Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roche and PlanetX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

No and no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

They'll never be cool Ken. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

They deserve eachother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

Jesus Christ on a bike!!!

No, they're rubbish hunks of resin with some carbon laid on top... You might as well put wheels on a gate... It would probably handle better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭not sane

Yes they are cool, especially when racing against guys who ride the branded ones that are just re-badged versions of the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I dunno. I think Planet X are gradually turning that corner. Pro rider endorsements will do them no harm whatsoever.

Now if their design team could only stretch their creativity beyond mono primary colours and bold arial fonts...

What rider has ever endorsed them...

Roche is being paid to turn up and flog his book.

Their bikes are $100 frame/ fork junk!!

If you believe they're turning a corner/ becoming cool... You're mad!! ;-)

Selling bikes with full SRAM red groupset for £999 means only one thing- something has to give....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

cipo wrote: »

Selling bikes with full SRAM red groupset for £999 means only one thing- something has to give....

Does it not just prove that Carbon frames cost very little to make and other brands are getting serious $ purely for the branding they stick on the frame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

sooooooooo wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Inquitus wrote: »
    Does it not just prove that Carbon frames cost very little to make and other brands are getting serious $ purely for the branding they stick on the frame?

+ 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

from what ive read and seen most if not all carbon frames made by the big manufacturers are pretty much made in the same place by the same people and by that i mean in asia :confused:

ha ha, ye clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Ryan Mullen (2011 Irish Junior TT and RR champ)
    Stephen McNally (2011 European Track Masters Gold and World Silver medals)
    Rode PX bikes in these competitions.
    I think Stephen Clancy (2011 Irish based rider of the year) rides a PX Stealth.

All these riders listed above are sponsored riders... I don't know any rider in the world that has ever endorsed a frame... Surely they're all paid/ given bikes / team sponsorship etc to ride any bike not just px

On phone- can't cut/paste, quote etc.. Sorry!

Any clue about who makes what frames..?? What grade of carbon is used in any one frame?? Any frame manufacturer out there with a European mark of approval on their frame quality..??

Any idea about carbon moulds..?? How much ONE costs..?? Frame geometry changes from a 50cm to a 56/58cm frame...??

As for all frames the same and just different decals on them.. Yes true at the lower grade, generic frames shapes...

Yes, I'm the clown....

How much is a SRAM red groupset to buy ???

Keep buying px's they're great!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

fat bloke wrote: »
    I dunno. I think Planet X are gradually turning that corner. Pro rider endorsements will do them no harm whatsoever.

Now if their design team could only stretch their creativity beyond mono primary colours and bold arial fonts...

I think the new branding is a big improvement. It's a lot nicer than someone like Dolan, whose crimes against typography make me cry (would still love one though). Don't think it's Arial.

I would kill to get to design a bike brand. Dream job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭lovelyoner

The bike they're offering at '£999 pounds including Sram Red', aren't actually full Sram Red, only the shifters and crankset is AFAIK!

They've modified the ad on the comments section.. Well spotted!!

Pics of full red gruppo but just shifters & fd, rd with apex bits...

All these riders listed above are sponsored riders... I don't know any rider in the world that has ever endorsed a frame... Surely they're all paid/ given bikes / team sponsorship etc to ride any bike not just px

And with this statement you confirm my suspicion that you haven't clue. I don't think any of those riders are sponsored by PX. McNally certainly isn't. These riders bought planet Xs because the bikes are a cost-effective way to lay the smack down and because they have the brains and class to know that it's about the legs not the bike.
    Yes, I'm the clown....

At last a point on which we can all agree.

No answers/ queries to any other points ive raised....

"I haven't a clue" classic forum chat!! Well done.

Constructive, informative and full of knowledge... Excellent point!

Ryan Mullen - head to toe in px kit. I'm not gonna troll web to wiki everything like some do. I know how these frames are made and can say that quality is very different to others on market.

Px offer what looks like good value for money for carbon bikes, great. Crack on & buy one. Their quality & therefore, performance is poor, that was / is my point.

I can't be arsed.

Cheers for all the info though, I'm enlightened by your knowledge.

Ah, the ol' demanding-specific-information-from-others-but-refusing-to-provide-any-yourself tactic. Yep, that'll definitely make me take you seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Ryan Mullen - head to toe in px kit. I'm not gonna troll web to wiki everything like some do. I know how these frames are made and can say that quality is very different to others on market.

Px offer what looks like good value for money for carbon bikes, great. Crack on & buy one. Their quality & therefore, performance is poor, that was / is my point.

