Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plum job for Kevin Cardiff

• 03-11-2011 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Government is nominating Big Kev for a plum 6 year contract in the European Court of Auditors

This is the guy responsible for the 3.5 Billion accountancy cock-up uncovered this week. I hope they supply him with a calculator over in Brussels.

Why is he still knocking around anyway? The FG govt promised to sack him after we voted out the previous shower of runts.

The reason for giving him his P45; he was intimately complicit in sending our economy off the edge of a cliff.
    The Fianna Fail govt. relied heavily on his advice, and in their last weeks in office, holed up in their downfall bunker, they stated; "As the financial crisis developed over the past 18 months, Mr Cardiff was asked to concentrate solely on financial services matters. In this role, he has worked closely with the Minister in formulating the Government’s response to the crisis."
    Is there no way to get rid of this guy without giving him a lucrative nomination in Europe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

recedite wrote: »
    This is the guy responsible for the 3.5 Billion accountancy cock-up uncovered this week.

wow, things must be tough in the Department of Finance if the Secretary General is carrying out work like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Mary Lou had a go at the Tanaiste today as to why the man responsible isn't being held accountable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭doc_17

As if Mary Lou would do a better job.

And as far as i know it was only his fault if you accept that he is responsible for the actions of every single person in the DoF?

It's not like he tried to cover it up is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

doc_17 wrote: »

And as far as i know it was only his fault if you accept that he is responsible for the actions of every single person in the DoF?

It's not like he tried to cover it up is it?

Mary Lou was not elected to be able to do that job, he was (not elected but hired) and he has not done it well at all. He should resign and if not he should be fired.

He does not have control over his department and he shouldn't be able to fob it of by saying he just didn't have any knowledge of this particular issue. If he has a problem getting the info from people under his control thats his problem, if he doesn't have the correct procedures in place to receive this information thats his problem.
    He should fire the relevant personnel involved or admit incompetency and resign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Extraordinary criticism. How are things going to change if that is the stock, biased answer to serious questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Government are playing a blinder with this muppet, can't sack him (public servant so untouchable, thank you unions) so they done the next best thing, offloaded him to Europe. So in effect, they have got rid of him. Muppets over there can have him. :) Only fear I have, is that they will see his huge cock up and change their mind about taking him...:(

Mary Lou was not elected to be able to do that job, he was (not elected but hired) and he has not done it well at all. He should resign and if not he should be fired.

He does not have control over his department and he shouldn't be able to fob it of by saying he just didn't have any knowledge of this particular issue. If he has a problem getting the info from people under his control thats his problem, if he doesn't have the correct procedures in place to receive this information thats his problem.

Reasonable position to take but if he did know and did nothing about it then I would agree with you. Not sure we should be firing people when their suborinates deliberately keep information from them.
    Happyman42 wrote: »
    Extraordinary criticism. How are things going to change if that is the stock, biased answer to serious questions?

It's not extraordinary at all. Nor biased either. What has she ever done to convince anyone that she would be in any useful to government.

Plus John McGuinness on the PAC as well giving out about mismanagement makes my stomach turn

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

Jobs for the boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Plus John McGuinness on the PAC as well giving out about mismanagement makes my stomach turn
    I think John McGuinness is doing a fine job on teh PAC. Why does your stomach turn?

And as far as i know it was only his fault if you accept that he is responsible for the actions of every single person in the DoF??
    Is a general responsible for his soldiers? If they lose a battle does he deny all responsibility and blame them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

n97 mini wrote: »

not really from that article IMO. It's an error that made a 2% difference, hardly the end of the world, happens all the time in companies and countries all over the world. Sure Germany found 55bn this week too.

Can happen to anyone or any business and it's been found and corrected anyway.

I really think this whole thing is blown way way out of proportion tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Our Kevin has brains to burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

ebbsy wrote: »
    Our Kevin has brains to burn.

