Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former Anglo Finance Director Arrested - AGAIN

• 01-11-2011 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1101/angloirish.html
    Anglo Irish Bank former finance director Willie McAteer has been arrested.

Former finance director of Anglo Irish Bank William McAteer has been arrested.
    Mr McAteer was arrested at 8am at his home in Rathgar in Dublin by detectives from the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation.
    He is being detained at Irishtown Garda Station and can be questioned for up to 24 hours.
    It is the second time he has been arrested in connection with the ongoing investigation into alleged financial irregularities at the bank.
    A number of files have already been sent to the DPP in connection with the overall investigation.

Are they EVER gonna make anything stick to any of the effers? Not just from Anglo but all of them, including the boards of management of BOI, AIB, PTSB, NIB... The lot of them should be hung drawn and quartered, so why is it taking so long? Surely there is enough evidence to prosecute the lot of them.

Nearly a year after the EU/IMF have been called in, and in the same week we're paying yet more unsecured bond holders, why hasn't anyone been taken to task yet. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

NOW is it time for a Coup d'Etat????

Rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

RachaelVO wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1101/angloirish.html

Are they EVER gonna make anything stick to any of the effers? Not just from Anglo but all of them, including the boards of management of BOI, AIB, PTSB, NIB... The lot of them should be hung drawn and quartered, so why is it taking so long? Surely there is enough evidence to prosecute the lot of them.

Nearly a year after the EU/IMF have been called in, and in the same week we're paying yet more unsecured bond holders, why hasn't anyone been taken to task yet. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

NOW is it time for a Coup d'Etat????

Rant over

I don't want to prejudge matters, but I think we should hang everyone in the country except me. I'll apologise to anyone I was wrong about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I don't want to prejudge matters, but I think we should hang everyone in the country except me. I'll apologise to anyone I was wrong about.

Grand, at least you'll get a few of the bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

This is just to take peoples' minds off the €700,623,555 that's being paid to unsecured Anglo bondholders/gamblers.

He'll be let out his evening, and people will have gone back to watching the X Factor by then.

This is just to take peoples' minds off the €700,623,555 that's being paid to unsecured Anglo bondholders/gamblers.

He'll be let out his evening, and people will have gone back to watching the X Factor by then.

That's the biggest fecking problem. Where has the Irish backbone gone? Did we sell it when we got the fecking bailout!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

smash wrote: »

Could be the kinds protest Enda would pay some attention too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

All those bangers that went off, and not one of them got wedged up a banker's rectum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Snakeblood wrote: »

Meh I had a good run I suppose... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Lol...

...The X Factor isn't on tonight.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Lol...

...The X Factor isn't on tonight.

He's been released without charge apparently.

Why am I not surprised at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Because there is one rule for them and one rule for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Two serious points:
    - Being incredible bad at your job is not illegal
    - There hasn't been much evidence of illegal activity (publicly released anyway).

And before someone mentions Bernie Madoff in the US, he was running an illegal Ponzi scheme (pyramid scheme) so it was clearcut law breaking.

Because there is one rule for them and one rule for us?

"They hang the man, and flog the woman,
    That steals the goose from off the common;
    But let the greater villain loose,
    That steals the common from the goose."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

you forgot to mention the 3.5 billion that "mysteriously" turned up.

There's that too! Funny how all the "good" stuff is being slowly dripped out to hide the fact that more gamblers are getting their original stake back even though the lost!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Pity they didn't find a bag of weed in his pocket...at least they could have kept him locked up for the rest of the week.

Anyway as already mooted, diversionary tactic...AGS got the nod from a higher up to go out and drag someone in for the front pages this morning (similar to NTMA's accounting snafu).
    The force don't have the manpower nor the financial knowledge or expertise to properly follow up the wrong doings here (assuming that there in fact have been actual laws broken), never mind bring it to a successful conviction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Wertz wrote: »
    Pity they didn't find a bag of weed in his pocket...at least they could have kept him locked up for the rest of the week.

Anyway as already mooted, diversionary tactic...AGS got the nod from a higher up to go out and drag someone in for the front pages this morning (similar to NTMA's accounting snafu).
    The force don't have the manpower nor the financial knowledge or expertise to properly follow up the wrong doings here (assuming that there in fact have been actual laws broken), never mind bring it to a successful conviction.

Trust in government minus 10 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

In out, in out, shake him all about...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

So you think its ok to give away 700million then to speculators when hospital beds remain closed and A&E waiting times are going through the roof ?