Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAMSAT UK Results 2011

• 07-11-2011 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

I was just wondering whether anyone had an idea of the exact date that the UK GAMSAT results 2011 will be out ? I know the website says "mid November " but does anyone know an exact date?

Also was wondering what is a "safe" score for definitely getting into an Irish college? UL was 54 last year.. ye think it will be in or around the same this year?

And finally, I have applied to SGUL and Swansea through UCAS. If (by some miracle) I was offered a place in one of these universities, would it be more beneficial to go study med in the UK or would it be better to stay in Ireland to study ?

Any help or insight would be appreciated!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

I guess the UK vs Ireland depends on where you are from/where would you rather stay/are you looking at costs etc.

If you're from Cork and got UCC and could stay at home for 4 years that would save you alot of money but if you're from Waterford (just an example) and had to move out regardless where you got then it mightn't be a big deal where you end up. Also where do you want to work after, are you planning on staying in Ireland or England. Because if you intend on working in Ireland then I would think it's easier to train here and go straight into the intern year from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Roger_that

Jmul91 wrote: »
    I was just wondering whether anyone had an idea of the exact date that the UK GAMSAT results 2011 will be out ? I know the website says "mid November " but does anyone know an exact date?

I sat UK GAMSAT as well. Its been a long 7 weeks so far waiting. From reading around different boards it could be the 3rd week of this month by the time we get results. I think you get a couple of days notice as to when the results will be announced. Thats all I know.

Best of low!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Jmul91

Roger_that wrote: »
    I sat UK GAMSAT as well. Its been a long 7 weeks so far waiting. From reading around different boards it could be the 3rd week of this month by the time we get results. I think you get a couple of days notice as to when the results will be announced. Thats all I know.

Best of low!!

Oh right.. thanks a mill !.. I emailed de gamsat pple and they just sent an e mail sayin no exact date was available and that it would be "mid-november" .. i think last year they were released the 22nd so no doubt it'l be round the same date if not later.. Jesus its a long long 7 weeks !! cant wait to just know either way !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 flipper20000

Tried logging in for the GAMSAT results, with email and candidate number, and it said 'that the results will be available after the 16th of November'. Pity it aint this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cliona88

I've been studying since the exam in September because i didn't want to risk losing two months of studying to find out that I had done badly in the London exam. What do you guys reckon would be a 'safe' score? I really have my hopes set on RCSI, I was thinking if I got over 65 I wouldn't repeat it, that'd be wishful thinking though!

I think its really hard to say. UCD is the only place I want to go and I figure 62 is a safe score to get in there. I think it went from 61 to 59 last year. Even 61 could be ok. If I'm just on the button I'll sit it again though. Such a pain!!!!! Its an absolute dog of an exam. Best of luck!

Thursday 6 am!

"Your 2011 GAMSAT UK Results will be available from 06.00 (GMT) on Thursday 17 November 2011"

Tomorrow will be hell ... good luck lads

Best of luck everyone... hope you get what you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

Good luck everyone, hope you're happy with what you get tomorrow! That wait is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

best of luck to those awaiting results.....will never forget the pain of waiting for the gamsat results a few months ago.

They're up!!! Good luck

well lads... 57 .... safe for UL?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 GOING4BROKE

56..I probably don't have a chance considering the exam is getting more competitive. Encouraging non the less since I sat it with only 6 weeks study. How did others get on?

62!! Hopefully UCD beckons for me. I don't think I'll be resitting. Hopefully they won't tell us next week that they're slashing places. The essays saved me... Bigtime! Happy out though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Med_uk_12

got a 64, pretty happy with it. hoping to get into Notts or SGUL with a bit of luck! anyone else off to the UK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 noname10000

54..guessing I don't have a chance either? Not bad for 2 weeks study mind you.

fair play to ye all !! anythin over 60 is great !! id be delighted !! I wouldnt have a chance of an interview for SGUL or Swansea with 57 would I ??

I think wit 54 you could be safe!! I was tempted in ringin UL and askin their predictions but I suppose they havint a clue yet cause the march exams have not been sat.......... but its up to you whether you want to take the chance... If it was me I probably would take the chance....
    I think what i'm goin to do is just see what happens whenever they release the cut offs and if I dont get enough for anywhere I'll just have to sit it again in September 2012 or march 2013.. simple as that .. Myt get a bit of time to do a bit of travellin or somethin or earn money !!!!!! .. but , for myself anyways, I just cant justify puttin myself under that stress again when I would have got UL or UCC on this years cut offs .. Plus I'm in final year in college so Iv enough to be worryin about besides when to fit in GAMSAT study...Ill Focus on this degree first and I'll focus on GAMSAT after if needs be ..

Take it as it comes I suppose....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Bella885041

Hey guys,

I got a 60 and am really thrilled; I just hope that the cut-off for dublin doesn't go up from last year. RCSI was 59 and UCD was 58* in 2011; RCSI was 63 in 2010 and UCD was 60* in 2010.I heard that the cutoff scores all went down last year because UCD added more places... So would reckon it will stay relatively similar or should I retake the exam!?! :confused:

I got 53, I'm delighted with that though because I thought is do so Much worse! my science prep involved reading the first three chapters of organic chemistry for dummies, which definitely showed in my terrible section 3 score. I'm happy that I started studying the day after I got back from england! Congratulations to you who don't have to sit it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭lonelywanderer

Hey guys,

I got a 60 and am really thrilled; I just hope that the cut-off for dublin doesn't go up from last year. RCSI was 59 and UCD was 58* in 2011; RCSI was 63 in 2010 and UCD was 60* in 2010.I heard that the cutoff scores all went down last year because UCD added more places... So would reckon it will stay relatively similar or should I retake the exam!?! :confused:

In the same boat as you, but with a 59. I've decided to resit the exam but I'm finding it harder to motivate myself second time around (hence why I'm on here and not studying right now!). With 59 I'm pretty much guaranteed UL and UCC but I'd prefer Dublin as I'm from there and means I wouldn't need to pay rent. Having said that, I've lived away from home the last 3 years and readjusting to living at home again will be tough in my opinion, so the silver lining if I don't get Dublin is that I won't be living at home age 28 when I finish GEM.

As for the cut-offs, I'm confident they won't go up very much, and may even come down a bit. I'm basing this on the fact that in 2010 for example, when UCD was 60 and UL 57 or so, you'll have had lots of people just missing out and reapplying for the following year. Last year must have been a bit of an opening of the floodgates with lots of repeat applicants and people with relatively low scores (compared to previous years) getting through. That should mean that this year there will be the lowest number of applicants in a few years and that should result in a lowering of the average, and therefore a lowering of the cut-off scores. That's my theory anyway and I'm sticking to it to make me feel better about not studying much for March!