Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car of the year 2012

• 02-11-2011 8:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

the IMWA have chosen the 10 finalists for car of the year.

Which one would you pick and why?

Ford C-MAX

Ford Focus

Honda CR-Z

Hyundai i40

Kia Picanto

Kia Rio

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe

Mercedes-Benz SLK

Peugeot 508

Range Rover Evoque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Honda CR-Z, simply because it reminds me of the CRX.

Whats the betting the Focus (in silver) will win it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ford C-MAX

Yes for looks and pretty much every bar reliability.

Ford Focus

No, the hatch is horrendously ugly.

Honda CR-Z

Yes, because it's a manual hybrid, no because there's no reason why someone should pick it over the Scirocco.

Hyundai i40

Possibly, yes. Saw one in the Hyundai showroom when I was buying parts, it was locked, but I was impressed with what I saw.

Lovely car, wouldn't see it COTY worthy, though.

Mercedes-Benz SLK

Again, as above.

Peugeot 508

Lovely cars, bit ugly. The i40 wins over it for me.

Range Rover Evoque

Possibly, it would be a toss up between this and the i40 for me, purely because of it's boldness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

The Irish car of the year finalists/winner always depress me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Like the recent Presedential candidates. None of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

The IMWA depress me. How they condensed this initial list (below) of 46 down to this ten is beyond me. Is it blindfold and pin in the page stuff?

Only in Ireland could we have (nearly all) part time journalists with not the first clue about cars deciding the destination of the car of the year award.

1. Audi A6
    2. Audi A7
    3. BMW 1 Series
    4. BMW 1 Series M
    5. BMW 6 Series
    6. BMW X3
    7. Chrysler Delta
    8. Chrysler Voyager
    9. Citroen C4
    10. Citroen DS3 Racing
    11. Citroen DS4
    12. Ford C-MAX
    13. Ford Focus
    14. Ford Grand C-MAX
    15. Honda CR-Z
    16. Hyundai i40
    17. Hyundai ix20
    18. Jeep Compass
    19. Jeep G Cherokee
    20. Kia Picanto
    21. Kia Rio
    22. Lexus CT200h
    23. Mazda5
    24. Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe
    25. Mercedes-Benz CLS
    26. Mercedes-Benz SLK
    27. Mini Coupe
    28. Mitsubishi Outlander
    29. Nissan Leaf
    30. Nissan Micra
    31. Nissan Murano
    32. Peugeot 508
    33. Renault Megane Trophy
    34. Renault Wind
    35. Range Rover Evoque
    36. SEAT Alhambra
    37. SEAT Leon Cupra R
    38. Toyota L Cruiser
    39. Toyota Verso-S
    40. Toyota Yaris
    41. VW Golf R
    42. VW Jetta
    43. VW Passat
    44. VW Sharan
    45. VW Touareg
    46. VW Touran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

On behalf of Motors on boards.ie, I would like to nominate the Juke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Bodhan wrote: »

Which ever one has the cheapest motor tax and longest service interval! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Why is it that there hasn't been an expensive car to win it in around twenty years?

It seems that only family hatchbacks or supermini's are eligible for the award these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

bijapos wrote: »
    Honda CR-Z, simply because it reminds me of the CRX.

Whats the betting the Focus (in silver) will win it. :(

It will be the Ford Focus - not because it's the best but Ford have a high advertising spend which keeps the motoring press in jobs. Apologies for the cynicism but the ads are probably already prepared......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Whoever has the best goodie-bag for the journos!:D

Seriously, some awful tosh has won COTY both nationally and in Europe. Although the Porsche 928 did win it in '78.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

pburns wrote: »
    Seriously, some awful tosh has won COTY both nationally and in Europe. Although the Porsche 928 did win it in '78.:)

I think the Peugeot 307 was the worst winner.... Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Why is it that there hasn't been an expensive car to win it in around twenty years?

It seems that only family hatchbacks or supermini's are eligible for the award these days.

If you are rich enough to be able to afford a luxury car you probably dont need a panel of beards to tell you your aston martin/lambo/ferrari etc..is special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Can't speak for the current setup but many years ago I was told by a major importer that they had provided cars FOC for several Journos and their Spouses in the year that they won Irish COTY.