I can't be arsed.

there nearly all made in the same fecking factory for christ sake :D there is no difference in quality just brand name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I can't believe that noone has come up with the flex argument yet..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭not sane

As someone fairly pointed out its all about the legs. I ride the PX nanolight and can't fault it. I'm a standard A3 so it suits my purpose. I've had a fair few comments by guys on top branded bikes saying they know they paid to much and said the next time they would buy/consider a PX etc. I also know a well experienced cyclist who rides one of those plain china jobs who made a quiet reasonable comment that he will only buy something that he can afford to replace if he crashed, how many can say that about there Cervlo's etc. Cipo me thinks your a bit of a snob and probably got beaten by guys on PX bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cipo is flogging his top end Carbon Frames for 4k euro, ofc he is deeply unimpressed with PX :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Planet x wouldnt get away with selling junk, its different if youre a random dealer in asia selling to western buyers, if your product is faulty/low quality, theres not much the buyer can do after purchase. Planet x have a good reputation for high quality at low prices, only brand snobs slag them off so that they feel better about their more expensive choice. They use gigantex carbon rims which are also rebranded by bigger names. Their pista hubs are identical to dia compe(made by formula). Available for half the price .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

niceonetom wrote: »
    And with this statement you confirm my suspicion that you haven't clue. I don't think any of those riders are sponsored by PX. McNally certainly isn't. These riders bought planet Xs because the bikes are a cost-effective way to lay the smack down and because they have the brains and class to know that it's about the legs not the bike.

At last a point on which we can all agree.

Give the guy a break....I'm sure Planet X are decent bikes and a strong rider certainly doesn't need a 3-4k frame to win but it doesn't necessarily mean that they're as good as a very high end frame. I'm surprised there's not more objective testing of stiffness/weight etc. in the bike industry to justify high costs.

I've never ridden a Planet X and I'm sure many of the vehement Planet X defenders have never ridden a top of the range frame so who knows. Calling people clowns over their opinion on what is a nice bike and what is not is a bit OTT though.....

What is true however is that legs are much more important than the bike but also that most elite riders (sponsored or not) are on VERY nice bikes.

I don't think flex is something you notice until you've been on something better

Oh yeah I meant to say that it's blindingly obvious that Ryan Mullin is sponsered by Px

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

chakattack wrote: »
    Give the guy a break....I'm sure Planet X are decent bikes and a strong rider certainly doesn't need a 3-4k frame to win but it doesn't necessarily mean that they're as good as a very high end frame. I'm surprised there's not more objective testing of stiffness/weight etc. in the bike industry to justify high costs.

There is the Finite element Analysis (or method) Sheldon brown has a littler artical on it. Seems like a great way to design a frame but I wonder if it's used by the industry.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/fea.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Crow92 wrote: »
    There is the Finite element Analysis (or method) Sheldon brown has a littler artical on it. Seems like a great way to design a frame but I wonder if it's used by the industry.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/fea.htm

FEA has been around for years. We did quite a lot of it in my degree and then I did a masters in it (10 years ago at this stage). I'd go as far to say all frames from composite to alu to titanium all undergo FEA, including cheap chinese tat.

I've still to meet a px owner who thought anything but highly of their bike.
    Plenty of px owners here too, never really noticed anyone complain here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

I can't be arsed.

So my POOR quality frame, which I high sided at @60kph on a slight descent, early in the year resulting in 5 broking ribs, a folded over rear wheel......................and absolutely NO frame damage whatsover, is rubbish, in your opinion, I'd rather have paid the €12/1400 euro on this, than €3/4K on a big name bike given the same situation, if the frame had been damaged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

xz wrote: »
    So my POOR quality frame, which I high sided at @60kph on a slight descent, early in the year resulting in 5 broking ribs, a folded over rear wheel......................and absolutely NO frame damage whatsover, is rubbish, in your opinion, I'd rather have paid the €12/1400 euro on this, than €3/4K on a big name bike given the same situation, if the frame had been damaged

And if you are unfortunate enough to crash they'll give you a (discretionary) 50% discount on a replacement:

http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.uk/help/warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Many on here have PX bikes including myself. So if anyone has found manufacturing defects, unexplained breakages or catastrophic failures let us know. All I can say about the SL Pro frame is that I have ridden it into blind potholes in races that should have broken it but it didn't.

No, they're rubbish hunks of resin with some carbon laid on top... You might as well put wheels on a gate... It would probably handle better.
    Their quality & therefore, performance is poor, that was / is my point.

So, clown pants - any plans to back up any of your spouting nonsense with actual facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭slow

I've raced on steel, aluminium, scandium alloy, titanium and carbon bikes over 30 years. Most I paid for, some I got discounts on, some were team bikes on loan. I've broken my fair share as well including two carbon Sintesis in 10 days once.

2 years ago, I bought a Medium PX SL Pro with Dura Ace 7800 for my son. It arrived and I went for a spin on it. When I got home, I went straight online and bought a Large one for myself. He won 40+ races on it including All-Irelands and Mayo Youth Tour. He outgrew it in July and then he got a Nanolight GURU frame and switched the groupset over. And won Mayo again.

I broke my pelvis in 2010, but returned in 2011 and won 2 elite races on the PX - Coombes Connor in Drogheda and the Emyvale Grand Prix. I genuinely find it the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. I put on a longer stem and my trusty Concor saddle plus race wheels. No other changes apart from new bar tape. And I needed a new freehub body on the Model B rear wheel after 2000 winter miles. But I'm really hard on rear wheels anyway, so that's a regular occurrence irrespective of price.

The Nanolight is slightly stiffer. Hopefully, I'll get one in 2012. I'd be very happy to see out my racing days on a Planet X. They're a decent machine. Factoring in the money, they can't be touched for value.