Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to find a woman i met on a night out

• 07-11-2011 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hopefully someone can help, i know its long shot but i have to try

I met a woman the same age as me on a nigh out, we hit it off ok, had a chat we had a good bit in common, failed marriages, etc.

I was with friends and left without getting her number or giving her mine, she asked me back to her hotel for a drink, but because i was with visitors i could not

I was with visiting friends and she was from out of town on a birthday party, i know the county she's from, the industry she works and her 1st name and that;s about it.

I was thinking about contacting the hotel saying I met a group of ladies on a birthday who stayed in your hotel and i found a camera or something belong to them, do you have a contact email or number.

Its been on my mind since yesterday and i regret not giving my number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

I'd say you missed your chance. Even if you do manage to track her down somehow it's likely to take an unusual amount of effort which might look a bit, well, intense, to a lot of people (not all). The moment was there and then on the night, in my opinion its probably best to leave it at that.

But take the positive from it - you met a nice women, got on well and apparently hit it off. If you can do it once you can do it again - there are plenty of other women out there. Learn a bit from it, don't be as slow to look for a number next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Ring ray darcy.he does that kind of stuff all the time.he will find her for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I think you should go into the hotel sje was staying in. Suss out the receptionists and get chatting to the one that seems to be the nicest/most approachable.
    Tell him/her(would go for a female if I were you!!) your story and see what they can do for you.
    Tbh I'd imagine she'd get a great buzz out of playing Cupid!
    Probably the best thing to do would be to write a letter to this lady in question and I have no doubt that the hotel would gladly post it on for you.
    Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

I think you should go into the hotel sje was staying in. Suss out the receptionists and get chatting to the one that seems to be the nicest/most approachable.
    Tell him/her(would go for a female if I were you!!) your story and see what they can do for you.
    Probably the best thing to do would be to write a letter to this lady in question and I have no doubt that the hotel would gladly post it on for you.
    Good luck!

She might but to be honest I imagine they have rules about giving out guests contact details and while she might like your story she is probably not going to risk her job for you, live and learn OP get a number the next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭solovely

Do some google stalking. If you know what she works at, and the county, check out linked in, or even just google in general. You'd be surprised how easy it can be!! I met a guy out one night, got talking for 5 mins, told him my first name and that I worked just up the road and that it was my birthday that weekend. The Monday morning I had a happy birthday email from him in my inbox. I was seeing somebody else at the time, but his email was sweet so I didn't think it stalkery. He'd googled the type of company I work for and the area and found me on our contacts page. I think it's nice when guys go to that effort. And you can make a joke out of the whole stalker thing, so she knows you're really not. I would think she'll be flattered, and if she is freaked out, well at least you know you gave it a shot and have no regrets!!

You could contact the hotel like others have suggested, tell them you have something belonging to her, wrap up a small parcel and put your name, number and short letter with it, and hope they pass it on. A guy did that for me once on holidays, left a lovely letter with the hostel reception and we met up the following day and had an amazing week together.

Or go on Ray Darcy as Crazygervy said - he does this sort of thing the whole time.

I wouldn't give up like some people have suggested, at least if you give it ago, you'll have no regrets. And it's great to see romance is still alive and well. If there was a spark there, it's worth making the effort.

Go for it!! Good luck!

And let us know how you get on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Try a linkedin search? If you know where she works and a first name and where, it might just be enough :)
    Definetly try Ray Darcy- You might just find her, and if you do it'll be a story that'll melt her heart ;)

Good luck!

Sorry but this is really ridiculous advice. Any professional receptionist would never go along with this.

It's grounds for dismissal. Hotel staff have to act with the ultimate descretion, it's one of the most important parts of their jobs.

Ray Darcy would be your best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If the hotel has any integrity or common sense its not going to divulge information about its guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭greenprincess

Def agree with the ray idea good luck! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

It happens. If it were meant to be you'd have her details. It'll happen again. I don't think there's anything you can do that wouldn't look stalkerish, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Google is your friend. I'd be very surprised if a bit of smart online research doesn't pull something up to be honest.

I've successfully traced people online with very few leads. I've even done it in Toronto, a substantially bigger people pool, where all I've had to go on is a first name and general location, and in one case, workplace and vague hint of a name with no certainty (I'm not a creep I swear...I'm a journalist if that gets me off the hook??:o)

Did you get the names of any of the friends she was with, can you remember any particular details about her life, EG hobbies she has, sports she plays for example...could be as simple as googling the county and a few local clubs...I'm realising this is slightly unsettling advice to be giving...but all in the name of romance!

thanks to all for the positive replies.

i'm thinking about making up a story for the hotel, its really a b&b and ask them to pass on my details and get her to contact me, that's the best bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

I met a woman the same age as me on a nigh out, we hit it off ok, had a chat we had a good bit in common, failed marriages, etc.

I was with friends and left without getting her number or giving her mine, she asked me back to her hotel for a drink, but because i was with visitors i could not

I was with visiting friends and she was from out of town on a birthday party, i know the county she's from, the industry she works and her 1st name and that;s about it.

I was thinking about contacting the hotel saying I met a group of ladies on a birthday who stayed in your hotel and i found a camera or something belong to them, do you have a contact email or number.

Something similar happened to me years ago.Met a girl in a pub,got chatting some great rapport.She left with me only getting her first name and where she worked.No phone number or address.

So I wrote a note with her first name on it with my phone number and slipped it under the shop door one night.

Next day got a call back from her,would I like to meet up sometime.
    She said it was the sweetest most romantic thing anyone ever done for her.Went out for maybe 2 months after,but nothing ever came of it.

So I say,leave no stone unturned in your quest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Overheal wrote: »
    If the hotel has any integrity or common sense its not going to divulge information about its guests.

Yes. But they may pass his details on to her/her group
    thanks to all for the positive replies.

i'm thinking about making up a story for the hotel, its really a b&b and ask them to pass on my details and get her to contact me, that's the best bet

Go for it dude!

Good luck, fingers crossed it works out for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

As you know her first name and company,can you ring the company secretary and explain your story that you are looking for (Mary) about (30) that you met in (Murphys) and if its the right (Mary) can she text you back.Here is my name and number.Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Umm. I don't think that's a good idea to be honest. I know if I was in her shoes, the last thing I'd want was someone telling my business to our receptionist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

As you know her first name and company,can you ring the company secretary and explain your story that you are looking for (Mary) about (30) that you met in (Murphys) and if its the right (Mary) can she text you back.Here is my name and number.Simples.

I agree that that would be a bad idea. I'd be mortified if someone rang reception and said that to the girl there. Cringe! If she works in a company, google it. Or even call and ask to speak to her by just her first name. This might work if she has a slightly unusual name, less likely if she has a name like Mary :D

Depending on the work she does of course. If it's a call centre type business, calls are usually recorded and personal calls are frowned upon :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 833 ✭✭✭snafuk35

You could hire a private investigator and the investigator will make very discreet inquiries. There are some reputable investigators - retired Gardaí for the most part with licenses and who are completely proper, legal and above board - who do this work all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭binxeo

Well....did ye get in contact, gosh it would be mad romantic if things worked out. What a story to tell the kids/grandkids :D