It was back in the Haughey era, I guess that was how things were done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The quality of motoring journalism in Ireland is terrible so their opinion on the car of the year couldn't have any less relevance to what is actually the best car of the year.:rolleyes:

Every one of them would be afraid of their life to say that something that isn't in a low tax band or economical or in any way flies in the face of the current green movement could be a good car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'm going to come to a boards meet, and kill you to death with your own shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

pburns wrote: »
    Whoever has the best goodie-bag for the journos!:D

The European one is a joke, if there's been a new car launched in Italy that year, no matter how poor it is, it will win it...

Some godawful garbage on this list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Car_of_the_Year#Results:_1964.E2.80.932011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Owen wrote: »
    I'm going to come to a boards meet, and kill you to death with your own shoes.

Drive over him in a Juke, would be more apt :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

I see the Lexus ct200h came second in north America to the scion!!!!???!! (another Toyota brand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Dont want the focus to win because its a pile of ****e. Ford took a backwards step in terms of design. The only worthy winner on that shortlist is the C-MAX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Mc Love wrote: »
    Dont want the focus to win because its a pile of ****e. Ford took a backwards step in terms of design. The only worthy winner on that shortlist is the C-MAX

It's automatically a pile of shyte because of its looks? You should go into journalism:p
    It's probably the best car there, but that's not hard when the really good ones are excluded.

When are the results?

EPM wrote: »
    It's automatically a pile of shyte because of its looks? You should go into journalism:p
    It's probably the best car there, but that's not hard when the really good ones are excluded.

When are the results?
    I had considered it once upon a time. But is it really that good? No doubt it will probably win though. I think looks and design should play a part in it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

How are the Giuletta and the mito not even on the shortlist.

plonk wrote: »
    How are the Giuletta and the mito not even on the shortlist.

Last years cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭maddness

Should be really the BMW 1 M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

maddness wrote: »
    Should be really the BMW 1 M.

"But its road tax is 2100 per year."

Considering it's actually 1050.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

I'd like the Peugeot 508 to win because it's good value, good spec and goes on the smell of diesel. I got a little over 1200kms of mixed driving over a week of driving around Donegal. In SW version it's one of the nicest looking estates on the market.

The Ford Focus is a close second, Ford have properly moved on with the new version. It's not just a facelift, it's an entirely new car. The 1.6 95hp is a bit weedy but it does great MPG and there's a bit of value in the car once you stay away from the options list like the self park and road sign reader.

The one I think will win is the Range Rover Evoque only because it's a cheap Range Rover. While it's a decent car and all, the boggo version has a gear box that needs a bit of muscle to move it around and it's not all that comfortable to be in for extended periods.

The I40 could win it too, good looking car and decent price but the interior isn't as good as the Peugeot 508.

Sadly lacking off the list is the A6, the Megane RS (which makes me dribble with excitement) and the Mazda 5.

I've been taking entries on the site for who's going to win and most people are saying the 508 but then again most haven't driven the whole list. BTW I haven't driven the Mercs but then very few have, sales are bad this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Think its between the i40 & Evoque myself.

Is the DS5 too late to make the list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

i would like the 508 to win, looks well in estate form (sw)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the SLK or toureg are really the only possible ones on the list

is it just me or has car of the year just been going to whatever tasteless underpowered muck has the smallest engine in its class for the last while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I'll second that :D

I've just spent the past week in a rental one driving across Scotland and I was seriously impressed. The looks even grew on me :o

Maybe I should become a motoring journalist :p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Mc Love wrote: »
    Dont want the focus to win because its a pile of ****e. Ford took a backwards step in terms of design....

I hope you change your socks and jocks as fast as your opinion :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

the SLK or toureg are really the only possible ones on the list

is it just me or has car of the year just been going to whatever tasteless underpowered muck has the smallest engine in its class for the last while

That's a bit elitist...no reason why more affordable cars can't be more innovative...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Bodhan wrote: »
    Hey guys,

the IMWA have chosen the 10 finalists for car of the year.

Ford C-MAX

Ford Focus

Honda CR-Z

Hyundai i40

Kia Picanto

Kia Rio

Mercedes-Benz SLK

Peugeot 508

Range Rover Evoque

Irish Car of the year...

range rover evoquwhatever...

lol

right.

I hope you change your socks and jocks as fast as your opinion :D

Its starting to grow on me, and I knew you were going to call me up on that. I still think its a step backwards from the last model. It does seem smaller, both in boot size and passenger space.

Irish Journalists excel themselves yet again as Kia Rio wins.

