Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Fine Gael becoming increasingly arrogant?

• 29-10-2011 8:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭

Shatter and Howlin come to mind, this week, as well as Varadkar. Their tone is becoming increasingly condescending, over the months, and I guess their poor performance in the DW election perhaps reflects this.

Anyone else notice this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Shatter and Howlin come to mind, this week, as well as Varadkar. Their tone is becoming increasingly condescending, over the months, and I guess their poor performance in the DW election perhaps reflects this.

Anyone else notice this?

Howlin is a member of the Labour Party and the other two were arrogant pricks way before this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

bmaxi wrote: »
    Howlin is a member of the Labour Party

Oops, my bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Politics is local

Their candidate in Dublin West failed not because of the ministers but the other candidates were better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Yeah, i'll second that. Shatter is a pretty nasty little solicitor who lives in cloud cuckoo land...I mean, to make your money in family law...you really have no soul whatsoever..and I am a solicitor so I know what certain areas in my profession are like and believe me family lawyers are in a whole league of their own.

Varadkar has always been an obnoxious little prick who found his natural home in Fine Gael...Howlin (although Labour) has that smug Labour party air about him alright.

Fianna Fail are just waiting for FG to shoot themselves in the foot. As the saying goes..."Give a man enough rope and he will hang himself"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

mikemac wrote: »
    Politics is local

Their candidate in Dublin West failed not because of the ministers but the other candidates were better

Would agree here. And they have a lot of v boring candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Yes they promised increased Mortgage Interest Relief for struggling homeowners before the election and have now decided it will not be paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Yeah, i'll second that. Shatter is a pretty nasty little solicitor who lives in cloud cuckoo land...I mean, to make your money in family law...you really have no soul whatsoever..and I am a solicitor so I know what certain areas in my profession are like and believe me family lawyers are in a whole league of their own.

Varadkar has always been an obnoxious little prick who found his natural home in Fine Gael...Howlin (although Labour) has that smug Labour party air about him alright.

Fianna Fail are just waiting for FG to shoot themselves in the foot. As the saying goes..."Give a man enough rope and he will hang himself"
    Let them hang themselves.But not to bring back Fianna Fail.FFS.Please not Fianna Fail.Ever again.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Let them hang themselves.But not to bring back Fianna Fail.FFS.Please not Fianna Fail.Ever again.

You know what we are like (as in the Irish electorate)...absolute martyrs for punishment...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

mikemac wrote: »
    Politics is local

Dennison could have won them the by-election, but I suspect Varadkar had a big say on Loftus being the candidate.

You know what we are like (as in the Irish electorate)...absolute martyrs for punishment...:D
    Unfortunately you are 100% correct:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

What about that Lucinda Creighton one, she reminds me a little of sweary Mary, full of absolute **** and willing to spout any BS her fellow government ministers tell her, mainly Michael Noonans. Repeating the same old nonsense rhetoric anytime she's interviewed.

I always thought Varadkar seemed a quite capable politician until he got elected, he seems to feel the need to comment on anything and everything to get his soundbites. He should not be commenting on anything outside of his remit, I wish that ****ing arsehole of a Taoiseach would tell him that.

FG have done very little different to FF and if I hear anymore about how they got us 2% off the bailout interest rate I'm going to lose it. It had everything to do with Greece and damn all to do with them and their 'smooth politics' as Noonan & Kenny have alluded to.

leonidas83 wrote: »
    What about that Lucinda Creighton one, she reminds me a little of sweary Mary, full of absolute **** and willing to spout any BS her fellow government ministers tell her, mainly Michael Noonans. Repeating the same old nonsense rhetoric anytime she's interviewed.

I always thought Varadkar seemed a quite capable politician until he got elected, he seems to feel the need to comment on anything and everything to get his soundbites. He should not be commenting on anything outside of his remit, I wish that ****ing arsehole of a Taoiseach would tell him that.

FG have done very little different to FF and if I hear anymore about how they got us 2% off the bailout interest rate I'm going to lose it. It had everything to do with Greece and damn all to do with them with their 'smooth politics' as Noonan & Kenny have alluded to.
    In fairness FF did SO MUCH wrong that its almost impossible for FG to do any worse.

