Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Discipline

• 10-11-2011 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭

Im really sick of both players and officials being attacked or assaulted.

Where did this '96 week ban' idea come from?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-15666722

There should be lifetime bans for whoever strikes an official. 'Heat of the moment' is a rubbish argument that's totally unacceptable. You do it, you never play again. Referee's have a difficult enough job as volunteers without having the fear of assault hanging over them.

I'm from the north and am disgusted with this, but i know officials have been struck all around the country in club matches (granted normally not as greviously as in this incident).

When are the GAA going to 'put the boot in' so to speak against the players who do this? No faffing around with small bans/suspensions, but tough punishment for flagrant breaches.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

There should be lifetime bans for whoever strikes an official. 'Heat of the moment' is a rubbish argument that's totally unacceptable. You do it, you never play again. Referee's have a difficult enough job as volunteers without having the fear of assault hanging over them.

I'm from the north and am disgusted with this, but i know officials have been struck all around the country in club matches (granted normally not as greviously as in this incident).

When are the GAA going to 'put the boot in' so to speak against the players who do this? No faffing around with small bans/suspensions, but tough punishment for flagrant breaches.

totally with you on this one. its something I have a huge gripe about, the respect of mentors/players have for either the opposition or the officials. if a player or mentor hits a ref, he should get a massive suspension. You see players who went to Australia or America, and may have not completed transfer forms right, and then come home and end up getting a 52 week ban. but you could kick the crap out of a ref and get off lighter. and that lad in San Fran who put the Fermanagh chap in a coma, gets a 92 weeks or so ban as well. its jail he should get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Think you need to read the Article again, the guy who carried out the brunt of the assualt is been given a lifetime ban, it just has to be ratified by Croke Park, individual county boards dont have that authorithy.

BTW I am in no way condoning whatever happened here, none of us know as we were'nt there. But suspending the club dfor 12 months and banning 7 players seems a fair punishment.
    bruschi wrote: »
    You see players who went to Australia or America, and may have not completed transfer forms right, and then come home and end up getting a 52 week ban. but you could kick the crap out of a ref and get off lighter. and that lad in San Fran who put the Fermanagh chap in a coma, gets a 92 weeks or so ban as well. its jail he should get.

Try sticking to the facts here, you do not get banned for 52 weeks for not filling out forms correctly, you run the risk of been suspended ( not always 52 weeks) if you illegaly play for another club while still registered for your parent club, seems sensible and logical to me.

Who or where has anyone ''kick the crap out of a ref'' and got away with less than a 52 week ban??

The incident in San Fran was a complete accident it was how the poor chap fell to the ground and landed that put him in a coma, there was'nt even a punch thrown ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Think you need to read the Article again, the guy who carried out the brunt of the assualt is been given a lifetime ban, it just has to be ratified by Croke Park, individual county boards dont have that authorithy.

Your right, funny how when i'm reading something i can get blinded by rage and miss the lifetime ban!

Hopefully this sends out a strong message because it's a disgusting trait and one that i believe we're only seeing in modern day football (goes for soccer as well as gaelic!).

BTW I am in no way condoning whatever happened here, none of us know as we were'nt there. But suspending the club dfor 12 months and banning 7 players seems a fair punishment.

Try sticking to the facts here, you do not get banned for 52 weeks for not filling out forms correctly, you run the risk of been suspended ( not always 52 weeks) if you illegaly play for another club while still registered for your parent club, seems sensible and logical to me.

Who or where has anyone ''kick the crap out of a ref'' and got away with less than a 52 week ban??

The incident in San Fran was a complete accident it was how the poor chap fell to the ground and landed that put him in a coma, there was'nt even a punch thrown ffs.

there wasnt a punch thrown? why did he get a ban for it so if there wasnt a punch thrown? FFS

I know of players who have got suspensions for the paperwork not being in the correct order. what had happened was they went away, got their transfer, the club got to a county final and they came home for it. the players went to provincial council to see if they could be eligable to play for the club, and then were given a 52 week suspension as they said they hadnt received any transfer papers. it was ridiculous, they had completed what they thought was a valid transfer, and without playing for the home team again, were told they couldnt play for another year for anyone. they have a 52 week suspension for this kind of thing, when other things go unpunished or meekly punished. the punishment doesnt fit the crime at all.

fair enough if you think the dicipline system works well in the GAA, but I for one think it is ridiculous and archaeic. weekly suspensions which could be worked around that players miss very few games (at least they have the minimum game suspension allotted now). far too often all out bralws in gaems get brushed over and nothing of significance happens. the media love reporting on the back pages with some picture of a crowd of lads all fighting and another GAA brawl story.

bruschi wrote: »
    there wasnt a punch thrown? why did he get a ban for it so if there wasnt a punch thrown? FFS

I know of players who have got suspensions for the paperwork not being in the correct order. what had happened was they went away, got their transfer, the club got to a county final and they came home for it. the players went to provincial council to see if they could be eligable to play for the club, and then were given a 52 week suspension as they said they hadnt received any transfer papers. it was ridiculous, they had completed what they thought was a valid transfer, and without playing for the home team again, were told they couldnt play for another year for anyone. they have a 52 week suspension for this kind of thing, when other things go unpunished or meekly punished. the punishment doesnt fit the crime at all.

fair enough if you think the dicipline system works well in the GAA, but I for one think it is ridiculous and archaeic. weekly suspensions which could be worked around that players miss very few games (at least they have the minimum game suspension allotted now). far too often all out bralws in gaems get brushed over and nothing of significance happens. the media love reporting on the back pages with some picture of a crowd of lads all fighting and another GAA brawl story.

