Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interview

• 10-11-2011 12:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭

Not quite sure where to put this but seems the job is finance related i said i would try here. Basically i have a job interview tomorrow and im unsure what to do. Im on tablets for epilipsy and im not sure if i should say anything about it at the interview. I think its obviously going to put me at a disadvantage with my chances of getting the job. But they could probably fire me if i had a turn during work i think. So does anybody know am i obligated to tell them as im unsure what i should do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 flash87

If I were you I would not mention it at all. Most places don't make you complete a medical so as long as you can control your condition it will be alright.
    Do these turns happen often?? My mother used to have the same thing and she could go months and months without having one, then all of a sudden, she would have one seemingly out of nowhere. I think she used to stop taking the tablets convincing herself that she was fine. Not saying that's what you do but from what I was led to believe if someone takes the medication it is highly unlikely that any issues will arise.

It is also unlikely that you will be asked about medical conditions at interview. If you do receive a job offer they may get you to fill out a medical questionnaire, in which case I would think hard about what you put down. In this day and age, when it's so hard to get any job it may count against you. Even though no-one from the firm would ever admit this, but they would probably go with a candidate who was in perfect health as opposed to someone who may collapse at any time. I am sure this is not the case but people always fear the worst dont they.

So in conclusion, I think you should not say anything at all and take your chances. Hopefully you will get the job and everything will work out OK. I know a good few people who have medical conditoins like these that if their employers were aware of they may not be kept on. So you are not the only one in this position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Thanks for your reply. Yes its been 2 years since finished college and need a job on the C.V. or it will be worthless. I had 3 seizures and got all tests done and said its not epilipsy. But after the third time happened crossing the road i went on tablets. Then i went over a year without anything happening and was advised to come off them and chance it instead of being on tablets all my life. Then a few weeks after that i had a seizure while out playing football after coming off the tablets. That happened about 2 months ago back on the tablets now again and been fine since. Its funny i know when im about to have a seizure, everything becomes 10 times louder than normal and this lasts for a few minutes before i collapse. Even when on tablets these loud noises has happened 2 or 3 times and i lay down and goes away. But if i was workin at a desk i cant go lay down somewhere so i dont know what to do. I really need a job to get out of my slump and ye i think i will avoid telling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭SBWife

Avoid mentioning it at the interview stage, if you get the position inform HR after you begin the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Nuts102 wrote: »
    But they could probably fire me if i had a turn during work i think.
    :eek::eek::eek::eek:

I sincerely hope that this is legislated against, and I suspect it is. You can't be fired for having epilepsy, or at least I hope you can't. Lying on a medical on the other hand will probably get you fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

It's not like you'll be handling heavy machinery or anything.

I wouldn't volunteer info regarding your condition unless asked. It doesn't in any way affect your ability to complete your duties in a finance role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Ye lads im just worried whether im obligated to tell them is all. Its so competitive these days to get a job and i really feel this would put me at a disadvantage. So i dont want to tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ants09

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Im on tablets for epilipsy and im not sure if i should say anything about it at the interview. I think its obviously going to put me at a disadvantage with my chances of getting the job.

your going into a finance roll and you want to hold back information to your prospective employer about your health ! i would be upfront and honest with them at the start and explain to them what epilpsy is and how unlikely you are to have a turn as its control by med's tbh.

SBWife wrote: »
    Avoid mentioning it at the interview stage, if you get the position inform HR after you begin the job.

i would strongly advice against this as your prospective employer has a right to know at the beginning and if they discriminate against you becasue of your medical condition do you really want to work for them :rolleyes:

taking it a step further what you are saying is if you suffer from diebetes or epilpsy and you chance insurance companies you dont inform them untill you change and get cover so you wont be risked with being loaded becasue of your medical condition :rolleyes:

The employer only has a right to know prior to hiring if it will impact the performance in the roll, this is how health questions are phrased on any applications I've filled out in my 15 years plus of financial service experience. The reason for informing HR after hire is that if the individual has an episode at work it's preferable that the organisation are aware of what is happening and what the best immediate course of action would be.

