Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Secret Santa 2011?

• 05-11-2011 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭

One of the other forums I frequent does a Secret Santa / Chris Kindle / Kris Kringle (or whatever you want to call it?) each year and it's typically quite successful.

Last one I can see on Boards was in 2008 which didn't look very popular to be honest.

Any interest in doing one this year? Similar stipulations as above - €10 maximum spending price etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bah Humbug

Santy is a bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Lalala I can't hear you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I did it with a private forum last year and I never got my present :( *sniff*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This would never work. You couldn't hold people accountable on such a big forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Oh I'd be very paranoid about a stranger on the internet having my name and address.

Very paranoid indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

We could do a minimum post requirement type thing.. or something like that.

And it's a tenner... jaysus... don't know about the rest of ye could live with the possibility of losing a tenner (ex postage).
    Oh I'd be very paranoid about a stranger on the internet having my name and address.

Very paranoid indeed.
    No need to be...

PS - your new wallpaper is lovely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I'd do it, sounds like a bit of fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Yeah, job to organise a píss up to be honest...... but ...

Strangers exchanging presents, Christmas music, really, really bad lighting, mince pies, and loads of drink, Christ the porno potential is endless. Count me in! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

bet the mods ban whoever they get, cheapskates :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

This would never work. You couldn't hold people accountable on such a big forum.

I organized one of these on this very forum a very years ago (maybe 2006?) and it was very successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Sorry to break it to ye people Santa does not exist.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Santa rawks
    Family site :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I don't get how it would work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Nicely in theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Abi wrote: »
    Family site :mad:

Its St. Nicholas not Santa for the childers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Tusky wrote: »
    I organized one of these on this very forum a very years ago (maybe 2006?) and it was very successful.

Whe did ye hand over the presents, at a beers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Like how the normal one works - you forget all about it till the day then you're left running to the garage and buying 10e worth of engine coolant as a present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Yeah oddballs like you :D

Shurrup you or i'll take the paddle to ya just the way ya like it :p

What I mean is how do you receive the pressie? Via post or at a group meet?

Post, group meet would make it more expensive on some people and impossible for others I'd imagine. Receive a name and address via pm or e-mail and send em a pressie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

MungBean wrote: »
    Receive a name and address via pm or e-mail and send em a pressie.

What if Flutt's doing the sending?

**Shudder**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

This actually sounds pretty interesting!
    *suddenly realises the possibility of no one here knowing me*
    oh... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I did it with a private forum last year and I never got my present :( *sniff*

Bold List:

You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I'm in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Sounds pretty cool, defo be up for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

themadchef wrote: »
    Yeah oddballs like you :D

Shurrup you or i'll take the paddle to ya just the way ya like it :p

Always trying to beat me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I participated a few years ago. Everyone who was interested sent name/address/their interests to the chap who organised it. Then you got a name assigned to you and bought your pressie and sent through post. You would post in a thread when you sent your present and made sure to allow for time for those living abroad and so on to get it there before Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Ruu wrote: »
    I participated a few years ago. Everyone who was interested sent name/address/their interests to the chap who organised it. Then you got a name assigned to you and bought your pressie and sent through post. You would post in a thread when you sent your present and made sure to allow for time for those living abroad and so on to get it there before Christmas.

Who got the erotic chocolate collection?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

You will either smell 'it' in the postbox or notice the postman is surrounded by Blue Bottles. So at least you will have a warning.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Its St. Nicholas not Santa for the childers.
    http://www.stnicholascenter.org/pages/ireland/
    Saint Nicholas is buried in County Kilkenny. The grave is said to be in the ruined Church of St Nicholas, Jerpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

**Shudder**

He'll send you a nice surprise.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If anyone wants to send me on a tenner, just drop me a PM & I'll send on my address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

If anyone wants to send me on a tenner, just drop me a PM & I'll send on my address.

Like a rentboy?

Saint Nicholas is buried in County Kilkenny. The grave is said to be in the ruined Church of St Nicholas, Jerpoint.

Dig the fcuker up !!! He probably brought most of the good stuff with him !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I'm in. I bagsy Abi!

I'm in. Who's organising this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I want someone in the 1%.

(Someone generous)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

MugMugs wrote: »
    I'm in. I bagsy Abi!

There goes the 'secret' bit :rolleyes:

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

http://samirbalwani.com/power-online-community-reddit-gifts/

Ya you're probably right.

I for one think it's a brilliant idea. Might be too late to start organising it now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm in, I'll just take the tenner though, no need to send a pressie. I'll provide my PayPal to make it easier...

Now just to set up another 500 boards accounts with the same idea.