Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the reaction for?

• 01-11-2011 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭

I'd like a bit of advice about a current situation I'm in. Basically I was out over the weekend with a few of the lads (who wasn't says you!) and got talking to a girl in a nightclub and we hit it off flirting etc.

Anyway I got her number and got a sneaky kiss, said I'd text her the next day and we'd arrange to go out and then I headed off back to my friends.

So I was with the lads and they were dancing with a group of girls so naturally I joined in jumping around like an eejit just basically having the craic. I turn around and the girl from earlier is giving me the death stare and throws her hands up in the air in a kinda "WTF are you doing?" way and storms off.

Now considering I liked her I went after her and explained I was only having a laugh and not to think anything of it. She apologised and said she didn't mind. So we went off "dancing" together and after a while I spotted a girl I used to go to school with and hadn't seen for years so I said "I'm just going to talk to my friend I'll be back in a minute".

But as I was talking to my friend she kept looking and watching what I was doing in case I was trying to score this other one! Now that kinda píssed me off because I'd only met her an hour earlier. Anyway then I got the whole I thought you were nice etc. spiel off her!!

I text her anyway and she seems really lovely which I thought but what happened in the club is kinda playing on my mind.

If I had a girlfriend who acted like that I wouldn't be long about telling her to hit the road. Or does that seem the norm for somebody you just met?

It''ll be interesting to get both sexes opinion on this if possible. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,260 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

RUN AWAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

She could be someone who's like this all the time, i.e. extremely jealous. Or maybe she's just jealous with drink in her. My guess is, it's the former.

Generally, when you meet someone for the first time, you don't get too heavily invested in it because you acknowledge that you don't actually know these people too well. So if you meet, them you generally take one step at a time. If you see them jumping around like an eejit (Seriously, you're one of these people?) then any normal person would take it with a pinch of salt. She got too invested too early and would probably only get worse as your "relationship" went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Sonics2k wrote: »
    RUN AWAY!

Im with sonics on this one!! Although maybe a few drinks were involved so a second go might be worth it! Oh I dont know! :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

You were expecting to make her acquaintance and meet up with her again, she appears to have been expecting you to devote your attention to her right there and then and possibly go home with her that night. She couldn't understand why you kept leaving her to talk/dance with other women and assumed you'd changed your mind about her and was chasing someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

RUN AWAY!

Best bit of advice in boards.ie history!:D

All signs point to crazytown. If she's like that after an hour then god knows what's coming down the tracks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I'll look at the other side.

In the very short time she's known you she's seen/experienced
    1) You flirting/kissing her
    2) You acting the 'eejit' with a group of girls
    3) You being friendly with an old friend (a female one)

Numbers 2) and 3) probably aren't that different to what led up to number 1) in her eyes.

Jealous? Probably. TBH I'd say she's more annoyed at herself at being taken by you, since she obviously had ideas it would turn into something more serious sooner.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

RUN AWAY!

+1 on this one..

Bunny boiler alert!!! :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I'll look at the other side.

In the very short time she's known you she's seen/experienced
    1) You flirting/kissing her
    2) You acting the 'eejit' with a group of girls
    3) You being friendly with an old friend (a female one)

Numbers 2) and 3) probably aren't that different to what led up to number 1) in her eyes.

Jealous? Probably. TBH I'd say she's more annoyed at herself at being taken by you, since she obviously had ideas it would turn into something more serious sooner.

Eh she had known the OP for an hour!!!!

Anyone who throws a wobbler after chatting to someone for an hour and having a quick snog because the person in question was having a laugh with some mates and then chatted to an old school friend, who happened to be female, needs help.

She also resorted to what could be classed as stalking him around the club.

If a guy did that, he would have been asked to leave the premises.

OP, avoid her at all costs. Not worth it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Not worth the hassle, mate. Sounds very possessive and needy. I had a similar situation years back, some gal I'd met in a club - liked her a lot, we were all over each other, said I'd be back the next week or week after and see her there.

So next time, she goes mental & says why am I ignoring her - I'd trawled the club twice before I found her! Anyways, end of night she threw her arms around me and told me she was crazy about me and I said I'd see her the following week and then she started yelling at me and crying.

No amount of promise and allure is worth the hassle. I never truly learnt my lesson, went out with another unbalanced person years later who almost destroyed me. Possessive people will cause untold grief - avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Yes OP -
    As fast as your legs can carry you.
    Leg it!

