could not settle there, the noise really was something else. Alot of people have absolutely no respect for other students living near with regards making noise.

And I know people will say crappy apartments are irrelevant, it helps you bond more with housemates etc. That may be true in some cases but not in all!

And again I would say the campus apartments are overpriced and certain ones are ****eholes, the same as some houses. The difference can be in paying the massive lump sum for the apartments before you even get a look at the place.

The good thing about it though is you will make plenty of friends I would say. Most people are very friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

My auntie works there and talked it up to me endlessly :) so I went to the open day, and the whole place was amazing; the scenery and the walk through the grounds being the major highlights.

Also, I wanted to study music, and Maynooth is renowned nationwide for its music course: it has the best music course in the country! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

I'd never really heard about NUIM until the career guidance teacher suggested I should look it up (he'd studied here and loved it). I didn't want to go to Galway or the IT at home, and there happened to be a media course here so I applied and now have been here for nearly 5 years :P doing arts though, because I didn't get the points for media.
    Maynooth really is a great place! There are so many friendly people, and it's nice and small. You have Dublin a half an hour away too if you want to shop or whatever. I really have loved my time here :)

@ mischiefman - I know you're speaking from your experience, but I just want to point out that there are a lot of great clubs and socs in Maynooth. Maybe you just haven't found one you like yet :) They are a great way to get to know people and to get involved in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

amy.. wrote: »
    Yeah, Trinity was too impersonal or something.. and I've heard UCD is fulll of D4s and cliques.. but I don't really like Dublin anyway...

OP I love Maynooth. First year Psychology through Arts student and so far most of my lecturers are good, some obviously not as great as others but its still good enough to allow me to settle in.

What I would say on the friendly aspect however is this, college is what you make it. I'm just back from a weekend away with the SVP society where we stayed at a mansion in Naas with other students from UCC, UCD and Trinity.

Two students I met from Trinity and UCD were absolutely lovely, always checking to see how I was so you will get nice people and not so nice people everywhere.

Maynooth is still friendly too but I think like with every college its who you mix with more than anything. Generally the friendly people end up blending well together and the not-so-nice people end up with their own group so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Maynooth had the degree I thought i wanted to do , was close to home and had the most inviting atmosphere , it was a toss up between maynooth and DCU , i ruled out trinity and UCD because of the arrogance and snobbery, Maynooth was a college where everyone showed up in whatever clothes were comfortable and not caked in makeup , everyone was friendly and the SU bar didnt care if you were wearing a suit or a tracksuit , parking was free and the local pub and food choices were excellent, everybody didnt take everything too seriously and there wasnt a huge influence by any externally funded society's , any of these 'high society' dinners or a huge emphasis on a particular sport etc. modern computer facility's and on campus wifi , you could also show up to a mates apartment at any time of the night and sleep there without some sort of kgb like team of RA's coming to kick you out and there were plenty of parties on campus you could just walk into any night of the week.

id love to say it stayed the same but its changed a little , still the best option for college in Leinster in my opinion though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Had the degree I wanted to do (Science Education).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mischiefman

@ Your Text Here - Yeah I agree- like I said I've rarely taken part in A soc but you can't disagree, relative to other universities they're out of the league frankly, not to say they cant improve! Again Maynooth is THE FASTEST growing in Ireland. It's the price you pay for such an intimate college, unlike UCD which is basically a town in itself, great socs(apparently)-due to larger funding from more students, but if you wanna make the university 'yours'....best of luck. At least it takes us 2 minutes to leave the university by path, not 10 by a main road!:eek: Also another thing to do with the friendliness of the college, if you see someone out at night from college in Maynooth...chances are you'll see them again in college, bigger colleges can be dauntingly large. Also i agree with @Eric Cartman it's a very accepting community - :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

All the hot men.

Oh, wait. Nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

NUI Maynooth feels more individual and it's only a small place, but a smart, and a pretty place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭pakb1ue

When I got my Leaving Cert results I was all set on going to Edinburgh but by the time the CAO points came out I decided to head to Maynooth after the head of CS dept from Edinburgh told me that Maynooth was the better choice.

Maynooth was my first choice, I didnt want to go to college in Dublin and the CS course in Maynooth sounded a lot better then I had read up on and it offered a work placement (tho I didnt end up getting a work placement..flipping recession). My first time in Maynooth was the day I moved to the town. I knew no one when I started, I didnt get on with my house mates and I didnt like the people in my course so I decided to apply to the CAO again for a course in DCU (had changed my mind about going to college in Dublin by then and a lot of my friends from home where in Dublin and one of my good mates was in DCU) but I decided seeing that I am here I might as well give it a go. Joined Soccer, MUCK and outdoor pursuits clubs which I met a lot of people through and I started to enjoy Maynooth a lot more.

