Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Luck Ireland

• 12-11-2011 2:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Football > Anything

and it always be

fúck your Leinster
    fúck your Munster
    fúck your Leinster v Munster
    fúck your grand slam
    fúck your five six nations
    fúck your quarter finals of a world cup in a sport that has four good teams
    fúck your fake passion over a team that didn't exist ten years ago
    fúck your counties
    fúck your gah
    fúck your provincials
    fúck your canal end
    fúck your hill sixteen built from the stones of the gpo
    fúck your passion

Nothing

No thing

not a thing

brings this country together like football

the rest of it is fake, the rest of it can fúck off, the rest of it is contrived

The rest of them know this, the rest of them really try to make US out to be something less. But they know in their hearts they can't. They wilted when we cheered tonight.

They saw, they heard, they KNOW

Good Luck to Ireland next Summer

Good Luck to Trapp

Good Luck to Robbie Keane

It's all about this...bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,791 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

nothing like a drunken rant.

wp des

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

While I like the passion of your post Des, I can't agree with it all and it has a strange smell of apples off it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

WTF are you on about?

Get a grip lad.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Agree 100% Des! Get the fuck in there you boys in green!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Someone get that man a cup of tea :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭mr.noobie

Great win for ireland tonight, couldnt ask for any better, already on the plane to poland!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Des wrote: »
    Football > Anything

and it always be

fúck your Leinster
    fúck your Munster
    fúck your grand slam

When did you stop moding the Rugby board Des? :P

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I love you Des :D

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Good Luck to Trapp

Bandwagoner :p
    I'd prefer to see Shels beat a non-league team in the first round of the League Cup than Ireland beat Brazil in a 5-4 thriller in the world cup final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fifth columnist.

mr.noobie wrote: »
    Great win for ireland tonight, couldnt ask for any better, already on the plane to poland!

You might be a bit early for the tournament?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

When did you stop moding the Rugby board Des? :P

I was just about to say that :pac:

Dishonorably discharged? Maybe he tried to ban everyone on the forum because he thought they were all cunts, every last one of 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Nah, the Euro's will be far more unifying for the country than winning the Grand Slam was.

So I guess Des is just a bit emotional given soccer is about to be back on top of the pile again.

The real 'fcuk yous' should be directed at Dunphy and his salavating football-ignorant legion of Trapp-doubters.

We're going to be the worst squad in talent terms to qualify for the Euros because we have Trapp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I know we're all in high spirits but you can't say soccer is better than hurling

Soccer is better than hurling.

IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,184 ✭✭✭✭event

Well played Des :pac:

Nice one Des you mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

trap was very emotional last night.
    Delighted he got something back after paris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭sofireland

Epic! Bloody Epic!

"Football, Bloody Hell!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

jaysus id say hes dying this mornin.

Football > Anything

and it always be

fúck your Leinster
    fúck your Munster
    fúck your grand slam
    fúck your counties
    fúck your gah
    fúck your provincials
    fúck your canal end
    fúck your passion

Fúck your Honda Civic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

Earnest, opinionated and vitriolic - that is my favourite post I've ever seen on here.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I'd support Ireland at tiddlywinks tbh. And i'd watch internationals, athletics, show jumping anything where we have a team. But football, man football just means more to me. Watching Richie Dunne, Given, Keane, Duffer et al next Summer, seeing them there for probably the last time, cheering them on, you can't beat that feeling. Players who've worked hard for us for years, players i've supported, cheered on, swore at, applauded and i'm glad they'll get to play against some of the best teams in Europe (hopefully).

We'll go. We'll watch, we'll sing out hearts out. We probably won't win, but that's not what it's about.

Football > anything.

Get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I am going to be an emotional wreck for these games in Poland/Ukraine.

Everything from acting like Leonidis and the army of Sparta during the national anthem, to something more akin to a child afraid of sleeping in the dark anytime the other team have the ball.

Nothing gets me like football, and international football even more so, the days after the Paris match I was absolutely depressed. Watching these games knowing that the eyes of the world are on our lads will be so satisfying because I am so sure were are going to play with a passion other national teams cant, we always make loads of friends at these events because win/lose/draw we play our feckin balls off.

COME. ON. YOU. BOYS IN GREEN!

Soccer is the peoples' sport and has a global resonance far in excess of any other sport.

Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Football > Anything

and it always be

fúck your Leinster
    fúck your Munster
    fúck your grand slam
    fúck your counties
    fúck your gah
    fúck your provincials
    fúck your canal end
    fúck your passion

Nothing

No thing

not a thing

the rest of it is fake, the rest of it can fúck off, the rest of it is contrived

The rest of them know this, the rest of them really try to make US out to be something less. But they know in their hearts they can't. They wilted when we cheered tonight.

They saw, they heard, they KNOW

Good Luck to Trapp

Fair-weather fan! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

lordgoat wrote: »
    I'd support Ireland at tiddlywinks tbh. And i'd watch internationals, athletics, show jumping anything where we have a team. But football, man football just means more to me. Watching Richie Dunne, Given, Keane, Duffer et al next Summer, seeing them there for probably the last time, cheering them on, you can't beat that feeling. Players who've worked hard for us for years, players i've supported, cheered on, swore at, applauded and i'm glad they'll get to play against some of the best teams in Europe (hopefully).

We'll go. We'll watch, we'll sing out hearts out. We probably won't win, but that's not what it's about.

Football > anything.

Get in.

This.

Nothing stirs the emotions like the Irish Football team, from my childhood memories of 88 and 90 and great days in USA and 2002 to the heartbreak in Anfield, Brussels, Instanbul and Paris. The Boys in Green always stir my emotions, just the way it is and always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

123 posts deleted. Even for the Soccer Forum that's pretty special.

Let's use this thread as a good luck/celebration of the fact that Ireland are most likely going to Euro 2012.

It's NOT to be used for discussing the merits of Soccer v Hurling v Rugby v Gaelic Football. If you want to discuss that then do it somewhere else, I've no interest in trying to Mod the fúckfest that would become. Considering the debate of these sports against each other turns even the best and most diplomatic poster into a simpering drooler what it can do to the worst/trollingest WUMers on the SF isn't even worth bothering with tbh.

And before someone says I've allowed the first post to stand, well that's because it's celebrating Soccer, in the Soccer forum. If it was posted in the Rugby/GAA/Hurling forum I'd expect Des to be hit repeatedly with the banhammer until broken and bleeding.

So let's keep this about football and NOT A DEBATE ON THE MERITS OF OTHER SPORTS -V- FOOTBALL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

as a matter of interest what team is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Indeed Good Luck Ireland

Can't say I enjoy watching your brand of football ... but good luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Frisbee wrote: »
    123 posts deleted. Even for the Soccer Forum that's pretty special.

Let's use this thread as a good luck/celebration of the fact that Ireland are most likely going to Euro 2012.

It's NOT to be used for discussing the merits of Soccer v Hurling v Rugby v Gaelic Football. If you want to discuss that then do it somewhere else, I've no interest in trying to Mod the fúckfest that would become. Considering the debate of these sports against each other turns even the best and most diplomatic poster into a simpering drooler what it can do to the worst/trollingest WUMers on the SF isn't even worth bothering with tbh.

And before someone says I've allowed the first post to stand, well that's because it's celebrating Soccer, in the Soccer forum. If it was posted in the Rugby/GAA/Hurling forum I'd expect Des to be hit repeatedly with the banhammer until broken and bleeding.

So let's keep this about football and NOT A DEBATE ON THE MERITS OF OTHER SPORTS -V- FOOTBALL.

In fairness it is celebrating the Irelands soccer teams success while at the same time denigrating other sports. I think that is the crux of the issue for alot of posters. If the OP says something like "the rest of it is fake, the rest of it can fúck off, the rest of it is contrived" then he is leaving himself wide open for criticism. To be honest it just shows his insecurity on the matter. You would not have seen a post like this on the Rugby forum. That is all. Think the SF has let itself down badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

fúck your Leinster
    fúck your Munster
    fúck your grand slam
    fúck your counties
    fúck your gah
    fúck your provincials
    fúck your canal end
    fúck your passion

A beautiful oxymoron!

Nothing

No thing

not a thing

Only just seen this rant - brilliant!!!

Reminds me of fans that sing "No-one likes us and we don't care" and then whinge about the negative press/refereeing decisions that go against them.

Best of luck to Ireland next summer, hopefully some special times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

stovelid wrote: »
    Soccer Football is better than hurling.

IMO

Fixed that for you.

Love all this passion from people who actually dont go to football games regularly and instead watch them on TV on a week to week basis. Thats funny! :P