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Eh she had known the OP for an hour!!!!

Anyone who throws a wobbler after chatting to someone for an hour and having a quick snog because the person in question was having a laugh with some mates and then chatted to an old school friend, who happened to be female, needs help.

She also resorted to what could be classed as stalking him around the club.

If a guy did that, he would have been asked to leave the premises.

OP, avoid her at all costs. Not worth it.
    I don't know, the OP sounds just as insecure as she seems.

Ok for him to analyse her reactions to what he does but not the other way around??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Moved from tGC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

Oh am torn really on this one.

1) She gave a kiss and a number to a fella she later saw potentially trying it on all around the place and was annoyed with herself

2) She was OTT and had no right to give a spiel to a stranger

If it was me and I ahd handed over the number I think Id be saying, ah look sure there is nothng special about him as he is trying it on everywhere and wouldve just let you off.
    Thats the curse of meeting people on nights out where there is drink taken!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

I don't know, the OP sounds just as insecure as she seems.

Ok for him to analyse her reactions to what he does but not the other way around??

Eh? How does he? It's quite the opposite - he sounds like wasn't getting too heavily invested in her, or stalking her round the nightclub all night like some guys do when they sense the slightest hint of interest from a girl.

He's merely questioning why she reacted a bit heavily considering they'd only met an hour earlier.

OP, I kinda agree with other people - her behaviour shouts out insecurity and jealousy, especially considering she hardly knows you. She could be a lot worse if she actually did develop any attachment to you. Whether you want to give her a chance is up to you - it COULD have been the drink affecting her also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Oh am torn really on this one.

1) She gave a kiss and a number to a fella she later saw potentially trying it on all around the place and was annoyed with herself

2) She was OTT and had no right to give a spiel to a stranger

If it was me and I ahd handed over the number I think Id be saying, ah look sure there is nothng special about him as he is trying it on everywhere and wouldve just let you off.
    Thats the curse of meeting people on nights out where there is drink taken!!

I've had guys do this, chat me up, take my number and then feck off back to their mates. At that stage I would write them off completely and considered myself to be a free agent. If he wasn't sticking around and didn't offer to buy me a drink then he wasn't interested enough. Simple.

I feel sorry for this girl, she won't be giving a guy her number that soon again!

The OP took her number, she thought he was interested but should have known better when he went back to his mates. It sounds like he was never really into her in the first place and mightn't even have called her or thought of her if she hadn't reacted so dramatically.

OP, don't contact her again, it will teach her not to give out her number to a guy so early in the night. If she has sense she will wait until the end of the night to give a guy her number when she knows he was willing to stay with her and is genuinely interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I kind of agree with Emme. If a guy did this i would never contact him again because i would think he isn't interested.

I definitely wouldn't call him up on it there in the club again. Total mortification.

That is why i would agree with the posters saying Run Away! She seems like she would be the possessive/ clingy type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Floppybits

wow this really shows the difference between men and women. The way I read this from a guys point of view is this, he is out on a night out with his mates, goes to a club, meets a nice girl there, they chat and get along grand and he asks for her number to ask her out again when he is not out with his mates, they snog and the guy heads back to his mates and dances like a chimp on the dancefloor and talks to his other friend there. I have often had that when I met a girl in a nightclub, we would have a snog, we would swap numbers and then we would go back to our mates in the club. Maybe at the end of the night we might meet up with each other again or maybe not and then we would go out either the next night together or fix up a date for during the week when we are both not with our mates. I don't see anything wrong with that.

If a girl behaved like this girl did then I wouldn't be calling her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I kind of agree with Emme. If a guy did this i would never contact him again because i would think he isn't interested.

I definitely wouldn't call him up on it there in the club again. Total mortification.

That is why i would agree with the posters saying Run Away! She seems like she would be the possessive/ clingy type.

What do you want a guy to do then, stick with you alone all night and both of your ignore your mates?

Eh? How does he? It's quite the opposite - he sounds like wasn't getting too heavily invested in her, or stalking her round the nightclub all night like some guys do when they sense the slightest hint of interest from a girl.
    I was just putting an alternative viewpoint across, yes her behaviour seemed strange but the OP was just as interested in her reactions to his behaviour.

If I had put in the legwork in flirting with a girl and kissing her I certainly wouldn't be acting like a fool on the dancefloor with a group of my mates + other girls. No need to stalk her around the club, but dancing with a group of girls you don't know is flirting in most peoples eyes.

