Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone buying 2nd hand at the mo?

• 01-11-2011 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

I have been looking the last few weeks and have to say I find the current sales approach quite funny for the budget I have....Im looking at a 2005/2006 mid range family car and have spotted a few OK cars and called garages in recent weeks.

My experience has been -

"thats the price buddy, cant drop it another cent"

"Im losing my bollix on it as is"

"theres no margin on it, thats as low as I can go"

"sure If I priced it a few hundred quid more you wouldnt have called"

"someone else will buy this car for the price"

Jees! Havent haggled for a while, but always expect some sort of give and take....especially given the state of the poxy economy !!

One lad said he wouldnt even knock a tenner off FFS....COME ON!

Is it just the 2nd hand market at the moment or is this sheer cockiness on the part of garages?

Its also now November....a few more weeks and the car is another year older!

Anybody else getting the same shyte?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There's a shortage of good 2nd hand car, you are most likely looking at good cars which they know will sell :D. Plenty of rubbish around that they will knock money off but the big drop off from 2008 onwards of new cars has left a gap in the 2nd hand market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

It's been a race to the bottom and a lot of people hit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Might just wait till after xmas at this rate has to be a bit more give then...I hope!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sizzler wrote: »
    Might just wait till after xmas at this rate has to be a bit more give then...I hope!!!

Try two weeks before or the week of Christmas, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Yup its a balls especially coming from garages across the country that are struggling to sell cars.

Ive been looking for a corolla 91 - 97 for some time now. Hard to find a decent one anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

OP - did you call into these garages or just call them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

You buying from a dealer or private?

I was looking at a few cars from private sellers recently, all they'd come down on the price is €100. Me and the OH were up north this weekend looking at a car from her with a small time dealer and he came down £500 without any bargaining on our behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I have been looking the last few weeks and have to say I find the current sales approach quite funny for the budget I have....Im looking at a 2005/2006 mid range family car and have spotted a few OK cars and called garages in recent weeks.

My experience has been -

Jees! Havent haggled for a while, but always expect some sort of give and take....especially given the state of the poxy economy !!

Is it just the 2nd hand market at the moment or is this sheer cockiness on the part of garages?

Do you really need to save that tenner?
    Get over it.

I'm sick of people low-balling me or trying to haggle and when I make it clear I don't want to haggle they act like I've called their mother a ****.
    You wouldn't haggle over 10c for a pint of milk would you?

There's a price there, that's what you pay.

Edit: Sorry, not really aiming this at you. I'm just venting.

/rant

CianRyan wrote: »
    Get over it.

I'm sick of people low-balling me or trying to haggle and when I make it clear I don't want to haggle they act like I've called their mother a ****.

/rant

Are you a dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

To the OP, I know of 2used car sales, M3 and Focus ST and both got good deals and some decent haggling to be had. And no, despite not being 520d's the sellers werent bending over either.

Go shop for something more interesting.
    KittyKat wrote: »
    Ive been looking for a corolla 91 - 97 for some time now. Hard to find a decent one anywhere.
    Sig: 91 - 97 3 Door Toyota Corolla wanted?? PM me.
    Id put the "Wanted" at the start of the sentence in your sig btw, right now it looks like you are offering a Corolla not looking for one!

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are you a dealer?

Adverts.ie, I imagine dealers get it far worse.

Ol'one's coming in running their mouth about "the buyers market" and all this.

I was presuming the OP was talking about private sales as the language doesn't seem quite professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Get over it.

/rant

I won't buy from anyone who won't engage in a nice haggling session.

Car's, TV's, car parts etc etc.

I always pay a fair price though and don't low ball with a comical offer.

If someone's margains are that tight they are about to go to the wall anyway. I prefer to deal with someone who is hungry for a sale. Haggling doesn't mean the price has to go down, it could mean they throw something worth while into the offer

Adverts.ie, I imagine dealers get it far worse.
    Adverts is a load of bollix for haggling.

I always haggle in person.

Easy process:

discuss car (or whatever you are buying)
    Talk about something different
    Get to know the person
    Ask price
    Ignore answer and talk some more about random crap
    Make counter offer
    Talk more
    Then discuss the offer.

Both parties always end up happy once the deal is done

johnos1984 wrote: »

Some folk are gnomey though, I got the impression callers were very keen twice and told them both that I wouldn't be budging from the asking price and that there was no point them viewing the cars if they were intending on haggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Get over it.

/rant
    ya see thats an unfair arguement! You may not like to haggle but every single person who goes out to buy a car expects to and wants to haggle*
    its actually in our dna and psyche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Some people take haggling or negotiation so personally....it's a one off transaction....you want to sell...the other person wants to buy.....somewhere in there is a deal to be made if both sides can listen to the other a little bit...