FG have done very little different to FF and if I hear anymore about how they got us 2% off the bailout interest rate I'm going to lose it. It had everything to do with Greece and damn all to do with them with their 'smooth politics' as Noonan & Kenny have alluded to.

God yeah Varadkar and Creighton are a right pair. Opinions on absolutely everything. I can just imagine them in college. You know the type that gave students a bad name...a right bunch of "Know it alls" who are the world's leading experts on everything at 24. We all the know the type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

If you dont vote for them then you wont be,so you can be like me and shake your fist at the plonkers who do and be high and mighty .;)

In fairness FF did SO MUCH wrong that its almost impossible for FG to do any worse.
    #

Are you having a laugh now? They already are doing it.700 million cheque to bond holders who have no guarantee:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Was very unimpressed with Shatters views on the No in the referendum. Considering eight former attorney generals were against it you can't dismiss the result the way he was.

caseyann wrote: »
    If you dont vote for them then you wont be,so you can be like me and shake your fist at the plonkers who do and be high and mighty .;)

Yes the view is great up here...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

God yeah Varadkar and Creighton are a right pair. Opinions on absolutely everything. I can just imagine them in college. You know the type that gave students a bad name...a right bunch of "Know it alls" who are the world's leading experts on everything at 24. We all the know the type.

I dunno, I kinda expect the people I elect to have opinions on everything! Better than the craven, parish pump politician who shifts his opinions as easily as a chameleon changes colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

meglome wrote: »
    Was very unimpressed with Shatters views on the No in the referendum. Considering eight former attorney generals were against it you can't dismiss the result the way he was.

I agree with that. I thought the general government reaction to legit criticiam of the amendment was far too personalised, bordering on the nasty. Howlin and Rabbit were the greatest offenders in that regard though. And tbh, their reaction wasn't far off that of many posters here on the politic's forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

They would be on the arsehole wing of that party - along with Shatter, Hayes and Gay Mitchell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Howlin was even more condescending.
    This arrogance spans the parties in Govt.

Yes the view is great up here...:D

It is isnt it :D Imagine me with so little political Knowledge can smell red herrings and bad ideas without even understanding half the **** they say (which i think is on purpose) and the ones who say they so called understand it and how intelligent and viable it is land on their face in fertilizer cant.How they must feel.
    I hope i wrote that articulate enough.:p

One thing if for sure if they dont start having a reason to look arrogant and actually start doing what the people wanted and they promised they will be in serious trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

FG have done very little different to FF and if I hear anymore about how they got us 2% off the bailout interest rate I'm going to lose it. It had everything to do with Greece and damn all to do with them and their 'smooth politics' as Noonan & Kenny have alluded to.

all politicians have big egos and are arrogant to a degree , a humble man or woman wouldnt dare put themselves up for election in the first place

as for the deputys in question , shatter is a cold fish , always has been , varadkar might be smug but hes one of the most exciting young politicians to emerge in recent times in this country and many see him as a future party leader , creighton is a self important windbag with little in the way of real ability , good at sucking up to europe and uttering carefully prepared soundbites is about the height of her contribution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭EoC

What really pisses me off is that I voted for Fine Gael on the promise that
    A. They would take on the unions and bring some order to the finances
    B. Bring some honesty and integrity back into Politics.

How wrong was I. Fine Gael (or Labour-Lite as I like to call them) are all a bunch of windbags. I distinctly remember Lucinda warning the unions that their time was up. She has turned out to be the most talentless, gutless, annoying one of the whole lot. Maybe its because I don't expect much of the others but she seems a bit fiesty. As for Leo I acutally think he has some solid opinions and won't sit back and take his paycheck like Enda. He reminds me of Michael McDowell sometimes in that he is willing to stick his neck out and get things done.
    All-in-all Fine Gael are sinking. I'm not sure if they realise that this presidential campaign and the result in West Dublin are warning signs that they should heed.
    Lads get the finger out and do what we voted you to do and stop cowtowing to the Labour party and their unions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I fail to see this arrogance argument.

