Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donedeal traders with wanted ads - worth a try?

• 08-11-2011 12:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭

I'm selling a car at the moment, I noticed that there are a couple of ads looking for cars on Donedeal. Has anyone ever tried them for a price or have any experience with them?

I'm not under any pressure to sell but its just surplus to requirements really, have it advertised at a low price just because I hate the hassle of haggling, I'm wondering if it might be worth giving one of these guys a call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

What's the car? I've tried a few myself, but they all underballed the price of the car. They'd take it away no problem, however....

You're on about the "Buy your car for cash" ads, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Of course they will offer you below the market value of the car. They have to buy it cheap so that they can sell it at a profit.

If you just want shot of a car then try them but prepare to be offended by their offer otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Yeah they're the ones Barura. I know they have to make a profit and I'm quite happy to let them make it if they take the hassle out of me selling it. I'm just wondering how ridiculously low their prices are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Try em so?

Try em so?

The whole reason of posting a question here is to see if anyone has had the experience of dealing with these guys before. I might very well try them but I'd like to know beforehand if they'll offer me one price over the phone that I might take, only to drive 100 miles to meet them and they offer me less.

There seems to be that response to a lot of genuine questions on here. Completely irrelevant and frankly just plain smart-alecky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I had a feeling i came across smart alecky, i apologise. But give them a fast ring tomorrow and youll know soon enough whether its even worth considering them

Accepted, you're grand! I just got burned before selling a machine to an exporter waaaaay up the country. Paid for a truck to transport it up to him and he tried offering me 2k less when I had it up there. Told him to f himself but still got stung for 600 quid to pay the truck. So you can understand why I'd be a bit wary!

I'll probably give them a ring for the craic anyway.

Actually, was there ever a thread here about 'how much is my car worth?' for people selling their cars and wondering how to price it correctly in order to sell it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

What's the car?

It's a '02 318i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Ya know the adds of Dave 'we buy any car' they offer 50% of any car you want to sell.. Same with these adds...

They have even started to set up 'we want to buy your house' in 7 days at 50% value..

............. have it advertised at a low price ...................
    It's a '02 318i.

What do you have it advertised for.
    I imagine the buy your car for cash lads wouldn't give you over €850 for it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    ............. have it advertised at a low price ...................
    It's a '02 318i.

What do you have it advertised for.
    I imagine the buy your car for cash lads wouldn't give you over €850 for it.

Ouch!! I have it up for E2350. Who knows, that might be all I'll get for it anyway. It seems like the cheapest one on there, granted the tax is well out. Problem is that there's a heap of them for sale, the ad gets relegated down the list very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ouch!! I have it up for E2350. Who knows, that might be all I'll get for it anyway. It seems like the cheapest one on there, granted the tax is well out. Problem is that there's a heap of them for sale, the ad gets relegated down the list very quickly.

Doing a quick search on donedeal, can I assume this is it? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2695778

If so you need to spend more time on the pictures and the advert, an afternoon spent cleaning and taking photos will gauge much more interest in it and should get a faster sale. Silver is a particularly good colour to wax and comes out great in photos. I think you have it priced good and I'd be tempted myself if it was in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Doing a quick search on donedeal, can I assume this is it? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2695778

The worry for this particular ad with buyers is it looks like your offloading the car before putting it through the NCT.
    Buyers will suspect it will need a good bit of work done to it in order to pass the test.
    Thats understandable and common but if its not the case then test it immediately, you can test a car 3 months prior to expiry.
    A car tested till 2014 will be alot more appealing to most even if it means a slightly increased asking price.

Either way if this is your ad, improve your pictures and take more, You are allowed upto 10 i believe so use them, lets see the engine for starters.

Only just checked in here now, sold it an hour ago for almost the asking price, happy enough!! Cheers for the comments though, much appreciated and taken on board. Will be selling my jeep in the next few weeks and thanks to you guys I'll know what to put in the ad. Then I'll be hounding ye for a different reason as I'll be a buyer!!

By the way, I texted the details to 3 of those car for cash guys this morning early and haven't heard a word back yet. Will post it here if I do hear back.