OP: I would walk and have walked recently when someone didn't want to negotiate...those people just aren't worth the hassle....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

KittyKat wrote: »

Considering the youngest one you are looking at would be nearly 15 years old, and also considering the demographic that buy corollas, that is not surprising :)

I won't buy from anyone who won't engage in a nice haggling session.

Car's, TV's, car parts etc etc.

I always pay a fair price though and don't low ball with a comical offer.

If someone's margains are that tight they are about to go to the wall anyway. I prefer to deal with someone who is hungry for a sale. Haggling doesn't mean the price has to go down, it could mean they throw something worth while into the offer

Do you not think it can be annoying for the seller though, if the product is priced to sell and they've lowered it again and again in order to make a quick sale?

For example, my ad here has been up on adverts for a few months now and it's come down by €150.
    Now even though it says €500 and it's worth that much, I'd let some one take it away for €400.
    The problem here though, isn't the haggling, it's that people don't under stand how it works.

I could put that up for €100 cheaper and I'd probably have more interest but there's no way I'd get what it's worth.
    I'd just get a ****e load of people offering me €200 (or, "all my pedals") for something that's worth €760 and is in pristine condition.
    This is my real problem with haggling.
    Adverts is a load of bollix for haggling.

Easy process:

discuss car (or whatever you are buying)
    Talk about something different
    Get to know the person
    Ask price
    Ignore answer and talk some more about random crap
    Make counter offer
    Talk more
    Then discuss the offer.

See if it's done like this, I'm alright with it.
    Myself though, if I feel something is priced fairly I'll offer asking on it. If it's a case that someone, like myself, has placed something at a higher cost to stop people making stupid offers I'll make a fairer offer but never insult someone.

I've never had the pleasure of haggling with some one that turn it into a general chat, I'd love to see what it's like. :)

I guess I could have been clearer to start.

In fairness the OP was on about buying 2nd hand cars.

racso1975 wrote: »
    ya see thats an unfair arguement! You may not like to haggle but every single person who goes out to buy a car expects to and wants to haggle*
    its actually in our dna and psyche.

I always go well out of my way to make a sale a very easy and relaxed experience for the other party. I don't think it's too much trouble to return the respect by not haggling.

If some one is going to haggle though, I'd much prefer it was in person and that they've brought the full amount of money with them.

Nothing is worse than the whole, "Ah to be honest mate, I've only brought *€50 less* with me."
    **** off, is the answer to that.
    In fairness the OP was on about buying 2nd hand cars.
    Second hand any goods, it's all the same really.
    The milk thing was a bit much though, looking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

My experience has been -

I was looking recently and found that a lot of garages are showing the cash price for cars not the inflated price to haggle down. Makes it easier if you know they want X for the car not X less a bit, you can then make a quicker decision if you want it for the money or not.

I was looking for looking for larger saloons, but the cars you are looking for are in demand so dealers know someone will eventually pay.
    I always go well out of my way to make a sale a very easy and relaxed experience for the other party. I don't think it's too much trouble to return the respect by not haggling.

Just because you think you've priced it correctly doesn't mean the potential buyer has to agree.
    If some one is going to haggle though, I'd much prefer it was in person and that they've brought the full amount of money with them.

Nothing is worse than the whole, "Ah to be honest mate, I've only brought *€50 less* with me."
    **** off, is the answer to that.

Second hand any goods, it's all the same really.
    The milk thing was a bit much though, looking back.

If the person thinks it's worth *€50 less* then you think it's worth, why would they bring more money?

Because they've already agreed on a deal. Why should I let my goods go for less than the agreed price because the buyer though they'de chance their arm.
    It's just cheeky and disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

yeah im fairness if the price has been agreed there ir no point in trying to change the terms of it when you meet the seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Because they've already agreed on a deal. Why should I let my goods go for less than the agreed price because the buyer though they'de chance their arm.
    It's just cheeky and disrespectful.

But they haven't agreed on a price. You have put a price which you think is fair, as an offer of invitation to treat. They think it is worth less. That's how haggling works.

The trick is to be a better sales person than the person buying. Not to get in a huff, and stamp your feet.

A simple "I can't let it go for that. Tell you what, I've another person coming to look at it later, and if they don't like the price, I'll give you a call," is generally enough to have most people that try haggling stump up the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭aristotle25

I bought 2nd hand in June and found the same thing, very little movement on price.

But they are more willing to throw in extras e.g. a new rare spoiler in my case (worth about €200 fitted), repaint of rare bumper, fixed a few chip marks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I bought 2nd hand in June and found the same thing, very little movement on price.

But they are more willing to throw in extras e.g. a new rare spoiler in my case (worth about €200 fitted), repaint of rare bumper, fixed a few chip marks etc.