The chat with the friend was unfortunate though, no way of avoiding that - I certainly wouldn't blank an old friend because I was trying to score. Although she probably was still concerned about your dancefloor antics.

Last point, could have been the drink, I've seen it change even the most mild-mannered - if she seemed decent enough to flirt with and kiss at the start of the night how did she change into a raging bunny-boiler at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

Floppybits wrote: »
    What do you want a guy to do then, stick with you alone all night and both of your ignore your mates?

Well in general that's what i find with guys but maybe i'm different to some girls. I won't kiss a guy without chatting to him for an hour or two. Then some kissing. Then more talking.

To be honest i've never had a guy walk off after he kissed me. Well not since youth club disco days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭phoenix833

God where to start...Right well first off thanks for the opinions so far.

She could be someone who's like this all the time, i.e. extremely jealous. Or maybe she's just jealous with drink in her. My guess is, it's the former.

Generally, when you meet someone for the first time, you don't get too heavily invested in it because you acknowledge that you don't actually know these people too well. So if you meet, them you generally take one step at a time. If you see them jumping around like an eejit (Seriously, you're one of these people?) then any normal person would take it with a pinch of salt. She got too invested too early and would probably only get worse as your "relationship" went on.

Apologies, I left my John Travolta dance moves at home at the weekend:rolleyes: But seriously as you said if I'm talking to a girl in a club I get their number etc or give mine but I don't wait on baited breath for them to text me or even reply because it's the club scene.

He's merely questioning why she reacted a bit heavily considering they'd only met an hour earlier.

OP, I kinda agree with other people - her behaviour shouts out insecurity and jealousy, especially considering she hardly knows you. She could be a lot worse if she actually did develop any attachment to you. Whether you want to give her a chance is up to you - it COULD have been the drink affecting her also.

I'd have to agree with you here. Stalking girls around a club doesn't work God knows I've done it enough:D
    Emme wrote: »
    I've had guys do this, chat me up, take my number and then feck off back to their mates. At that stage I would write them off completely and considered myself to be a free agent. If he wasn't sticking around and didn't offer to buy me a drink then he wasn't interested enough. Simple.

I feel sorry for this girl, she won't be giving a guy her number that soon again!

The OP took her number, she thought he was interested but should have known better when he went back to his mates. It sounds like he was never really into her in the first place and mightn't even have called her or thought of her if she hadn't reacted so dramatically.

OP, don't contact her again, it will teach her not to give out her number to a guy so early in the night. If she has sense she will wait until the end of the night to give a guy her number when she knows he was willing to stay with her and is genuinely interested.

Well considering I hadn't been out with these lads in a while then I think I'd every right to want to spend the night with them. My intention going out that night was not to score it was to have a laugh but meeting somebody was a bonus. So because my priority was my friends I don't why they should be put on the backburner for something which could be a waste of my time?

The future of relationships formed in nightclubs is hardly built on what happened that night.

As regards to going back to my friends she was there with one other person who stood there for 45mins-1hr like a spare tool while we were chatting. So I thought I was doing the right thing by going back to my friends and leaving them be. (Kissed her as I was leaving in case you're wondering. So I didn't lob the gob straight away because she expressed a faint interest)

If I wasn't so interested why did I go after her to make sure she wasn't getting the wrong impression?
    I was just putting an alternative viewpoint across, yes her behaviour seemed strange but the OP was just as interested in her reactions to his behaviour.

If I had put in the legwork in flirting with a girl and kissing her I certainly wouldn't be acting like a fool on the dancefloor with a group of my mates + other girls. No need to stalk her around the club, but dancing with a group of girls you don't know is flirting in most peoples eyes.

Of course I was interested in her reaction because I was interested in her. Just because I left her side doesn't necessarily mean my interest in her waned. If I didn't give a shíte then I would've let her off and continued to "act the fool"!

Well in general that's what i find with guys but maybe i'm different to some girls. I won't kiss a guy without chatting to him for an hour or two. Then some kissing. Then more talking.

To be honest i've never had a guy walk off after he kissed me. Well not since youth club disco days.

We spoke for about an hour. I asked for her number and as I was leaving having a kiss seemed like the natural thing to do. It is a two way street. There was a mutual interest so I don't see the point in hanging around with them all night considering that's not what I went out for.