FG ran a fool in the presidential campaign, he was an embaressment to them, they lost out to a FF seat, which was won by a Government party, Leo is a twat, always has been, but I find Kenny not only a very humble man, but the leader of an extremely competent Government, which has stabalised an Economy in free fall, achieved growth well before anyone's wildest expectations, gearing up to go back to the markets well ahead of schedule, honouring the agreements THE REPUBLIC was tied in to well before this Government was seated, by the moronic decisions of the previous Government, restored good will and reputation in the E.U., we're getting glowing references and a lot or respect back, but are they arrogant because they are now not paying your mortgage and your sh*t state of affairs is something they have created recently?

Defies logic. Roll on the next general election and let's get it over and done with, and you can all cry into your cornflakes about how Sinn Fein and the socialist party have ruined your lives....

This country...

#

Are you having a laugh now? They already are doing it.700 million cheque to bond holders who have no guarantee:)
    I said it was ALMOST impossible for em to do worse than FF. They might just achieve it though.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

[Quote=[Jackass];75220391]I fail to see this arrogance argument.

FG ran a fool in the presidential campaign, he was an embaressment to them, they lost out to a FF seat, which was won by a Government party, Leo is a twat, always has been, but I find Kenny not only a very humble man, but the leader of an extremely competent Government, which has stabalised an Economy in free fall, achieved growth well before anyone's wildest expectations, gearing up to go back to the markets well ahead of schedule, honouring the agreements THE REPUBLIC was tied in to well before this Government was seated, by the moronic decisions of the previous Government, restored good will and reputation in the E.U., we're getting glowing references and a lot or respect back, but are they arrogant because they are now not paying your mortgage and your sh*t state of affairs is something they have created recently?

Defies logic. Roll on the next general election and let's get it over and done with, and you can all cry into your cornflakes about how Sinn Fein and the socialist party have ruined your lives....

This country...[/Quote]

Here, have a charity 'thanks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭SeanW

I'm beginning to think that FG may be trying to prove you wrong.

They seem to have the same banking policy (throw the taxpayer under the bus) and they are taking Ireland far towards the Authoritarian Right, further than FF ever did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Anyone else notice this?
    FG would never have won that seat.McNulty is a formidable operator. Burton will not be happy and now she has to watch her back.Leo has always being dislikeable n arrogant,he will get his come uppings. Shatter too but he has substance, he wont be around in 5 years and maybe reshuffled in 2 years.They have agendas and will do what it takes

FF or some bastardise version of them will be back within 10-15 years. If British Conservatives or its Candian version can do it, FF will have little problems. No matter what FG do now they will not be popular, i pitty them in that. Its too early to condem FG yet(oh that hurts to say that)

both loose lips n leo spent too much time in young fine gael being told how great they were that sort of lead to their down fall. ah they might mature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Same shít, different name.

dlofnep wrote: »

Same shít, different name.

So we can assume that most of the people voted for FG because of this exact promise and they have been lied to? Since i didnt vote FG i can point fingers and shake fist and look down on them in pity for being duped :D
    Is this not like consumer affairs,if what was bought was and meant to be on the packet,was not there when they opened it.Those who voted can get a refund.
    Is this not economic treason?
    I dont know much on the term but i think should be falling into that category along with false mis-representation and obtaining votes under false pretenses.SO that would be treason also.
    Sickening isnt it 700 million going to the bank now isnt it.:rolleyes:
    Oh and seanad still there who would have thought it.

So we can assume that most of the people voted for FG because of this exact promise and they have been lied to? Since i didnt vote FG i can point fingers and shake fist and look down on them in pity for being duped :D
    Is this not like consumer affairs,if what was bought was and meant to be on the packet,was not there when they opened it.Those who voted can get a refund.
    Is this not economic treason?
    I dont know much on the term but i think should be falling into that category along with false mis-representation and obtaining votes under false pretenses.SO that would be treason also.
    Sickening isnt it 700 million going to the bank now isnt it.:rolleyes:
    Oh and seanad still there who would have thought it.

