Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grant Help!!!

• 31-10-2011 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

Hi, I got the letter for my grant last week (happy days!!) and I dropped it into the Student Administration place. Your one took a copy of my letter and nothing else was said.. does the money go directly into my account or do I have to go back and get a cheque???

any help would bbe greatly appreciated:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

You can check if it's come in on si.ul.ie and it'll be in your account a few days later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭qwerty93

cheers fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ceewa

I just see that FINALLY my cheque should be in, i got all the grant in one go last yeat as it was the end of the year before it got sorted but will get installments this year, anyone know how much they usually are? i think i'll get two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

ceewa wrote: »
    I just see that FINALLY my cheque should be in, i got all the grant in one go last yeat as it was the end of the year before it got sorted but will get installments this year, anyone know how much they usually are? i think i'll get two

3 installments of just over 2 grand if you're on the full maintenance non adjacent rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Bibbels

Still waiting to hear back about my grant even though I gave my forms in months before the deadline. I couldn't even view my exam results last year because my grant hadn't come through and I couldn't pay the full fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭RovinPirate

got the letter to say i was getting the full grant 3 weeks ago, nothing in my bank account, the county council twitter feed said they should be in the college by last thurs/fri. need this money soon? does it take long for the college to process it?

I checked the si.ul.ie website, they have the check since yesterday, will it take them long to process it?

got the letter to say i was getting the full grant 3 weeks ago, nothing in my bank account, the county council twitter feed said they should be in the college by last thurs/fri. need this money soon? does it take long for the college to process it?
    I checked the si.ul.ie website, they have the check since yesterday, will it take them long to process it?

Takes 5 days for the cheque to clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

checked everything, and it transpires UL have had my grant check for a good while now. (20th oct i think)

yet im still broke and no grant in my bank yet!

anyone tell me who i can bollock over this? once again the university is proving to be incompetent at administration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Same boat. Got the letter aproving my grant. Gave it to the SAA and my Bank Account is still empty :mad::mad::mad:

Kay guys, after 1000 phone-calls today, i found out whats going on, at least with mine.
    the college had the check since the 7th
    they sent it to the bank
    i am AIB, the cheque is BOI
    it will take 5 WORKING days to clear
    thus not till mon/tues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 onthebhoys

Hey lads, wondering if ye could help me out.
    I paid the €2072 registration fee because I wasn't sure if I would get the grant. As it turns out I got the grant where my registration fee is paid for. Will the college definately pay me back the €2,000 registration fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

onthebhoys wrote: »
    I paid the €2072 registration fee because I wasn't sure if I would get the grant. As it turns out I got the grant where my registration fee is paid for. Will the college definately pay me back the €2,000 registration fee?

cant remember who gives the money back. think its the university alright...

happened me last year. got a nice sum of money back into my account...almost certain the uni paid me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭augusta24

eldwaro wrote: »
    onthebhoys wrote: »

cant remember who gives the money back. think its the university alright...

happened me last year. got a nice sum of money back into my account...almost certain the uni paid me

Definitely the college that pays you back, if you have time you should call to the fees office with your grant letter tho just to remind them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭qwerty93

Does anyone know when the second installment date usually is for the full grant??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

qwerty93 wrote: »
    Does anyone know when the second installment date usually is for the full grant??

Its different for every county galway is usually mid-jan if its any use

Generally sometime during January but mine wasn't processed by UL until Feburary so it was mid February by the time it was in my account.

oohh awesome, I didn't realize the second installment was due so soon!
    (I'm also from Galway)
    If you have the full grant with the special rate how much will it be about?
    A nice surprise for once!

oohh awesome, I didn't realize the second installment was due so soon!
    (I'm also from Galway)
    If you have the full grant with the special rate how much will it be about?
    A nice surprise for once!

I'm on the special rate so last November i got just over €2000 (EDIT: 2033 exactly) however the will be slightly lower now due to government cuts
    (EDIT: 4% cut so ~€1951)

EDIT: here a link to check if your cheque is in http://www2.ul.ie/pdf/836019769.xls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

NTMK wrote: »
    I'm on the special rate so last November i got just over €2000 (EDIT: 2033 exactly) however the will be slightly lower now due to government cuts
    (EDIT: 4% cut so ~€1951)

EDIT: here a link to check if your cheque is in http://www2.ul.ie/pdf/836019769.xls

NTMK when you say you are on the special rate, what does that mean? I'm in 3rd year, have gotten close to 6,000 1st and 2nd year, this year It's been dropped to half that? I got a letter saying that I was on the special rate which now has me thinking that there's a **** up somewhere?

mud wrote: »
    NTMK when you say you are on the special rate, what does that mean? I'm in 3rd year, have gotten close to 6,000 1st and 2nd year, this year It's been dropped to half that? I got a letter saying that I was on the special rate which now has me thinking that there's a **** up somewhere?

I'm on the non-adjacent special rate which is €6100

they changed the adjacent distance from 24km to 45km so you could have been switched from the non-adjacent rate(€6100) to the adjacent rate (€2445)

or

they reviewed your parents income and moved you to the standard full grant which is €3120

this website is very helpful
    http://www.studentfinance.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Bibbels

Does anyone have any idea why it's so late in UL and so early in other places, I think Waterford get theirs first week of Jan.