Plenty of girls think that if your still chatting to them at the end of the night your looking to bring them home or vice-versa which certainly wasn't the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sorry guy, but it seems you're being subjected to the fallout from so many guys trying to act like "players" or "pick up artists". She was looking at your actions through that lens, and that's her fault. Her behavior was out of line, and while it may indicate that she might be a little moody for your tastes, it also might simply be indicative of interest from someone who just isn't so good at communicating.

I'm sure if you talk to her and let her know that a) you weren't there on the pull, b) you thought you were doing a good thing by leaving her to be more friendly with her friend who was there waiting, and c) you aren't a "player" or a "pick up artist" who was chancing his arm with as many women as possible in the hopes of scoring, I imagine you'll be able to tell by her reaction if she is too moody (would react with more drama) or is not so great with social skills (would be mortified at picking you up wrong and overreacting).

Whatever you do, good luck. You sound like a good guy. The world needs more like you. :)

sorryguy wrote: »
    Sorry guy, but it seems you're being subjected to the fallout from so many guys trying to act like "players" or "pick up artists". She was looking at your actions through that lens, and that's her fault. Her behavior was out of line, and while it may indicate that she might be a little moody for your tastes, it also might simply be indicative of interest from someone who just isn't so good at communicating.

:eek: :eek: :eek: Wow, I didn't think it was possible to pack so much misogyny into one paragraph!! From what I can see the person with the communication problems is the OP.
    'm sure if you talk to her and let her know that a) you weren't there on the pull, b) you thought you were doing a good thing by leaving her to be more friendly with her friend who was there waiting, and c) you aren't a "player" or a "pick up artist" who was chancing his arm with as many women as possible in the hopes of scoring, I imagine you'll be able to tell by her reaction if she is too moody (would react with more drama) or is not so great with social skills (would be mortified at picking you up wrong and overreacting).

If the girl agrees to see him after the way he treated her she would be a doormat. Are girls and women supposed to be doormats these days? And if they're not then they're either bunny boilers or poor communicators. Heaven forbid that women and girls should have wants, needs or opinions of their own!
    Whatever you do, good luck. You sound like a good guy. The world needs more like you. :)

I beg to differ. The world does not need more guys who walk off on a girl after taking her number and kissing her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Depends on what you were doing that she objected to OP! Your description of it is very brief, but it seems strange that anyone should have such a reaction. I'm not a jealous nutter, but if I had been that girl and then seen a guy all over a couple of different girls and then off to another one in a short space of time, with the attention span of a snake, then I'd either run away from him, or if he approached me again, be tempted to tell him what I thought of men who treat women like they're stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Floppybits wrote: »

In my experience, the decent guy is pretty quiet for the rest of the night, or goes home early, or stays at the side of the dancefloor chatting with his mates. Wild dancing and chatting up other women just after he'd kissed me is not a reaction that was say to me he was good boyfriend material. I'd be thinking he kissed random girls all night and it meant nothing to him, and I'd be annoyed I'd been taken in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I hate, hate, HATE being told by a guy to "wait, I'll be back in a second". Drives me nuts. Because you're left standing like a spare part while he's gone for far longer than a minute, usually 5 and you begin to feel like a total twat.
    You're torn between wanting to walk away and thinking walking away is an over reaction.

I dunno, she might have over reacted but I can also see where she was coming from.

ash23 wrote: »
    I hate, hate, HATE being told by a guy to "wait, I'll be back in a second". Drives me nuts. Because you're left standing like a spare part while he's gone for far longer than a minute, usually 5 and you begin to feel like a total twat.
    You're torn between wanting to walk away and thinking walking away is an over reaction.

I dunno, she might have over reacted but I can also see where she was coming from.

He may have to visit the loo and or make a purchase from ye olde vending machine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

old hippy wrote: »
    He may have to visit the loo and or make a purchase from ye olde vending machine?

In the OPs case he was chatting to another girl..... I'd be miffed over that. And I wouldn't wait around too long for him to come back. However, I'd just walk. I wouldn't lecture.

That's your perogative. Some people are nervous or need another drink to fortify themselves. I dunno, the OP was just out having fun and the girl seemed to freak out. Having had something similar happen on occasion to me, I can only call it as I see it.

Had he been running round actually snogging other girls, that would be a tad insensitive, of course.

Another weekend, hearts a breaking all over the place. What can you do?

:eek: :eek: :eek: Wow, I didn't think it was possible to pack so much misogyny into one paragraph!! From what I can see the person with the communication problems is the OP.