Most people cop on and realise that opposition parties promise the moon and the stars, but when they enter government they realise the real deal on what they can and can not do.

The government is less than 1 year in power. There will be problems, get use to it. We need people offering solutions not loud mouths and hacks pointing fingers and shouting nonsense. I did not vote FG, and I will probably be ever likely to vote FG (it makes it easy that my local candidates are twats) but I am willing to wait and see.

FG have always had an arrogant streak in them. Maybe Dermott Morgan was right when he use to mimic Michael Noonan on "don't be asking us what FG will do for you, you should be asking what you shall do for FG"

There will be problems, get use to it.

How about we don't get used to it, and stop bending over and accepting every single ridiculous political decision our Government makes? Handing out over €718,000,000 to unguaranteed bondholders, while our hospital services are being closed down is worth speaking out about.

Back in the real world, most people realize that this government can't prevent the tough measures that are forthcoming. They inherited a mess. It is always those who want to "burn the bonds" or jump and round the streets to re-create their "socialist" roots (after years of pissing money up against the wall and spending more than they can afford) who have little or nothing to contribute in productive ideas to sort this mess out.

Are hospitals going to improve the economy? Get rid of the administrative staff is a start, oh wait, you will have some one on here to complain about their lost job. Willing to pay more taxes for the privilege of hospitals? Last I remember people were going mental over that. There is no such thing as a free lunch, and many here think that they have a god given right to certain things without paying for it.

Of course its worth speaking about it, but it reeks of absolute knee jerk reaction from some very excitable people here who complain about this government AT THIS TIME. Its too early to do that. No party would have done any different. If you or I were in government, we would have no choice but to make some extremely though decisions. Hospitals have been closed before, the world, thankfully, did not fall down.

There are some here, that I doubt ever had a proper job or paid tax. The taxpayers have had to put up with the Trade Unions for far too long themselves. The notion of some unskilled workers doing jobs a village idiot could do and getting up to €7-9 an hour is ridiculous and lets not talk about the public service (I exclude Gardaí, Nurses, Paramedics, Firemen and any other Front line services, they deserve every penny they can get)

So stop being pissy and actually come out with solutions.

Back in the real world, most people realize that this government can't prevent the tough measures that are forthcoming.

I love that line - "Back in the real world". The implication being that you are somehow grounded to reality, while anyone vocal enough to criticise one terrible political decision after another must clearly not be in tune with reality. That's not how it works I'm afraid, and it's that sort of arrogance that people treat with the rightful contempt it deserves.
    They inherited a mess. It is always those who want to "burn the bonds" or jump and round the streets to re-create their "socialist" roots (after years of pissing money up against the wall and spending more than they can afford) who have little or nothing to contribute in productive ideas to sort this mess out.

We're quite aware of the legacy that Fianna Fáil left them. But they cannot use that crutch for every single decision they make. They need to start manning up and accepting responsibility for their decisions.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for having the Irish tax-payer bail out over €700 million in unguaranteed bonds. Especially when Fine Gael went into the election campaign with the likes of Varadkar promising the electorate that Anglo would not get another cent.

And what happens? They are giving them €700 million.
    Are hospitals going to improve the economy?

Actually, yes - they are. A better functioning health service will lower the average national sick days.
    Get rid of the administrative staff is a start, oh wait, you will have some one on here to complain about their lost job. Willing to pay more taxes for the privilege of hospitals? Last I remember people were going mental over that.

If it comes to between investing €700 million into our public services (health, education, and protecting the most vulnerable in society), and handing away €700 million to unnamed, ungauranteed bondholders - I know where I want my money to go.
    Of course its worth speaking about it, but it reeks of absolute knee jerk reaction from some very excitable people here who complain about this government AT THIS TIME. Its too early to do that.

Knee-jerk reaction when we are just about to hand over €700 million, too early to do at this time? When is the right time to protest - 2 weeks after the event, when it's too late?

Fine Gael wouldn't even allow the issue to be discussed in the Dáil today. That shows what they think of the Irish people.