The Continental Irish Car of the Year Awards were announced today at an Awards Ceremony in the Convention Centre, Dublin. The Overall winner and Continental Irish Car of the Year 2012 is:

The KIA RIO

The category winners were as follows:

Continental Irish Small Car of the Year 2012
    KIA Rio

Continental Irish Compact Family Car of the Year 2012
    Ford Focus

Continental Irish FamilyCar of the Year 2012
    Peugeot 508

Continental Irish Executive/Luxury Car of the Year 2012
    Range Rover Evoque

Continental Irish Performance Car of the Year 2012
    Mercedes Benz SLK

Continental Irish Van of the Year 2012
    Volkswagen Crafter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Cashel Mc

So you have sat in and driven the new Rio then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It's a sad sad day when a Kia is COTY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Panda Moanium

RedorDead wrote: »
    Irish Journalists excel themselves yet again as Kia Rio wins.

The Continental Irish Car of the Year Awards were announced today at an Awards Ceremony in the Convention Centre, Dublin. The Overall winner and Continental Irish Car of the Year 2012 is:

The KIA RIO

The category winners were as follows:

Continental Irish Small Car of the Year 2012
    KIA Rio

Continental Irish Compact Family Car of the Year 2012
    Ford Focus

Continental Irish FamilyCar of the Year 2012
    Peugeot 508

Continental Irish Executive/Luxury Car of the Year 2012
    Range Rover Evoque

Continental Irish Performance Car of the Year 2012
    Mercedes Benz SLK

Continental Irish Van of the Year 2012
    Volkswagen Crafter

Just as a point of interest, why did you feel the need to put that first line in? Presumably you don't agree with the choice of Rio then? Care to explain why, or is it just the lazy default position here on Motors to slam anything to do with Irish motoring journalism?

For what its worth (and yes I have driven it) I think the Rio is an excellent car, a million miles away from its predecessor, and is now a genuine rival to the likes of the Polo and Fiesta. In my opinion it is a worthy winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

So the best car they can think of as the best performance car money can buy turns out to be a hairdressers car. Great stuff lads.

I say screw them and give it to the motors forum right here on boards. Would be good craic having a poll to decide, better than those gobsh1te journalists. :D

Great win for Kia , just shows how far they have come along or how far back rivals have gone.

Its a car that does a job and does it very well indeed , better than the rest in its class , why should it not win? Because its a Kia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Cashel Mc wrote: »
    why should it not win?
    because the Ferrari 458 exists

Gophur wrote: »
    It's a sad sad day when a Kia Is COTY!

Because it's a Kia? You could say the same if a Skoda won it. Both brands images are in the gutter tbh. Kia make some excellent cars.

It really makes me laugh when a car is dismissed for No reason other than badge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Its a car that does a job and does it very well indeed , better than the rest in its class , why should it not win?

It doesn't have to be best to win its class, it just has to be the best car in its class launched this year.

The overall winner tends to be a bread-and-butter car, not a Merc or Range Rover, so it really only had to beat the Focus and 508.

There's also the fact that it's a huge step up for its maker, while the Focus and 508 are not.

The overall winner tends to be a bread-and-butter car, not a Merc or Range Rover, so it really only had to beat the Focus and 508.

There's also the fact that it's a huge step up for its maker, while the Focus and 508 are not.[/QUOTE]

Totally agree with you

Absurdum wrote: »
    because the Ferrari 458 exists

Irish car of the year .
    Not Monaco car of the year.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

I was at the do today, I thought it was a fair list of who won and the Kia deserved it.
    It's serious value for money and the Rio is possibly the best car they make, the Picantio and Sportage are close second.

The only one I'd change is the Merc, it doesn't deserve the win because the Renault Megane RS Trophy is a much better drivers performance car and better value for money.
    Plus people won't hate you because it's just a Renault, albeit a 40k one.

So you have sat in and driven the new Rio then?

Yes
    Just as a point of interest, why did you feel the need to put that first line in? Presumably you don't agree with the choice of Rio then? Care to explain why, or is it just the lazy default position here on Motors to slam anything to do with Irish motoring journalism?

For what its worth (and yes I have driven it) I think the Rio is an excellent car, a million miles away from its predecessor, and is now a genuine rival to the likes of the Polo and Fiesta. In my opinion it is a worthy winner.

Believe me I would love a reason to support Irish motoring journalism. Bar a few people doing something different. Bodhan on here being one, it is devoid of proper journalism.

The Kia is a fine car but it is in no way innovative nor is it the best car launched this year. Lets see how many other countries vote it coty.