If the girl agrees to see him after the way he treated her she would be a doormat. Are girls and women supposed to be doormats these days?

I beg to differ. The world does not need more guys who walk off on a girl after taking her number and kissing her.

I'd love to hear why you think I've communication problems? I'm not that desperate for a woman that I'll neglect my friends for the entire night for the sake of a kiss/number which may go nowhere.

I don't even know if you read my previous reply but obviously what I did doesn't fit in with your ideal of a man. But can't win them all eh?:rolleyes:
    Distorted wrote: »
    Depends on what you were doing that she objected to OP! Your description of it is very brief, but it seems strange that anyone should have such a reaction. I'm not a jealous nutter, but if I had been that girl and then seen a guy all over a couple of different girls and then off to another one in a short space of time, with the attention span of a snake, then I'd either run away from him, or if he approached me again, be tempted to tell him what I thought of men who treat women like they're stupid.

Well yes it was strage for somebody for have that reaction so that's the reason I started this thread. I can't see any problem with anything I did at all. I wasn't all over different girls. When I went back to my friends they were dancing with a group of girls. What am I supposed to do? Go sulk in the corner?? Go back to the girl and completely ruin her friends night just so I can get another kiss?
    In my experience, the decent guy is pretty quiet for the rest of the night, or goes home early, or stays at the side of the dancefloor chatting with his mates. Wild dancing and chatting up other women just after he'd kissed me is not a reaction that was say to me he was good boyfriend material. I'd be thinking he kissed random girls all night and it meant nothing to him, and I'd be annoyed I'd been taken in.

Why would I want to ruin my night by going home early after all I intended to do was go out and have fun with my friends? As I said already meeting somebody was a bonus.

To be honest I'd rather be seen as somebody who has fun than a boring árse who goes home early or stays talking to my friends at the side of the dancefloor.

And if you read any of my posts you would have seen that I wasn't going chatting up somebody else. I went to talk to an old friend from school. If this old friend from school was a man would you still class that as chatting him up??

It seems that once a man speaks to a woman immediately he'll be accused of wanting to score her:rolleyes:

Because you're left standing like a spare part while he's gone for far longer than a minute, usually 5 and you begin to feel like a total twat.

She wasn't left like a spare part. Her friend who had been a spare part earlier was still beside her. I've more manners than to just walk off and leave somebody on their own.

phoenix833 wrote: »
    I'd love to hear why you think I've communication problems? I'm not that desperate for a woman that I'll neglect my friends for the entire night for the sake of a kiss/number which may go nowhere.

So why bother with the girl at all then? Just enjoy the night with your friends instead of leading a girl on and walking off on her.

Maybe I'm missing something - it seems that women are more easily picked up and discarded these days than ever and if they question that they're called bunny boilers or dramatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

So why bother with the girl at all then? Just enjoy the night with your friends instead of leading a girl on and walking off on her.

Maybe I'm missing something - it seems that women are more easily picked up and discarded these days than ever and if they question that they're called bunny boilers or dramatic.

When did the "leading her on" or "walking off" bits happen?
    It sounds like the OP agreed with the girl that he was going back to his friends.

I dont see any problem in what the OP did, the girl does seem to have overreacted but we have no idea what state her head was in. Maybe she has been shafted a few times recently or something or maybe she was just hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

wow, it's enlightening to see how many girls act on a night out.

OP she seems to have decided she was your sole focus of the night- to be honest, I'd question a guy who was out with his mates and spent his entire evening hanging around me (a perfect stranger). Were your mates not pissed off?

Somebody stops me to talk as I'm walking through the club, what do I do? Ignore them? No. Maybe that's your policy but it doesn't matter who stops me, whether I'm attracted to them or not I still speak to them because I believe in basic manners.

Again I'd love to know how I lead her on? We had a chat, I said I'd text her the next day to arrange a date, kissed her and left which she was happy enough with. To me there isn't a thing wrong with that.

I'd hardly call that picking her up and discarding her. It was a kiss for Gods sake not a marrige proposal.

wow, it's enlightening to see how many girls act on a night out.

OP she seems to have decided she was your sole focus of the night- to be honest, I'd question a guy who was out with his mates and spent his entire evening hanging around me (a perfect stranger). Were your mates not pissed off?

Yeah in fairness I got a few "we're upstairs come on" or "where are you" texts. I didn't think it was fair on them either so considering I know them a lot longer than somebody I'd met 45mins previous it seemed like the right thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

so nights out should be split into either A) go out with your mates or B) go on the complete prowl for the lay.