I love that line - "Back in the real world". The implication being that you are somehow grounded to reality, while anyone vocal enough to criticise one terrible political decision after another must clearly not be in tune with reality. That's not how it works I'm afraid, and it's that sort of arrogance that people treat with the rightful contempt it deserves.

No is critical of those who are critical of the political decisions. Its was they say that becomes ridiculous. They do seem to live in Noody Land. When there asked what the alternative is, they have nothing to say.

Word is it that local councils were the owner of some of the bonds, you want to burn them, yeah?. This is the ECB's call. You honestly think any government minister wants to be this? Word is also that we will be getting a State of the Nation address before the Budget (not fun). What we need is for FG to actually explain why this is happening. There maybe justified reasons. When FF started this, no body explained why they were doing it or who were the receipants. Lets get answers first.

We're quite aware of the legacy that Fianna Fáil left them. But they cannot use that crutch for every single decision they make. They need to start manning up and accepting responsibility for their decisions.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for having the Irish tax-payer bail out over €700 million in unguaranteed bonds. Especially when Fine Gael went into the election campaign with the likes of Varadkar promising the electorate that Anglo would not get another cent.

And what happens? They are giving them €700 million.

On this occasion, they can, this is FF mess. ECB cracked the whip on this. We need answers first.

FG told us Lisbon would protect jobs (ie retain EU status, companies won't leave) despite being a Treaty solely regarding the structure and democratic set up of the EU. You really believe party promises? People spent more time in voting and supporting anyone bar FF. FG were the default because the left were not strong enough. Labour should have crucified their PR handlers and Gilmore proved to be hot air when it really counted.
    Actually, yes - they are. A better functioning health service will lower the average national sick days.

If it comes to between investing €700 million into our public services (health, education, and protecting the most vulnerable in society), and handing away €700 million to unnamed, ungauranteed bondholders - I know where I want my money to go.

Record levels of money was pumped into the Health Service for the last 15 years. We got nothing out of it, because people are idiots in planning.

You can have all the sick days in the world that you want when factories are closed and can't pay your wages, or their in no work to go to. Horse before the cart, yeah.

By the way, being hung over or sleeping late or just throwing a sickie hardly need attendance in Hospital. How many absent workers bother to get sick notes anyway?
    Knee-jerk reaction when we are just about to hand over €700 million, too early to do at this time? When is the right time to protest - 2 weeks after the event, when it's too late?

Fine Gael wouldn't even allow the issue to be discussed in the Dáil today. That shows what they think of the Irish people.

Yeah, that is the problem, I want answers first become jumping to conclusion. Parties walking out of Dáil Éireann in a symbolic gesture, thinking voters will buy into that ****e, is going to cut it. Walking out is only helping FG

Protest, what protest? They could not organised a piss up in a brewery those lot, without some gormless idiot smashing things up. You have a work force thats divided between public and private sector, organisation who are dying to split, (you know that Joe Higgins is ready to fall out with everyone, even his allies) What is it going to achieve? Vent your furry, great, anything else?

Do the protesters have basic uniting policy for a start, what specifically do they want? How will it be achieved? What are their alternatives?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

Fianna Gael have always been arrogant and condescending, why do you think they never last two terms in government. People tire of their arrogance after just one term.

Fianna Fail have ****ed this country beyond repair, but you cant deny that chance your arm , likeability factor, that charisma that personality, puts them above the bland, condescending nature of FGers.

Now dont get me wrong, I've never gave preferences to either party and in all likelihood wont in the immediate future, but parties policy is practically the same, so alot of the time the electorate I assume vote due to their personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Wider Road

Fianna Gael have always been arrogant and condescending, why do you think they never last two terms in government. People tire of their arrogance after just one term.

Fianna Fail have ****ed this country beyond repair, but you cant deny that chance your arm , likeability factor, that charisma that personality, puts them above the bland, condescending nature of FGers.

Now dont get me wrong, I've never gave preferences to either party and in all likelihood wont in the immediate future, but parties policy is practically the same, so alot of the time the electorate I assume vote due to their personality.

Did FG & Labour lie to us?