Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My first massage

• 12-11-2011 8:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

I went for a back, shoulder and neck massage today.

Did anyone else ever get one before? How was it?

I was far too ticklish especially around the back of my neck. I was laughing through it.

Are they meant to tickle you?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Did you get a happy ending?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I never liked the idea of getting one. Kneading into the muscles and whatnot... ergh!! It just creeps me out. A friend of mine tried massaging my feet and I nearly had a heart attack it was just too weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Flip overs ftw

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Had my first massage after a road race a couple months ago, just on the legs, yes it did tickle (slightly) initally, then the pain came when she started working on the deep tissues.

But it did feel amazing afterwards.

(trying not to make it sound dir-ty)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Tickles? eh sorry to tell you but you have been raped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Did you get the horn?

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

I get one at least twice a month and no happy endings. Love'em u feel so much better after them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭FortyPlusHubby

I was far too ticklish especially around the back of my neck. I was laughing through it.

No, they should not feel ticklish. The Masseur / Masseuse should have applied more pressure. Alternatively go to a Thai Massage place..... by God those women can inflict some pain .. and not in a pervy way!! But it always feels good after.

40pH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭FortyPlusHubby

lar203 wrote: »
    I get one at least twice a month and no happy endings.

I can't imagine any of the legit places offer these sort of extras!!! Not at €39 for a 45-minute session anyways.

40pH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

Well, i get a massage from my physio every fortnight.... no tickles.
    First it feels like she is trying to kill me, but then, feck me - I almost fall asleep, my body heads off into the sunset, and I feel great for the rest of the day.
    Works for me.

They only cost 35euro for half a hour . as you have said the pain can be a bit of putting but its a great feeling after

• Registered Users Posts: 21,253 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I've had deep tissue massage for problems with my back, and it wasn't the least bit relaxing. Felt like I'd paid to get beaten up for 30 minutes.

I had the op to fix my back . ten years in pain one hour on the table and im as good as new. saying that i was bricking it before hand

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Got one in Thailand, it involved thumbs up my ass and being punched in the back of the head for an hour - happy ending it was not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

The massages I've had in Ireland have always been really nice- the only downside has been that they've trespassed a liiiiittle bit too far down the lower back if you know what I mean...!! Awkward!!

I had a massage in the West Bank, and made the mistake of getting it when I had a bit of sunburn-- she first loofahed me with what seriously must have been some kind of scrubbing brush, dumped a bucket of water one me and then told me to get dried off before getting in with all the oils and whatnot. Traumatic XD

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Had one in the Caribbean and it was so relaxing that I fell asleep. Not ticklish at all.

For all I know the masseuse sexually assaulted me as I slept. However, the most likely and altogether more mundane scenario however is that the minute I fell asleep she stopped and read a magazine until the timer went and then woke me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Had my first "proper" one ie: not from the gf, last month. Chinese girl on Abbey St, stuck me with some needles and then gave me a massage. Massage was great, felt like I should have been black and blue after it mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Ammsy500

Siuin wrote: »
    I had a massage in the West Bank, and made the mistake of getting it when I had a bit of sunburn-- she first loofahed me with what seriously must have been some kind of scrubbing brush, dumped a bucket of water one me and then told me to get dried off before getting in with all the oils and whatnot. Traumatic XD

As a massage therapist myself I have no idea what kind of massage this is :eek: Are you sure it wasnt a scrub you were getting? Also she should have known not to massage you while sunburnt....ouch :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I've just come from my regular, forthnightly 90 mins deep-tissue sports massage. It helps me heal after hard training, sorts out a couple of long-standing injuries a treat, I sleep better after it, feel calmer and always have a nice chat with the therapist. That's a lot of benefit for the few quid it costs. No tickles though and I'd be afraid to ask for them, that way lies misunderstanding, barring orders and ruined reputations.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I've had one before. I'm not a fan personally. I dunno, I just can't relax with a complete stranger like that. Does nothing for me except makes me wish it was over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Ammsy500 wrote: »
    As a massage therapist myself I have no idea what kind of massage this is :eek: Are you sure it wasnt a scrub you were getting? Also she should have known not to massage you while sunburnt....ouch :pac:

Lol! Yeah, it wasn't a terribly 'official' place- they specialised in re-educating women from the nearby refugee camp (al Amari) to be able to do beauty treatments and whatnot- this one was fairly aggressive!! XD But very lovely ladies all of them. Although sitting around in our bikinis afterwards, the local women must have thought I was a pasty freak :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

I went for a back, shoulder and neck massage today.

Did anyone else ever get one before? How was it?

I will be getting a real thai massage in thailand next month.. and no.. i dont need extras.

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Got one in Thailand, it involved thumbs up my ass and being punched in the back of the head for an hour - happy ending it was not!

sure it was thumbs? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

have had head and neck combo massages before by support staff,it has gotten rid of some migraines and also helped with calming down as pressure is a big help in own case.

its a rather underused relaxing method,people shoud look into learning it and getting a housemate/family/boyfriend/girlfriend/whoever to learn it as well to get the full effect of massage.

there are non contact types like reiki,had once paid for a specialist to give our cat [she had advanced terminal cancer] reiki sessions and it gave her a sense of calm in herself.
    it feels like strong heat when hands are run over but hands are close to body incase anyone are totaly against contact.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I've had a few different types of massages before, would recommend them- they're not supposed to tickle though!!

It is actually difficult to talk about massages without it sounding durrrty though!! :pac:

Would recommend hot stone massages, really nice.

Had a full body massage once- had all the essential bits covered with a towel and stuff so was really comfortable.... until the therapist whipped them off with no warning!! I got a fright and kind of went to quickly cover myself with my hands so she got the message and stopped & that was the end of the massage! Kind of put me off going for one again to be honest... they should warn you about that kind of thing- I mean, I know it said "full body" but I didn't think it was that literal!!

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

A friend of mine was training to be a masseuse and was looking for some 'volunteers'. Being the good friend that I am, I stepped forward. It was a bit weird because she set the massage table up right in the middle of her sitting room! Anyway it started off a bit ticklish but settled down and after about 25mins I fell fast asleep. Fair play to her, she left me lying there for an hour afterwards but then had to wake me up because Eastenders was on and the table was in the way of the tv! :D