By the end of year I loved the place and started to get on with the people in my course. My mate who was in DCU ended up going to Maynooth the next year.

I absolutely loved my 4 years there I would recommend it to anyone. Just somethings you wouldnt get in other colleges like meeting someone in the pub one night then seeing them on the footbridge (RIP) at 9am the next morning looking worse for wear and giving each other the nod.

I would love to do them 4 years all over again but then again I didnt want to end up like a certain SU barman who had been there for 10 years.

I graduated over a year ago and now working/living in Belfast and I am still in touch with my friends from Maynooth. Sure next week me, one guy from my course, my housemate from final year are going to to NY to see my housemate from 2nd year.

Yeah some people hate it but they are the 1% :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

I choose Maynooth as i could get the point which was the cheapest for a university.

My course is finance and economics.

Do I love it ? A little bit.

In 1st year it was okay cut in 2nd year I expected the college to help us with internships and stuff but they didnt do ****.

Its as if NUIM has no connections or whatsoever.

Although internships is not a prerequisite fur my course. But it'll be good to have something.

My bro is in DIT and they get invitations from huge firms like Susquehannna optiver trading etc.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I choose Maynooth as i could get the point which was the cheapest for a university.

My course is finance and economics.

Do I love it ? A little bit.

In 1st year it was okay cut in 2nd year I expected the college to help us with internships and stuff but they didnt do ****.

Its as if NUIM has no connections or whatsoever.

Although internships is not a prerequisite fur my course. But it'll be good to have something.

My bro is in DIT and they get invitations from huge firms like Susquehannna optiver trading etc.

Have you approcahed your dept asking for help?
    Mine jumped at the chance when asked

Remember that NUIM are the smallest University in Ireland. They don't necessarily have the connections but are willing to make them if their students show willing

Me Oxford got for me grammar excellent! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

CaoimH_in wrote: »
    Try googling before you start insulting. "To show willing" is a perfectly valid grammatical construct.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I'm never sure about is/are for NUIM. I tend to use whichever one comes into my head first.

And what's wrong with "show willing"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

What made me want to go to Maynooth was... a combination of things. I wanted to go to college. The handiest one would've been DCU, then Trinity next. But DCU had nothing I was interested in studying, having just had the life beaten out of me by 10 years in the IT industry, and Trinity, and later UCD, turned me off a bit with the people I randomly met on both campuses. Maynooth was lovely when I visited, everyone very friendly, courses I was interested in, nice trees. Yes, I was partially sold by the trees. But the bit that closed the deal was the direct bus from Droghedaland. Trinity would've been handier, but their degrees are longer and their students are ... different. Even if I wanted to go to UCD the commute would've been as bad as when I worked in Bray. Feck that.

And the feedback I'd gotten from past students on all three places. Everyone I heard from was very positive about Maynooth. Can't say the same about the other colleges. And I was delighted to find out they weren't lying! It has definitely lived up to my hopes. The library's a bit of an issue, but that's being expanded as we type.

They have much better seats in Trinity though.

I wouldn't normally type this much but I'm practicing my procrastination skills. It kind of kills me that I can type over 250 words here in 10 minutes, but it took four hours to do a 175 word essay introduction earlier today. Blastedness.

(There was nothing "insulting" there, banter is all!)

OK, you may have won, but I have learned some grammar so I'm pretty pleased! I was looking at it as if it was a noun, i.e. to show willingness. I didn't realise to show willing, as an adjective, worked too.

As for the is/are thing, NUIM is a collective singular so it's "is". If it was a collective plural, as in: "all of the NUIs are going to the shop" - you have an "are," as I have.

Yey grammar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

(There was nothing "insulting" there, banter is all!)

OK, you may have won, but I have learned some grammar so I'm pretty pleased! I was looking at it as if it was a noun, i.e. to show willingness. I didn't realise to show willing, as an adjective, worked too.

God I hate that fcuking word :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

mickstupp wrote: »
    I wouldn't normally type this much but I'm practicing my procrastination skills. It kind of kills me that I can type over 250 words here in 10 minutes, but it took four hours to do a 175 word essay introduction earlier today. Blastedness.

This exactly, goddamn internet!