So you are driving a very rare car now? :p
    Sorry getmecoat.gif

Always try to haggle with bigger purchases. Not always getting what i want but it all should be done with a bit of humor.
    A sales person probably spends all day with people who want everything for next to nothing but at the same time i am not going to pay more just to make him feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

unless you want to keep something forever, its only worth what someone will pay for it.
    you can give it any price you want, but if someone wont give you that price its not worth it. thats how market value works.
    you can hang on for the next potential customer (could be days, weeks, months, etc)

a good salesman doesnt get hung up on the personal value of something, knows what the market will bear and will sell when he gets that price. a salesman who prices too high is almost as bad as the one who sells too low.

that being said, a bit of haggling is always expected (even if its the most sellable car on the planet, "knocking €100 off to buy it now" should be possible) so something about the OP must have put these guys off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

oregano wrote: »
    OP - did you call into these garages or just call them?
    I called them to ask all the basic questions that werent on the ad, service history, was it taxed, timing belt done etc. Once all that was clarified Id ask on flexibility on price, not for the craic or to act the goat but because the car was slightly overpriced IMHO and you would generally expect a few hundred yo yo buffer. Cash customer and ready to press the go button for the right car but that doesnt seem to be carrying any weight at the mo! Some garages happy to sit on the car for as long as it takes to sell at their quoted price, doesnt make commercial sense to me, its depreciating on their lot :cool:
    You buying from a dealer or private?

I was looking at a few cars from private sellers recently, all they'd come down on the price is €100. Me and the OH were up north this weekend looking at a car from her with a small time dealer and he came down £500 without any bargaining on our behalf.
    Dealer more so but trying to steer away from the smaller lads in certain areas of Dublin, cough cough!
    Get over it.

/rant
    No worries :D I havent low balled anybody! And the tenner was just an example of how steadfast one lad was, they were his words not mine! I couldnt give a toss if he knocked 50 off it, I was asking for 350 on this occassion, on a 6k car I thought that was reasonable, his car had a few extras more than others online at the time but I was indifferent to them and his car was overpriced by 500-750 than all the others available at the time. Some of them were down the country though and I just wasnt that bothered, Im a patient man ;)
    Some folk are gnomey though, I got the impression callers were very keen twice and told them both that I wouldn't be budging from the asking price and that there was no point them viewing the cars if they were intending on haggling.
    Yeah, got that last week, I have been 100% honest the any guys I have spoken to and most have been the same back. One lad said dont waste the petrol coming over to see the car if you wont pay "x", I said fine. But he still took my number "in case there were any price changes" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

my mate was recently selling a isuzu trooper 4x4. put it on donedeal for 500 euro less than the avrage askin price. guy rang him very interested. my mate told him before he left that he couldnt knock much off the price as it was dirt cheap as it was. he only told hm because the buyer was coming a long distance to view it. that was grand.

we met the buyer in town. he spent almost an hour looking it over and asking questions about it and then turns around and says all he has was 600 less than what it was addvertised for!!! he was quickly told where to go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Why not beat him up in price? That's how haggling works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Two points:

1. People really need to forget about discounts and focus on the actual price of the car, relative to what they're getting.

2. Buy privately. Unless the car's new or there's a really good warranty involved, there's no reason to get involved with the murky end of the Irish motor trade.

Why not beat him up in price? That's how haggling works.
    Nobody seems to get this.

Everyone gets in a huff when they are made a low offer but nobody bothers to beat them up in price.

Take for example an offer I made on something yesterday. It's a car part which is something I'd like but don't really need. The seller has it madly overpriced (I mean the same price as a new one).

Anyway it's location is handy for me so I rang about it. Talked about it for a minute and then asked her how she came up with the price. She said a garage recently sold one for 'X' and he told her it was really worth 'x'+'y'. So in her infinite wisdom she priced it at 'x'+'y'+'z'. :rolleyes:

I explained I don't normally make offers over the phone but I didn't want to go and view it given the asking price so I made her a fair offer over the phone which I was willing to improve a bit if necessary. She just said fine, no 'thats to low', 'please improve it' etc. etc.

The only other thing I got was the usual someone else has made an offer about €10 lower than the asking price.

I just told her to take it but if they give you the run around my offer stands and will be paid and collected within 24 hours.

Why are we gone so bad at haggling?

Anan1 wrote: »
    1. People really need to forget about discounts and focus on the actual price of the car, relative to what they're getting.
    Problem is though the very waste majority of garages will price a rubbish car cheaply, or in other words, towards the real market value of a reasonable example.

A good car will be over priced and in no way will they give a discount off either.

I agree buying private is a good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Why are we gone so bad at haggling?

Because we have not been trained to haggle!

To remedy that I have attached a brief instructional video and transcript
    http://www.montypython.net/scripts/LOB-hagglescene.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭aristotle25

Anan1 wrote: »
    Buy privately. Unless the car's new or there's a really good warranty involved, there's no reason to get involved with the murky end of the Irish motor trade.

Be careful with that one, if buying privately you need to fully understand your rights i.e. you pretty much have none if you end up buying a lemon.