Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we offer Estonia a replay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Close this thread please.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Even BERBA thinks this is a poor attempt FFS.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭brianregan09

There getting one Tuesday :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Yet another case of making sure the big countries get in wait ...... What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

They can be the extra team in the Euro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

I nearly thought we would be in trouble after the way the FAI were laughing when we got Estonia...karma and all that. Glad to see we did well, even without the ref. we still did well. Estonia will have their turn, just not this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

In all honesty that tackle on robbie should of been a straight red how did he not hurt himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

''Zey want to be the 17th team!''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Bah Haha Haha Haha. That is just pathetic. Its not as if the Irish players were diving around the place they were all actual tackles. Although i now believe the Estonians will be putting on an Olympic worthy diving show on Tuesday!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Video must be a piss-take! :D

They even spelt player as "palyer" all the way through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I love the captions on the video.

''Refere to Estonian palyer: you are strong, don't worry, but I don't show the yellow card to Ireland and sorry no foul to, Ireland's ball.''

attachment.php?attachmentid=8&stc=1&d=1275550636

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭overshoot

both second yellows the player was the last man and should have got straight reds. piroja knew it when he kicked the ball away, it wasnt a clearance, you could see by his body language he knew he was fucked.
    estonia for the most part were their own undoing.
    using duff as an excuse is a bit silly the two irish lads went full force into each other and the ref played on till the attack had more or less been repelled

i think though if the player who was sent of first didnt duck out of the tackle he might have got to the ball and been fine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Very sore losers - much like Armenia. Blaming the ref...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Viktor-Kassai-dislike/311387815554737

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

The whole Henry thing has really opened a can of worms with regard to cheating, and placing official decisions under the spotlight.

A prime example would be those who called Luis Suarez a cheat after he handled the ball on the line against Ghana in 2010. Suarez was punished for his professional foul by the concession of a penalty, a red card(which precluded him from taking a Penalty in the shoot out), and he was suspended for one of Uruguay's biggest games in years. On the other hand, Henry was rewarded for his double handball with a place in South Africa 2010.

Since then, ever poor decision has been reacted to with cat-calls of "cheat" and "conspiracy". Ultimately, a referee is entitled to get things wrong, and a player is entitled to commit a professional foul. Henry's behaviour was totally extraordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

The Estonians have only themselves to blame. The occasion was too much and the pressure got to them. Two inches higher for that kung fu kick and there would have been another red, they were lucky to finish with 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Clutching at straws. Lets give them a damn good thrashing in the second leg.

That'll teach em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Lads remember this is probably one goshíte of a "fan" who watched his first soccer match last night. I remember a few Irish clowns who wanted to go to the protest after Paris '09 even though they'd never been to an Ireland match in their lives. I hope we welcome and respect the genuine Estonians who come over on Tuesday to support their team even though the tie is effectively over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Please rise for the Youtube national anthem.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

No, next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I hope we welcome and respect the genuine Estonians who come over on Tuesday to support their team even though the tie is effectively over.

The Indo reported today that some Estonian fans threw bottles at Irish fans after we scored the 3rd goal last night. I could never see away fans being subjected to that sort of behavior at Lansdowne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Thrill wrote: »
    Clutching at straws. Lets give them a damn good thrashing in the second leg.

That'll teach em.

I agree. Hope we hammer the absolute sh*te out of them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

darkman2 wrote: »
    Estonians furious.

About what?.......A comprehensive beating?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

This thread get's let slide?

Wow, just ****ing wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

200px-0330chewbacca.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Lumbo wrote: »
    The Indo reported today that some Estonian fans threw bottles at Irish fans after we scored the 3rd goal last night. I could never see away fans being subjected to that sort of behavior at Lansdowne.

Not at Lansdowne but The Aviva is a cauldron of fury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I like the way that the video makes out that Ajhupera's kung fu kick on Ward getting him a yellow was harsh. If he'd seen red he'd have had little to complain about.

I also like the statistic at the start with the cards the ref has given in his last games in charge like it proves something. He gave 8 yellows last night, and the either 7 or 8 in each of his previous 4 games. Terribly inconsistent...

The penalty may have been a bit soft, but the tie was over whether it finished 3-0 or 4-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Het-Field wrote: »
    The whole Henry thing has really opened a can of worms with regard to cheating, and placing official decisions under the spotlight.

A prime example would be those who called Luis Suarez a cheat after he handled the ball on the line against Ghana in 2010. Suarez was punished for his professional foul by the concession of a penalty, a red card(which precluded him from taking a Penalty in the shoot out), and he was suspended for one of Uruguay's biggest games in years. On the other hand, Henry was rewarded for his double handball with a place in South Africa 2010.

Since then, ever poor decision has been reacted to with cat-calls of "cheat" and "conspiracy". Ultimately, a referee is entitled to get things wrong, and a player is entitled to commit a professional foul. Henry's behaviour was totally extraordinary.

You must be joking if you think it took the Henry incident to do all that! As if the people who criticised Suarez for acting against the spirit of the game would have been saying how wonderful he
    was if the Henry thing hadn't happened.

If all the poor decisions were genuine referee errors, by the law of averages, each and every team would get screwed just as often as they benefit from these "errors". That doesn't happen tho. Even in the Premier League, when contraversy occurs in a fixture, 90% of the time it's the same club getting screwed as were screwed the last time there was contraversy between the same 2 teams. It's so spaced out tho, people don't notice how much it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

What a load of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,944 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Lumbo wrote: »
    I hope we welcome and respect the genuine Estonians who come over on Tuesday to support their team even though the tie is effectively over.

They should have saved them for that bollox Delaney on his lap of honour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Can't believe the Estonian reaction from this, there's loads more videos being posted like the one above. Seriously bad loosers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I presume the death threat videos about the ref will be taken down ASAP. Disgusting to see this sort of thing raring it's head again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

This thread again?

How many more times are we gonna have to see this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

nuxxx wrote: »
    Can't believe the Estonian reaction from this, there's loads more videos being posted like the one above. Seriously bad loosers

Every country has moronic fans. We are in a very green glass house given the aftermath to Paris, we have more than our fair share of idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭Soups123

Fair play to Robbie for the second red he said to the ref a couple of times it was an accidental handball, good man.

The ref probably couldn't understand his talaght accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Lads remember this is probably one goshíte of a "fan" who watched his first soccer match last night. I remember a few Irish clowns who wanted to go to the protest after Paris '09 even though they'd never been to an Ireland match in their lives. I hope we welcome and respect the genuine Estonians who come over on Tuesday to support their team even though the tie is effectively over.

Exactly. The Estonian Joe Duffy will probably devote a show to it on Monday. Real football fans can accept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Laois_Man wrote: »
    If all the poor decisions were genuine referee errors, by the law of averages, each and every team would get screwed just as often as they benefit from these "errors". That doesn't happen tho. Even in the Premier League, when contraversy occurs in a fixture, 90% of the time it's the same club getting screwed as were screwed the last time there was contraversy between the same 2 teams. It's so spaced out tho, people don't notice how much it happens.

That's probably the most ridiculous thing I have read on here about refereeing decisions. Name a team and you will find terrible decisions both for and against them. Tinfoil hat, crackpot theories such as above hold no place in genuine discussions.

I will add that top teams often get decisions in their favour as they tend to attack more, so there are more opportunities for them to get penalties, frees etc. Conversely poor teams are defending more and are more likely to give away frees, penalties, receive cards etc.