We will have a grand old blaze so. Burn the bond holders and use Cardiff's brains as an accelerant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

It's about accountability, or lack of it, at the top.
    Cowen, Lenihan and Cardiff made poor decisions which destroyed our economy.
    Of those three, Cardiff is the only one still in a position to make monumental cock-ups, and that's what he continues to do. Naturally, he still thinks he's a genius....
    The Indo; "He claimed that a helmsman charged with steering a ship during a storm should not be blamed for the storm before adding that his new job in Luxembourg would be a "doddle."

I think John McGuinness is doing a fine job on teh PAC. Why does your stomach turn?

Considering it was his party that wrecked the country's economy and spent recklessly what right does he have to lecture anyone about any aspect of the public finances?

n97 mini wrote: »
    And as far as i know it was only his fault if you accept that he is responsible for the actions of every single person in the DoF??
    Is a general responsible for his soldiers? If they lose a battle does he deny all responsibility and blame them?

Bit like The Art of War! If he directed them to cover it up it's a whole different ball game. Otherwise focus on the people who covered it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Delegatus non potest delegare.
    Or roughly speaking , you cant blame the little guys under you or the buck stops here or ..etc,etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

He and anybody else responsible in his department should be Fired with immediate effect. Nothing else would be right in this case, its plain and simple incompetence and he is obviously not fit for purpose if on his watch this can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭fliball123

There is more to this than meets the eye..I was watching the oireachtas report last night and this guy was being questioned by mary lou and Shane Ross the guy was so blazee about the whole thing..when asked if there should be consequences he spouted yes I will have to look into this and make sure it doesnt happen again...so in other words just do the job that he is paid to do...you could see Ross getting more and more frustrated at his attitude and this guy cannot be fired..Way to go Union bosses Begg and Doran stand up and take a bow...This is incredible that this guy will actually get a promotion no consequences?? If I misplace 10k in my company I would be fired...But how convenient for the gov that this has now over shadowed the anglo bond holder payments...Something stinks and it aint my socks...hang on ..2 things stink :)

There shouldnt be some kangaroo court debate and inquiry they should be sacked, simple as. All teh talking heads in the world are not going to change the fact that this guy and his department are beyond useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

not really from that article IMO. It's an error that made a 2% difference, hardly the end of the world, happens all the time in companies and countries all over the world. Sure Germany found 55bn this week too.

Would love to know the business that wouldnt miss 3.5 billion euro.
    Missing this means we have to pay higher interest rate on our loans.

If this guy isnt able to catch a double booking entry this large, what else has he missed?
    The banking system on the brink of collaspe maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

What individual uncovered the accounting error? Maybe they should be given a promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

It was the NTMA and I don't understand why they should get a promotion for just doing their job.

Why not give someone a promotion in recognition for doing their job well?
    As opposed to promoting someone to get rid of them ;) (Yes that's you Kevin)
    Or just giving them increments and promotions based on the fact that they just "showed up" over a certain number of years.

bbsrs wrote: »
    What individual uncovered the accounting error? Maybe they should be given a promotion.

By the same logic the people that ignored/didnt recognise the problem even though multiple emails were sent on the subject should all be fired with immediate effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Why not give someone a promotion in recognition for doing their job well?
    As opposed to promoting someone to get rid of them ;) (Yes that's you Kevin)
    Or just giving them increments and promotions based on the fact that they just "showed up" over a certain number of years.

Aye.

Reward based on merit. In Ireland, that only exists in theory in a HR book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1107/finance.html

I like this lady. She has got balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

It's a disgraceful decision by the government to press ahead with Cardiff's appointment. They will lose a lot of credibility after this.

Its hard to lose something they never had, this shower are all long time TD's and as such are part of the same boys club that has been in place for decades.

The fact that enda is the gaffer purely by being less rubbish than brian cowen is evidence enough that they have no credibility.

Zamboni wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1107/finance.html

I like this lady. She has got balls.

Not my usual reason for liking a lady :) but I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭moceri

This story was also carried by BBC Radio 4 last weekend.

The job pays 180k plus generous pension and resettlement allowance at the term end.

It seems that several members of the European Court of Auditors are furious that Kevin Cardiff is being foisted on them. He will be interviewed by them on the 28th Nov and he is in for a good grilling.

