Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on this guy ? motorheads

• 03-11-2011 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/driver-who-posted-reckless-antics-on-youtube-is-jailed-2924701.html
    HIS crazy driving antics -- captured on an internet video -- have been watched by more than 26,000 people. But Aaron Stanley had the brakes applied to his reckless driving when he was sentenced to four months in jail.

Stanley (22), from Annbrook Heights, Nenagh, Co Tipperary, was tracked down by gardai after he appeared on YouTube recklessly driving around east Clare in a 1993 Limerick-registered Toyota Starlet last year.

The joyriding episode, which was filmed on July 14, 2010, was brought to the attention of the gardai by people who became alarmed after viewing it.

Just two days before the incident took place, eight young men were killed in a two-car collision in the Inishowen peninsula, Co Donegal.

All the participants in the joyriding, including Stanley, are identifiable and no effort was made to hide the registration plates of two of the three vehicles involved.

Stanley is the only person to appear before the courts following the incident.

Stanley was at Killaloe District Court -- sitting in Ennis -- on Tuesday after he was charged with dangerous driving in Ogonnelloe, Co Clare, on the day the recording was made.

Nenagh solicitor Tony O'Malley said that as a consequence of the incident and the publicity it received last year, the defendant received a number of death threats and he had to go into hiding for a period of time.

Fatalities

He said the public mood at the time was very strong following the fatalities in Donegal.

Some of the incidents recorded in the video occurred while the three vehicles approached a school crossing.

At one stage, the front-seat passenger and Stanley stick their feet out of the front windows as they travel behind another car while oncoming traffic drives by them.

The video has been viewed on the internet more than 26,000 times.

The three vehicles are featured driving along the Killaloe to Ogonnelloe road in east Clare and also at Two Mile Gate alongside Lough Derg. It is understood that all those who appear in the video are from the Nenagh area.

Mr O'Malley said Stanley was a young man who had a fixation with vehicles and that the events started out as a high spirits caper. He said his client began playing to the camera, but recognised completely that his actions were reckless and dangerous.

On behalf of his client, Mr O'Malley apologised to the court for his actions.

Stanley has a string of previous convictions and received a three-month sentence last month for theft and unauthorised taking of a vehicle.

Judge Aeneas McCarthy sentenced him to four months imprisonment and disqualified him for driving for the next decade.

- Barry Duggan

didn't get a long enough sentence in my opinion.

I have no problem with car enthusiasts (most of them are responsible drivers and unfortunately get tarred with the same brush) ...but some people should not be permitted to drive...like this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

More bricks more bars. Cut welfare to nothing. :)

4 months in jail, fair play. Fully deserved. Seems he was a in trouble previously too. The drifting lads should get similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

10 year driving ban? Whoa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

i remember when that actually first popped up on here!

Boards 1 - Scumbag 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Personally, he is costing us money and as such I dont agree with the imprisonment.

Whilst I understand that a clear message must be sent to people acting like this (and not knowing his previous record which seems to be lenghty) if this was I where I dont have previous convictions I would be disappointed with a jail term.

I'd be costing the state money in terms of my upkeep in prison. My job would be lost therefore my income taxes would be gone and I'd be on the Dole. I'd also lose my house and as a result, would default and head off to Canada.

Thats assuming he is a mug like me though and effectively working to pay off the countries greed.

I would have been happier to see him get a life time ban and put on a community work scheme and ankle tagged.

I remember the video and must say it was quite distressing to watch his flippance when he was driving. :confused:

He did'nt think of the Children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sentence sounds way over the top to me. Stupid kid does stupid thing, nobody gets hurt. Had he been caught red-handed by Gardaí, rather than having posted it on youtube, i'd say the sentence would have been a lot lighter. This strikes me as another example of judges trying to pander to the mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I'm from Nenagh originally and have family living in the estate he's from.

Given his history and his utter stupidity, he deserves a longer sentence in my opinion.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Sentence sounds way over the top to me. Stupid kid does stupid thing, nobody gets hurt. Had he been caught red-handed by Gardaí, rather than having posted it on youtube, i'd say the sentence would have been a lot lighter. This strikes me as another example of judges trying to pander to the mob.

He's a convicted car thief, I would think it was reckoned that he was due a spell inside.

RoverJames wrote: »
    He's a convicted car thief, I would think it was reckoned that he was due a spell inside.
    I missed that - in fairness that and the 'string of previous convictions' put a different colour on things.

Yep, as you say the sentence would be debatably OTT for what he did but the other stuff just compounded it, local AGS and the legal system no doubt view this lad as a pain in the hole that a spell inside might sort him out.

For folk who aren't involved in drugs, armed robbery etc jail is awful and a right good deterrent. From the video they all seemed gnomey rather than scummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭ANSI

he is a dope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

http://carinsurancefornewcar.com/car-insurance-videos/so-called-nenagh-feins-flv/

The video was posted and commented on here some months ago.

Look at the comment from 2kmell11 about half way down the page, claims to be Stanley's girlfriend.

"The Hammer" and "The Stan" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭ANSI

Mr Magners wrote: »
    http://carinsurancefornewcar.com/car-insurance-videos/so-called-nenagh-feins-flv/

The video was posted and commented on here some months ago.
    i have it on DVD from when on you tube as the so called nenagh feins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,914 ✭✭✭Alkers

Anan1 wrote: »

The sentence is "way over the top" only as it says he has a string of previous convictions. Not like it was his first brush with the law.

Simona1986 wrote: »
    The sentence is "way over the top" only as it says he has a string of previous convictions. Not like it was his first brush with the law.
    Already answered.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

he deserves a good beating tbh