Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ten best football films of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I really can't believe "When Saturday comes" isn't in that list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The Damned United and Fever Pitch are **** compared to the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

tommyhaas wrote: »
    The Damned United

Did Giles feature much more in the book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mike Bassett is clearly the best football film.

Honourable mention to My Left Peg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Escape to Victory and Football Factory for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Did Giles feature much more in the book?

I honestly can't really remember, but I'm sure he featured quiet a bit as the book hopped between the Leeds and Derby days. I saw the film about 2 years ago, and read the book probably 4/5 years ago, so I'd be hard pushed to tell you much about either, other then that I enjoyed the book and felt the film was a bit of a let down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Watched Offside a few months back, very strange, but good film nonetheless :o

It's about the troubles females go through to get to a football match in Iran.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Wahey, "Mean Machine" is on the list! :)
    I enjoyed "Football Factory" and "Green Street", but they've got feck-all football in them.
    "Looking For Eric" is a lovely, lovely film, but is also lacking in sporting action.

What was the name of that film BBC did about Bobby Charlton/ the Busby Babes/the Munich Air Crash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I honestly can't really remember, but I'm sure he featured quiet a bit as the book hopped between the Leeds and Derby days. I saw the film about 2 years ago, and read the book probably 4/5 years ago, so I'd be hard pushed to tell you much about either, other then that I enjoyed the book and felt the film was a bit of a let down

The reason I asked was because Johnny Giles took legal action and certain things in earlier editions of the book had to be left out

http://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/news/latest-news/central-leeds/leeds_united_legend_wins_apology_from_author_1_2170300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

Maybe not the best but "There's Only One Jimmy Grimble" deserves a mention IMO, good film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Wahey, "Mean Machine" is on the list! :)
    I enjoyed "Football Factory" and "Green Street", but they've got feck-all football in them.
    "Looking For Eric" is a lovely, lovely film, but is also lacking in sporting action.

What was the name of that film BBC did about Bobby Charlton/ the Busby Babes/the Munich Air Crash?

It was called "United" afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Studs with Brendan Gleeson is a quality film!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The Damned United should be nowhere near this list, simply because it's a complete load of bollocks and an insulting portrayal of a great man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yesterdays Hero - Ian McShane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

mike65 wrote: »
    Today's Hero - Paul McShane

FYP :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

ID has to be there!

"You're hit Gumbo"
    "It's ok, it's only me head"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

kicking & screaming is ****e shouldn't be there either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

BOHtox wrote: »
    Studs with Brendan Gleeson is a quality film!

I could've been in that as an extra. The film crew were looking for an 'opposition' for a few scenes recorded at the Iveagh Grounds. My college were playing Blanch IT there on the same day and they said that the winning team could be in the movie in that role.

We lost 5-0 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Shaolin Soccer?
    So realistic.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

220px-Switching_Goals_DVD_cover.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Once in a Lifetime - Documentary about New York Cosmos was pretty good.
    Also, that fly on the wall doc with Graham Taylor as England manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Quazzie wrote: »
    I really can't believe "When Saturday comes" isn't in that list.

Love it, it should be seen by everyone.

It's the male equivalent of a chic flick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Green Street is not a football film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

as mentioned before, ''theres only one jimmy grimble'' .

Brilliant movie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I didn't know there was ten even...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Who could forget "Hotshot (1987)"

The story of an American soccer player trying to make it big who turns to Pele, the greatest soccer player of all time, for guidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

It isn't exactly football, but ''The Two Escobars'' is a fantastic documentary. Thoroughly enjoyed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

At the end of the day most football films are pretty poxy. I dont think football transfers to the big screen as well as stop-start games like baseball and American football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

It isn't exactly football, but ''The Two Escobars'' is a fantastic documentary. Thoroughly enjoyed that.

That is a good show. I found it funny when their interviewing one of pablo's men and he's telling them about being chased through the jungle by the americans or colombian army(can't remember right) and he looks around and can't see pablo, goes back and he's sitting listening to the colombia match on a radio then says something like 'we scored' :D he was mad into the football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Can't believe 'Bend it like Beckham' is not on that list.

Who makes up this s**t ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Purely Belter

Very good film about 2 lads trying to get money to get Newcastle season tickets. Football is the story but it dosn't show much action, but its very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Ah here!

Where the fúck is Goal

A movie with The Magpies, you can't go wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

PaulieC wrote: »
    Ah here!

Where the fúck is Goal

Was just going to post the same thing.

I liked that movie too :)

Also a mention for I.D.
    I know there wasn't any actual football in it but i still enjoyed the satire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Useless list without this

249061.1020.A.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

FIFA film of 1982 World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Right decision with number one. Cracking film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

theres_only_one.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

That Zidane documentary is shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

In the Hands of the Gods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I.D most definitely should be there. Even though it's primarily a movie about football hooliganism rather than just football, it's a very well made (on a small budget) movie that really encapsulated the 80s football scene and the hooliganism that the British football authorities have done well to stamp out.

And The Damned United is a work of fiction which family and friends of Brian Clough quickly distanced themselves from due to the producers, to put it kindly, taking liberties with the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I love, love, that movie! Him on the pitch, the entire time, just a work of art.

Strongly disagree
    PHB wrote: »
    I love, love, that movie! Him on the pitch, the entire time, just a work of art.

Completely agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

PaulieC wrote: »
    Ah here!

Where the fúck is Goal

Purely Belter had the Magpies in it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Green street was a brutal movie.

major bill wrote: »
    Green street was a brutal movie.
    You know they made a 2nd one...possibly a 3rd

Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

Mike Bassett
    Goal 1 and 2 (3 was ****e)
    Bend it like Beckham

And even though its not a movie, Dream Team was a great football TV series.