Marta Andreasen did morning interviews on RTE and Newstalk last Friday.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marta_Andreasen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Eh if you made an error that was 2% of the companies debt, you'd be fired for gross incompetence or made redundant and someone hired to replace you with a different job title.

It is only working for the government it seems that they just promote you out and wonder why everyone has such a problem with the policy.

thebman wrote: »
    Eh if you made an error that was 2% of the companies debt, you'd be fired for gross incompetence or made redundant and someone hired to replace you with a different job title.

It is only working for the government it seems that they just promote you out and wonder why everyone has such a problem with the policy.

This is the sad reality of all of this, in any normal company He and andbody involved in this enormous cock-up would be gone last week. What do we get? nobody sanctioned and the guy in charge of the whole mess put up for a handy position backed by the cabinet.

Its a disgrace and further proof that this is a banana republic we live in were the public service and the goverment see their own interests as more important than the entire countries.

I have said it before but i think its time to seriously look at leaving this kip and leave this shower of spoofers and wastrels to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Government is nominating Big Kev for a plum 6 year contract in the European Court of Auditors

This is the guy responsible for the 3.5 Billion accountancy cock-up uncovered this week. I hope they supply him with a calculator over in Brussels.

Why is he still knocking around anyway? The FG govt promised to sack him after we voted out the previous shower of runts.

The reason for giving him his P45; he was intimately complicit in sending our economy off the edge of a cliff.
    The Fianna Fail govt. relied heavily on his advice, and in their last weeks in office, holed up in their downfall bunker, they stated; "As the financial crisis developed over the past 18 months, Mr Cardiff was asked to concentrate solely on financial services matters. In this role, he has worked closely with the Minister in formulating the Government’s response to the crisis."
    Is there no way to get rid of this guy without giving him a lucrative nomination in Europe?

Apparently his new job will be a 'doddle' compared to his current one. You couldn't make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

liammur wrote: »
    Apparently his new job will be a 'doddle' compared to his current one. You couldn't make it up.

Just as well he is not up for the current one, he needs something simpler. Job for the incompetents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭mistermouse

We've been sending incompentent people to Europe for years, look at our MEPS! Having said that we elect a similiar calibre to the Dail for the most part.

The one thing good to come out of this is that people might start looking at the calibre of our Civil Service, who are the real government and never change, elections or not.

http://www.herald.ie/news/meps-get-behind-cardiff-after-critical-emails-leak-2945995.html

Government parties now "circling the wagons" in support of the nomination.
    The important thing for them now is to avoid a climbdown, and to "save face".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 catser6767

Blown way out of proportion, its more than the budget cuts for the entire country this year. He should be sacked. I can guarentee you a major error like that in the private sector and he would be joining the dole queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭waitingforBB

But thats the whole point. He is not in the private sector. He is a highly paid PS who is less than 2 years into a 7 year contract.

Options for the government at the moment (who want to get rif of him from the dept of finance) are:

1) foist him out to this european position where he can do less damage to the intrinsic economy. They have backed him for this and will do so to the death (note the repeated mantra that he is the most 'technically qualified' for the role) while never saying he is 'capable' of doing the role. Typical PS progression...time served to he is qualified...

2) exit him from the Dept of finance position which will force the gov to pay him a massive pay off. this would mean massive press coverage of the payoff of another failed PS exec...

Enda and the gov have made their position clear. They want him out and the best way is to move him to Europe. The press slaughter of buying him out of his contract and paying him his massive pension is less palatable.

Its all PR folks......

HE is out of the job he is in, its just how they frame it...

No wonder the European folks are baulking at getting our inadequates...(again)

note the repeated mantra that he is the most 'technically qualified' for the role

LOL It's a perfect example of being damned with faint praise.
    Also allows the politicians a get-out clause if it all turns sour; "Well, I never actually said he was the best person for the job"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Something stinks in all of this Cardiff debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 HarryL

The most alarming quote I heard was the one about the vote not reflecting the mood of the meeting.
    Surely that's the point of a vote, especially a secret ballot, the VOTE very often DOES NOT reflect the perceived mood? That's why we have secret ballots.To find out people's real opinion.