Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car insurance 25+ friendly

• 29-10-2011 3:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭

Where would i get a decent quote for first time driver insurance on a provisional licence on a 1.6 vectra?

Tried quinn half hour ago, they want €2890 which is taking the piss. I got quoted them kinda figures at 18, i'm nearly 26. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

How do you have a quote from you being 18 if you're only starting now?

Vectra's ain't powerful, I cannot see how it was that expensive, unless you have a drink driving conviction previously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭SIBERIA

I rang around for quotes at 18/19 but found out i couldn't afford it.

I have no criminal record and i have never driven before to get a drink driving conviction. As i said taking the piss.

Pretty strange... Em. Are you in an area that cars are generally nicked from?

That's a huge quote though. Very strange. But then again, have you tried getting a quote on something smaller? On a provisional, they're a little picky about engine size and power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Get a female with a full licence to be put on as a named driver, my insurance dropped €400 the first time i did that.

You don't get a NCB then. It's better to bite the bullet now, rather than later. Also, if he is in a crash on his own, he isn't covered as a named driver without the person who the insurance is named under is present.

barura wrote: »
    Pretty strange... Em. Are you in an area that cars are generally nicked from?

That's a huge quote though. Very strange. But then again, have you tried getting a quote on something smaller? On a provisional, they're a little picky about engine size and power.

Nope ronan keating lives up the road!!!

Car is there for nothing. Just needs to be insured and sh1t, can't afford both car & insurance.
    cronin_j wrote: »
    Get a female with a full licence to be put on as a named driver, my insurance dropped €400 the first time i did that.

Don't know anyone that would do that.
    You don't get a NCB then. It's better to bite the bullet now, rather than later. Also, if he is in a crash on his own, he isn't covered as a named driver without the person who the insurance is named under is present.

€2890 is too big of a bullet to be biting !!

Are you responding to me? If you are then I dunno what you read. If he puts a female on his insurance he gets his own NCB etc and she is the named on his policy.

I dunno why you think he wont have an NCB and isnt insured if she wouldnt be in the car...

Are you responding to me? If you are then I dunno what you read. If he puts a female on his insurance he gets his own NCB etc and she is the named on his policy.

I dunno why you think he wont have an NCB and isnt insured if she wouldnt be in the car...
    Ah, read that the wrong way around. But how can putting a woman as a named driver lower insurance? Surely anyone else on a policy would only increase the loading? if you could make savings just by naming women on your insurance, I'd list everyone I could with a licence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Ah, read that the wrong way around. But how can putting a woman as a named driver lower insurance? Surely anyone else on a policy would only increase the loading? if you could make savings just by naming women on your insurance, I'd list everyone I could with a licence!

Two reasons, one would be the fact that the woman would stand a chance of driving it and add a lower overall risk. Secondly, in a relationship a fair portion of the women would be in the car with the men when driving. This effects the driving style of the man and once again lowers the overall risk. Contrary to the campaign of "He drives, she dies".

But women drivers don't affect polices anymore, so your argument is invalid. It was made sexist, iirc.

Now if it was because you're married, that's a completely different thing altogether.

OP, have you tried any other companies or brokers? Maybe they put in some data wrong, I say again, that's a phenomenal price to be paying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

SIBERIA wrote: »
    Where would i get a decent quote for first time driver insurance on a provisional licence on a 1.6 vectra?

Tried quinn half hour ago, they want €2890 which is taking the piss. I got quoted them kinda figures at 18, i'm nearly 26. :mad:

Was that an online quote ? I find if you ring insurance companies you may get a better quote...you have to shop around ,like the other poster said.I still get quotes of over a grand and i'm 42 with a full licence.Get a quote and try play them off against each other. good luck.

MJ

This was on the phone. Told her its very expensive compared to others (lied) she said thats whats coming up on her screen and basically she could do no more.

Try AXA maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

But women drivers don't affect polices anymore, so your argument is invalid. It was made sexist, iirc.

Incorrect.

Female drivers still get cheaper insurance,fact.

The laws relating to reducing the difference between premiums for male and female drivers doesnt have to be in place until December 2012.

:rolleyes: Fecking hell, I made a statement above that when I put my Girlfriend on my policy it dropped €400, did ye think i made it up or something??

The fact is, it works because they reduce the risk, you can do it with your mother also as a few friends have done this..

