Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lower leg pain when I run!!!

• 06-11-2011 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭

Hi all, I started running during the summer and fell in love with it very quickly! It was one of the best decisions I've made, so, I recently went out for a quick run, 30 mins. At the end of my run I realised that I had pain in my lower legs outside of both shins. The right was worse. I went into Run Ways on Parnell st. and had a quick gait analysis and I was told that had over-pronation on my right foot, the guy said he could sell me a pair of runners to help with this, but he thought it wasn't necessary (which I thought was decent of him). I was also told that the problem wasn't shin splints. Its about a week or more since the injury and I attempted to run twice, once being just this evening and the problem started to creep back in to my(right) leg, so I stopped. What should I do from here, do I need more rest, should I focus on some leg exercises for the affected areas...please help. I'll be visiting a phisio this week I think, can anyone recommend a good one in Dublin. Any advice and experience is greatly appreciated. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

pARTner81 wrote: »
    Hi all, I started running during the summer and fell in love with it very quickly! It was one of the best decisions I've made, so, I recently went out for a quick run, 30 mins. At the end of my run I realised that I had pain in my lower legs outside of both shins. The right was worse. I went into Run Ways on Parnell st. and had a quick gait analysis and I was told that had over-pronation on my right foot, the guy said he could sell me a pair of runners to help with this, but he thought it wasn't necessary (which I thought was decent of him). I was also told that the problem wasn't shin splints. Its about a week or more since the injury and I attempted to run twice, once being just this evening and the problem started to creep back in to my(right) leg, so I stopped. What should I do from here, do I need more rest, should I focus on some leg exercises for the affected areas...please help. I'll be visiting a phisio this week I think, can anyone recommend a good one in Dublin. Any advice and experience is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Mod: as per charter rules we can't offer medical advice/diagnosis however recommendations for physio's are grand for this thread

Personally I go to Vinny Mulvey, an experienced runner himself has never steered me wrong as of yet and a few people on here use him

http://www.vinnymulveyfitness.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭pARTner81

ecoli wrote: »
    Mod: as per charter rules we can't offer medical advice/diagnosis however recommendations for physio's are grand for this thread

Personally I go to Vinny Mulvey, an experienced runner himself has never steered me wrong as of yet and a few people on here use him

http://www.vinnymulveyfitness.com/

Ok, sorry. I should have read the charter rules first. Thanks for the link I'll check that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Sounds like common or garden shin splints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

RayCun wrote: »
    Sounds like common or garden shin splints

This has been happening to me recently so I really hope its not shin splints!! :eek:

OP, I find bending my toes backwards untill I feel a stretch in my *shin muscle helps relieve the pain images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTKmevYKIAnfUJRakRK7Q_L7OxxTzE_elXo2T-GW8kbM9nMwBGMSQ

*dont know the real name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭pARTner81

I went to a phisio today and he gave my a good rub down and a good routine of exercises. I have to go back on friday. I was very glad to have done something about it and not to just run through the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Mossess

Sorry for just jumping in here with such a vague comments, I have a few things to say.
    If you’re like me and it sounds like you might be then these will apply.

1 – you need to start very slowly, build up to a 30 minute run over the course of about 6 weeks.
    2 – You need to learn how to run.

I started running over the course of 2 years about seven times. Each time I was shot down with good auld shin splints. I spent a fortune on orthotics, running shoes, compression, everything and anything that might make a difference. Nothing worked. The more money I spent the worse the injury was when it hit.

The eventual formula that worked was to just slow everything down, and very short distances for a few weeks.
    I found that once I got to the 30 minutes mark (distance does not matter) that everything else fell into place. I started dropping a few pounds, the miles started getting easier, eating better to run better. It all just worked.

Point number 2 about learning how to run. Many years later I’m still working on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

I've had similar pains before. When getting back into serious rugby after a break of over a year. I had pains in my feet and shins which didnt seem to be localised in any of the muscles but felt like it was in the bone or elsewhere but they went away after a month. I figured it was just my ligaments etc getting used to it and toughening up.