Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is this a good set up

• 03-11-2011 10:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

thinking of buying a tikka t3 223 for foxing just woundering what are your views on this rifle and would a Hawke Night Eye 6.5-20x50 Scope be suitable or would i need a scope a bit bigger.

got a very good price on a brand new tikka rifle hawk scope bipod and mod in sportsden yesterday just woundering is this a good set up

also what what do use think of the .17hmr for foxing?
    the only thing thats putting me of the .17 is i think the bullet are to light can you get a heavery bullet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

wwwboof wrote: »
    thinking of buying a tikka t3 223 for foxing just woundering what are your views on this rifle and would a Hawke Night Eye 6.5-20x50 Scope be suitable or would i need a scope a bit bigger.

got a very good price on a brand new tikka rifle hawk scope bipod and mod in sportsden yesterday just woundering is this a good set up

the only thing thats putting me of the .17 is i think the bullet are to light can you get a heavery bullet?

For foxing the first set up mentioned is perfect.

I wouldnt bother with .17. .223 is the way to go and the Tikka is a fine gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

The tikka is one of the most popular rifles around, so you can't go wrong there. What model are you looking at?

Definitely stick to the 223.

I would consider investing in a better quality scope. In my experience that scope is ok for rimfire but not great on larger calibers. You will get the best out of the rifle with a good scope on top.

Perhaps go second hand. There are some good deals in the for sale section here at there moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

If you're looking for a dedicated foxing gun go for the .223
    The .17hmr is capable of doing the job but only out to about 130 or so yards. You can get a 20gr bullet but there is very little difference in power between that and the 17g . The only difference is the 20g is not polymer tipped and wont explode on impact like the 17g. Its really designed for small game where you wish to consume the meat and not damage it. Go for the .223 and you wont regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭wwwboof

i hope to get the tikka hunter i dont like them plastic looking stocks not my thing.

what type of scope would be a better option to suit it also what mod?
    i will be trading in a browing shotgun so hopefully get a good deal on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

i hope to get the tikka hunter i dont like them plastic looking stocks not my thing.

what type of scope would be a better option to suit it also what mod?
    i will be trading in a browing shotgun so hopefully get a good deal on it.

You can get wood stocks on Tikka's too.
    If your looking for a dedicated foxing rifle .223 is probably your man in terms of variety of rifles, variety of ammo and value for money for both aswell.

It will all depend on how much you have to spend. If you have a good amount of cash there you should look at Schmidt and Bender, Zeiss, and Leupold.

If you buy a good scope now you will have it for life, even if you change the rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

The tikka in Sportsden that your talkin about is a great setup and the scope is a good one, was looking at the setup a few weeks ago. Unless your taking 200+ yard shots then the scope is fine for lamping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

The hawke scopes have very poor illuminated reticles. Its more like a red lamp shining down the scope. If Id money Id buy a nightforce after looking through one with an illuminated reticle. You get what you pay for when it comes to scopes.

Everyone is different, but in my experience illuminated reticles are over rated. Good quality glass and a large objective lense is what I like for low light shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i have the tikka t3 lite in 223 with a hawke scope and find it a grand accurate YOKE ! being honest i had the choice of two hawke scopes and that 6.5x20x50 i couldnt see a thing out of it it seemed to blurry so i opted for the lower mag and it is grand. i bought the tiika opti locks which i thought were the best investment seems to hold zero fine. 55 gr v max and there isnt a fox safe !:P just need to learn to call em in now!

i know when i was looking at the rifle yesterday i didn't really like the scope it did seem a bit blurry to me but would this size 6.5-20x50 be ok.

this is going to be my first foxing rifle so i want to spend in around the 300 mark on a scope

you wont be using out to the 20 magnification anyway trust me i think mine goes to 16 and i mainly keep it at 9 so.. the tikka is a cracking rifle but i have only owned two so i havent much experience but i did alot of research before i bought mine

Are you planning on getting a mod? If so I would say take the 200 quid from that and put it into a nice scope. Wait, and save up for the mod; it isn't necessary anyway, it just helps.

Most dealers will some good second hand glass for around 500 quid

Hibrion wrote: »
    Are you planning on getting a mod? If so I would say take the 200 quid from that and put it into a nice scope. Wait, and save up for the mod; it isn't necessary anyway, it just helps.

Most dealers will some good second hand glass for around 500 quid

i am in two minds about a mod i could get the mod at a later stage.
    i will have it treaded just in case i do decied to get one gonna do some research on a scope at the min and one of them no3 lamps they look the buissnes:D

All new tikkas now come threaded. Unless they have iron sights.

charlie10 wrote: »
    i have the tikka t3 lite in 223 with a hawke scope and find it a grand accurate YOKE ! being honest i had the choice of two hawke scopes and that 6.5x20x50 i couldnt see a thing out of it it seemed to blurry so i opted for the lower mag and it is grand. i bought the tiika opti locks which i thought were the best investment seems to hold zero fine. 55 gr v max and there isnt a fox safe !:P just need to learn to call em in now!

just woundering charlie10 what was the other hawk scope you have and what sort of money was it?

:confused:its the nite eye 4x16x50 i think

If it's any help to you, I have a Night Eye on my 22, it's a 4-10 illuminated reticle on a good set of rings and mounts. The clarity is fine, but it isn't the best at holding a zero when compared with better brands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

When you pay Hawke money don't expect Zeiss or Swarowski, simple as. Having said that they're not that bad for the money but i'm quite sure Simon will be able to sort you out for a lot better a scope for a little extra.

thanks lads