Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supercross Cup Round 3, Corkagh Park

• 02-11-2011 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Registration for the third round of the Supercross Cup is closing tomorrow at 6pm. There has been great participation from all levels of rider for round 1 and 2, with the new caategories giving all abilities an appropriate level to race at.

Details are on the mtbireland cyclocross web page. Don't miss out, Corkagh is the flattest fastest venue to date with years as one of the finest locations for cyclocross racing in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rutrider

Here a cool video from the last round in Swords:

http://youtu.be/pZ9MFjvk2n0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Collumbo

Corkaigh park was insanely hard last year. Conditions were dry for it and as a result the speed for the first 15 minutes was just ridiculous! This year it'll be muddy after all the rain so there'll be sliding and plenty spills.. course should be a mess by the time the A race kicks off :)

Couldn't race in Swords because of injury, so can't wait for it...

Nice video alright (er... I made it!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 nattefrost

when is this happening, cant find and info on the website and i'm right beside corkagh park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spokeydokey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

This should be a really good spectator course. It's very easy to get to and you can park up right beside the course here. With the forecast of dry weather it would be worth taking a spin out to watch it.
    B race off at 11:30
    A race off at 13:00
    And to get you in the mood:

Although hopefully we won't get that sort of mud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Which is more entertaining to watch, A or B?

And by entertaining I mean suffering and crashes, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Lumen wrote: »

Whichever one you are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Raam wrote: »
    Whichever one you are doing.

I'm holding out for a C category.:)

Well I'll be doing the B one so you can throw beer/money at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭C3PO

Lumen wrote: »

Well I'm doing my first ever Cross race in the Bs ....... that should be entertaining (in a crashing and suffering kinda way!!)

But watching Robin Seymour in full flow is really not to be missed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭dooverylittle

RPL1 wrote: »
    Well I'm doing my first ever Cross race in the Bs ....... that should be entertaining (in a crashing and suffering kinda way!!)

But watching Robin Seymour in full flow is really not to be missed!

I went to the training for the first time on tuesday.
    The two lads Evan and Robin are ridiculously sound, organised and tolerant of joe average.

I dont know if either post here, but thanks for a great session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭davey101

Great race today, well done to Team WORC on another brilliantly run race. Roll on round 4!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

As always, a quick report on a great race: http://ryansherlock.blogspot.com/2011/11/2011-supercross-cup-round-3-corkagh.html

A fine day for riding bikes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭billy.fish

Folks, quick cross post from MTB Ireland:

Hi

My Ridley XRide (Colour - White) with Ultregra Groupset and Ksyrium Elite wheels was stolen from silver Berlingo Van during the A Race today; Gutted; the passenger door lock was popped. If anyone hears anything or comes across one for sale could you get in touch via this board or email conorqs(at)btinternet.com. Feckers even took my flask of coffee.

Conor Quinn Newry Wheelers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

billy.fish wrote: »
    Folks, quick cross post from MTB Ireland:

Hi

My Ridley XRide (Colour - White) with Ultregra Groupset and Ksyrium Elite wheels was stolen from silver Berlingo Van during the A Race today; Gutted; the passenger door lock was popped. If anyone hears anything or comes across one for sale could you get in touch via this board or email conorqs(at)btinternet.com. Feckers even took my flask of coffee.

Conor Quinn Newry Wheelers

I was watching the A race near the finish line, I notice a boy riding a white bike with drops looking too big for him, cycling away from on the opposite direction from the tarmac part of the course. I remember because I thought this bike was too big for him, but I was a bit far from him to make out the boy's face. That could or could not be the thief. I took lots of video footage, I will have a look at what I have.

EDIT: update ... no I have nothing on video :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Collumbo

I was chatting to a lady after the race whose car was also broken into - handbag and a few other things stolen. Absolute knackers. The Guards came and took reports shortly after.

I initially thought my spare wheels too were nicked, but I am assuming that someone picked up the wrong set afterwards as nobody claimed a set a mavics lying around long after the race... they would have been sitting beside mine in the pits. So if anyone has a set of Fulcrum 5's with schwalbe cxpro tyres, get in touch here with me. Thanks. (those cxpros are crap tyres... the ones I picked up were way better...!)

All crime aside, what a race. Pity my legs never woke up this morning. :rolleyes:

@Caroline_ie -- Thanks for the shouts! Head was spinning at the time...

There was a young lad cycling one bike that was too big for him, but he was hanging around for ages and mixing with everyone. Perhaps he was legit. Suggestion to organisers... Assign a marshal to the carpark. It will save some more heartache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Raam wrote: »
    There was a young lad cycling one bike that was too big for him, but he was hanging around for ages and mixing with everyone. Perhaps he was legit. Suggestion to organisers... Assign a marshal to the carpark. It will save some more heartache.

Was the kid about 12 with glasses and a cycling jersey & trackies on? If so, he's been at all the races, and is one of the racer's kids not a thief.

nak wrote: »
    Was the kid about 12 with glasses and a cycling jersey & trackies on? If so, he's been at all the races, and is one of the racer's kids not a thief.

Aye, that's the lad I saw. I figured he was the son of a racer. Just for the record: I'm not suggesting that he was a thief! (I know you didn't say I was.)

Here is the vid for the B Race, I think the 1st home subtitle is under the 2nd placed rider... oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Hearvee

Here's a few shots from Saturday's A race. Didn't make it over for the B
    race unfortunately. Click on any shot to see the full set.

6319845091_aac62e28c4.jpg

6320367748_f3b317d8ba.jpg

6320368486_4b4e947f66.jpg

6319847629_a194e9f2a2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

Great course great racing in A & B races.

Very fast, no chance to rest.

Great to see so many racing too.

Great effort by organisers again, WORC do an amazing amount of work.

Well done to all !!

I've bitten the bullet & am building cx bike.

Hope to be at training tomorrow night!!

I ll be the one at the back ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭C3PO

cipo wrote: »
    Hope to be at training tomorrow night!!

I ll be the one at the back ;-)

Not if I'm there you won't .....

My first race on Saturday - really "enjoyed" it! Managed to achieve my race target ...... wasn't last and wasn't lapped!! Reckon I've got the bug too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I think cyclocross looks great, i'd love to have a go.