Right, makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

old hippy wrote: »
    That's your perogative. Some people are nervous or need another drink to fortify themselves. I dunno, the OP was just out having fun and the girl seemed to freak out. Having had something similar happen on occasion to me, I can only call it as I see it.

Had he been running round actually snogging other girls, that would be a tad insensitive, of course.

Another weekend, hearts a breaking all over the place. What can you do?

I agree with this completely. You can't go mad every time a prospective boyfriend/ one night stand TALKS to other girls.

OP, I agree with the other posters who told you to run! She sounds a bit dramatic, with all the eye balling you and "WTF" hand gestures and all. You don't even know her!

If I was in a situation where I'd kissed a boy in a club and later he appeared to be off looking for other women (which I don't suppose you were) I'd just think he was a waster and I'd forget about it. I wouldn't be watching what he's up to. She sounds a bit much.

:confused: What misogyny?
    If the girl agrees to see him after the way he treated her she would be a doormat. Are girls and women supposed to be doormats these days? And if they're not then they're either bunny boilers or poor communicators. Heaven forbid that women and girls should have wants, needs or opinions of their own!

After what way he treated her? He was out with friends, he had only just met her. Just meeting someone you like doesn't mean you're tied to them for the rest of the night.

What is she, the queen? She gave her number and she kissed him back, and doing so didn't oblige him to hang around for the rest of the night. I stand by my first take, which is that she got the wrong idea based on seeing what some scum do in their quest to score as much as possible, and was giving him nasty looks for no other reason than judging him based off the actions of others.

Seriously now, this is silly. He was with his friends, and she was there with a friend as well. It seems you expect that simply because they met and clicked, that they somehow had some obligation to bail on their friends and instantly glue themselves to each other. Oh and that he was supposed to ignore his other friend who called out to him, or dance with any other women for the rest of the night. It's ridiculous tbh.

I remember years ago, get the old heave ho from some girlfriends when they spied a more fit or monied bloke than yours truly. :rolleyes: Obviously, not all my exes are in that bracket but it still hurt. Every time.

phoenix833 wrote: »
    Now that kinda píssed me off because I'd only met her an hour earlier. Anyway then I got the whole I thought you were nice etc. spiel off her!!

I'm a girl.

You're spot on to be annoyed. She's not a bad person per say, but she sounds very,very immature. It's a really bad sign when a girl you've just met is getting 'annoyed' because she sees you with another girl.

You say she sounds nice from her text. This whole thing can possibly be salvaged if you tell her in no uncertain terms that her behaviour the first night was totally unacceptable. If she doesn't like you saying that to her, then she's not worth the hassle. If she shows a bit of humility about her awful behaviour, you might be onto something good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

Im sorry but that is absolute tripe. So bloody what if the guy got her number and went back to his mates. He talked to a girl he liked. He prioritised his friends who he hadn't seen in ages over a girl he met for only an hour and had intentions to call her which there is nothing wrong with. Just cause he fecked off doesn't mean he isn't interested. Just cause he goes talking to a "friend" who is a girl doesn't make him any less boyfriend material and just cause he is dancing like a gimp on the dance floor enjoying himself doesn't make him any less decent either. Absolutly shockin.

OP bullet dodged. The less women you can avoid with that girls line of thinking the better. She is the very one who in 5 years will be moaning to her friends and family as to why she "can't meet anyone decent" on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭qwertytlk

Okaayyyy...so after meeting this girl and spending all of an hour with her, she was moody, jealous, possesiv and insecre? Wow... Well no thats not normal. Not normal AT ALL!
    Can u imagine if you were with her for a month what she would be like. I reckon if you pursue a relationship with this needy and insecure girl then after a matter of weeks you would be banned from facebook, constantly rang and texr when you werent with her, have your phone calls and texts rifeled through and your lads nights out would be a distant memory!
    She may well be a nice girl as you say, but she clearly has issues with trust, insecurity, jealously and possesiveness, not to mention that fact that she must be a bit mad to think it was ok to go on with you the way she did after literally just meeting her. She would not be a good person to be in a relationship with. At the moment anyway as she clearly needs counselling or something to deal with her issue!

Seriously, forget about her and move on because your life would be a living nightmare in a relationship with someone who behaves like that and you wouldnt get a minutes peace with constant accusations being thrown and you!