SBWife you pride yourself in being a ACCA student and as such you are expected to behave in accordance with professional code of ethics and maintain standards of moral behaviour,

one of the fundamental principles of the ACCA is intergrity and this is includes a requirement of fair dealing and a requirement to be truthfull in your buisness and personal dealings.

being truthfull means telling your protential employer of any illness you may have !

on a personal issue i have a long term illness and am a member of a organisation for that and we had a long term battle to be treated as any other member of the cummunity and not to be treated differently, as such we advise our members to act truthfully and explain your condition at interview stage and not withhold information.

as a lecturer said to me yrs ago if you cant trust your accountant then who can you trust, and as such if you do not disclose your illness then you can you be trusted :rolleyes:

If the illness does not affect performance in the role there is no ethical obligation to disclose it, only if it were to require significant accommodation by the employer would there be a need to disclose at interview stage.

Under your scheme where would it end? Would someone who had recurrent Athletes Foot need to tell HR? The OPs interviewing for a finance position not as a train driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭backtothebooks

ants09 wrote: »
    SBWife you pride yourself in being a ACCA student and as such you are expected to behave in accordance with professional code of ethics and maintain standards of moral behaviour,

one of the fundamental principles of the ACCA is intergrity and this is includes a requirement of fair dealing and a requirement to be truthfull in your buisness and personal dealings.

being truthfull means telling your protential employer of any illness you may have !

on a personal issue i have a long term illness and am a member of a organisation for that and we had a long term battle to be treated as any other member of the cummunity and not to be treated differently, as such we advise our members to act truthfully and explain your condition at interview stage and not withhold information.

as a lecturer said to me yrs ago if you cant trust your accountant then who can you trust, and as such if you do not disclose your illness then you can you be trusted :rolleyes:

I'm really astounded at your inability to write a passage in English using proper grammer and spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

I'm really astounded at your inability to write a passage in English using proper grammer and spelling.

Eh, I'm guessing you mean grammar.

i know its aint my strong point and i dont need to be told thanks and as per say i notice your spelling mistake also so :eek:

If the illness does not affect performance in the role there is no ethical obligation to disclose it, only if it were to require significant accommodation by the employer would there be a need to disclose at interview stage.

Under your scheme where would it end? Would someone who had recurrent Athletes Foot need to tell HR? The OPs interviewing for a finance position not as a train driver.

Athletes Foot aint a long term illness :) the op said they have epilispy and may take a turn in work and as such the employer has a right to know and it should be disclosed at the interview stage

As i previous said SBWife you are a student of the ACCA and one off the fundamental principles of the ACCA is Integrity and your meant to be truthfull in your business and personal dealings and as such it can be construde as not being honest or truthfull if you do not disclose a long term illness at the interview stage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭saggart26

Ants09, its easy to take a moral and ethical stance when you're already working. At the end of the day, you need to consider whats best for you, you want to work so you can build on your experience and your personal development which will enhance your cv. You're on medication so you have control of the situation. Do the interview but only answer the questions that your're asked, you dont need to limit your chances. Working is better than sitting on your backside watching Jermey Kyle every day. The best of luck to you, hope you get the job.

ants09 wrote: »
    i know its aint my strong point and i dont need to be told thanks and as per say i notice your spelling mistake also so :eek:

At a certain point it stops being a lack of understanding of the minutia of English grammar or an occasional spelling error and becomes sloth. Surely using a capital letter for a stand alone I or for the first letter in a sentence is something most of us master prior to completing first class. Not bothering with this to me is symptomatic of pure laziness.

Your entitle to your opinion as I am entitle to mine.

I am on boards to voice my opinion and not to be told I am lazy or told that I acted unethically thanks very much.

We could start slagging each other off SBWife but what’s the point in that as it just shows the person for who they are really.

It’s a shame when posters start calling other posters lazy as then it becomes personal and well thanks very much but I don’t fancy going down that route as I have more respect for myself then that.

And the OP's question was whether to disclose a medical condition at interview stage or not and not if I can spell correctly or use prober grammar
    Which is going off at a tangent?