I was actually talking to a former clubmate of mine who was at the game and he assured me there was no punch thrown, its was a bit of jostling and handbags, he aggressivley pushed the guy who lost he's balance and unfortunately the outcome was as has been reported, he got a ban probably because of the media attention the incident got and AFAIK he didnt appeal or represent himself at the meeting and has vowed not to play again as he was so traumitised by the incident.

The players you are talking about didnt have permission to play in the other country there transfer papers were never approved, that is their responsibility to ensure that everything is in order, would you play for a club abroad without assurance it was legit and defacto you are insured?

Yes I do agree with you that the discipline system is a shambles nowhere did I say it works well??? I said that in the case referred to in the OP it would seem that yes the punishment fits the crime, I wasnt at the game so I have no idea exactly what happened or how many were involved, but I think they have been punished pretty sternly, which is a good thing.

I was actually talking to a former clubmate of mine who was at the game and he assured me there was no punch thrown, its was a bit of jostling and handbags, he aggressivley pushed the guy who lost he's balance and unfortunately the outcome was as has been reported, he got a ban probably because of the media attention the incident got and AFAIK he didnt appeal or represent himself at the meeting and has vowed not to play again as he was so traumitised by the incident.

The players you are talking about didnt have permission to play in the other country there transfer papers were never approved, that is their responsibility to ensure that everything is in order, would you play for a club abroad without assurance it was legit and defacto you are insured?

Yes I do agree with you that the discipline system is a shambles nowhere did I say it works well??? I said that in the case referred to in the OP it would seem that yes the punishment fits the crime, I wasnt at the game so I have no idea exactly what happened or how many were involved, but I think they have been punished pretty sternly, which is a good thing.

on the first case, fari enough. I dont know anyone there, was only going on reports coming from the game itself.

my point in the second one was that the punishment is not fitting a crime committed. a couple of lads were being honest and making sure they didnt do anything wrong, and yet get a year suspension. if they had actually said nothing, then they'd have got away with it, as the club they played for hadnt processed their names as playing for them. their mistake was as you say, not checking the transfer went through, and then coming back and notifying the council. to be banned from playing for a year (and realistically it was 15 months as it was the end of the year going home) you would want to have done something prety bad.

thats really my point, the suspensions the GAA hand out are never consistant. the whole diciplinary system needs a radical overhaul. the CCCC in its existance should be abolished, or at least changed a lot. their should be a diciplinary body, and then one appeals board, and thats it. there are far too many players trying to get off on loopholes, and the whole system is designed to make players think they can get away with ildicipline.

I would be surprised if the case the OP mentions is the last word. I'd wager there will be appeals and there will be leniancy to the players and club.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

GAA year is 48 weeks, so 96 weeks is the equivalent of a two year ban from GAA

Think i didn't phrase the question correctly! I knew 96 was 2 years, but surely if the GAA ban someone for that length of time their infringement is so serious that a more permanent ban is appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Funny stuff actually, the last game of the season in the Dublin u15's football league there was a huge riot broke out on the pitch after the ref abandoned the match, and apparently the ref was punched and kicked.

No suspensions on either side however, everything was just dropped.

stetyrrell wrote: »
    Funny stuff actually, the last game of the season in the Dublin u15's football league there was a huge riot broke out on the pitch after the ref abandoned the match, and apparently the ref was punched and kicked.

No suspensions on either side however, everything was just dropped.

Seems odd, if he was assaulted it would also be a case for the Gardai, sounds like a brown evelope or two may have been used, and if so there is very little the DCB can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I think the main problem was down to the credibility of the referee, I was talking to the chairman, and the ref was a bit of a scumbag, and nobody had seen the alleged assault.

I wouldn't put the brown envelopes idea past one of the teams, it was a case that if the other team won they had won the league, they were miles ahead and the other team started playing dirty and fighting, causing the fights. Initially they were given a fine but apparently that was all forgotten...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I know of an attempted stabbing at a GAA match and the relevant County Board did not want to know about it. A player who had been sent off attempted to exact revenge on his opponent as the teams left the field at the end of the match.

The GAA has a rotten culture w.r.t. discipline. The worst scumbag will always get a GAA official to stand up for him. I heard a club official, a decent man, state he would always defend one of his own players (in relation to a separate incident, one I felt was indefensible)

We need seperation of powers for a disciplinary committee, with personal referee's not considered, only the incident in question and the players past disciplinary record.