Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Lack of research experience, disadvantage for applying to PhDs?

• 03-11-2011 12:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭

I'm currently in my third year of my undergrad degree and up until now my long term plans were to do a PhD and go into research.

However after a year with reoccurring mental health related setbacks I underperformed in my summer exams and ended up with a 2.2. While not a major set back it does mean that I'm unlikely to get any summer research in Ireland or abroad.

Does a lack of experience (aside from the final year project) impair ones chances of getting a PhD?

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,008 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

I dont think so. Once you've done your primary degree you are qualified to apply for a phd. Obviously, if you've done some research before it helps your case, but in most cases (in my experience) previous experience is a 'good to have' but not a 'must have' requirement in phd advertisements.