Yep females defiantly get cheaper insurance.

Quote on a vectra 1.6 for myself 25 year old, provisional

41545816.png

Quote exactly the same just changing the drop down menu to female

48630244.png

That is just wrong imo. :mad:

:rolleyes: Fecking hell, I made a statement above that when I put my Girlfriend on my policy it dropped €400, did ye think i made it up or something??

The fact is, it works because they reduce the risk, you can do it with your mother also as a few friends have done this..
    Jaysus man, I just didn't understand how that works! But I might go put my girlfriend on my insurance to try and bring it down now...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Jaysus man, I just didn't understand how that works! But I might go put my girlfriend on my insurance to try and bring it down now...!
    You can also tell them you are living together for a few more quid off too ;)

That'd be pushing it into a definite lie at that stage. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

That'd be pushing it into a definite lie at that stage. :)

Not if it's true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Now if it was because you're married, that's a completely different thing altogether.

OP, have you tried any other companies or brokers? Maybe they put in some data wrong, I say again, that's a phenomenal price to be paying!

It's not invalid. I have years named driving experience, am 27 and have had a full licence for almost 2 years.

My insurance was €750. When my g.f (27) passed her theory test and got a learners permit, I added her to my insurance. It dropped to €690.

That's right....a learner's permit and she still decreased it. She can't even drive ffs. I've been starting her off.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Not if it's true
    I don't live with the lady at the moment, the joys of being a college student! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

My insurance has always been cheaper by having the girlfriend(now wife) on it.

My insurance on my skyline 350gt was almost €300 cheaper then with just me on the policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

I don't live with the lady at the moment, the joys of being a college student! :(

Does she have a drawer or space in your wardrobe for her stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

It works alright, brought down my policy by about €200.She still doesn't get to drive it though. :D

But wasn't there a case on this forum where a dude got done for both polices he had between him and his girlfriend?

I mean, if she crashes, it affects my policy since she is a named driver, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I have no criminal record and i have never driven before to get a drink driving conviction.

OP I think the part I bolded might be part of the problem. How much experience do you have?
    Insurance is assessed by a number of factors, experience being one.
    If you are only starting out driving at 26 then you are probably being rated as a new driver with all the attendant risk.
    Maybe you should look at a smaller engine like a 1 litre or so just to get your first quote down and start to build your NCB up?

I'm 25, on a provisional, bought a corolla 1.4l on thursday, got quoted an average of 1500 to 1600 for it. However, I tried Aviva online quote, put my "partner" as a second driver on the insurance and it brought it down to 950. She has a full license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Athlone_Bhoy

Can a girl be insured on her own car then stick her on my car as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Can a girl be insured on her own car then stick her on my car as well?

As a named driver, yeah.She can

Cheapest way for insurance is to just start ringing around OP getting quotes.Can't expect anyone here to give you a accurate quote.

As a named driver, yeah.She can

Cheapest way for insurance is to just start ringing around OP getting quotes.Can't expect anyone here to give you a accurate quote.

In fact if ye go with the same insurance company expect to see an even bigger drop in price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭beazee

You don't get a NCB then.
    Been named driver on wife's policy for almost four years.
    Recently replaced car and got it insured in my name.
    With letters stating No Claims Driving Experience my current policy says: "no claims discount: 45%".

CJhaughey wrote: »
    [/B]
    OP I think the part I bolded might be part of the problem. How much experience do you have?
    Insurance is assessed by a number of factors, experience being one.
    If you are only starting out driving at 26 then you are probably being rated as a new driver with all the attendant risk.
    Maybe you should look at a smaller engine like a 1 litre or so just to get your first quote down and start to build your NCB up?

I hear ya, only got 6 hours in lessons (this new 12 lesson yoke). The vectra was convenient ..and free, can't afford to buy both a car and insure it mate.

Really wasn't expecting it to be so expensive taught it goes down at 25. I should have checked this before taking lessons. Think i'm just going to leave it ..might just chance it around my area without insurance nothing to lose to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I hear Think i'm just going to leave it ..might just chance it around my area without insurance nothing to lose to be honest.

Don't be stupid. if you can't afford it, then stick to buses or lifts. If you do have an accident and are uninsured, you'll sorely regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I hear ya, only got 6 hours in lessons (this new 12 lesson yoke). The vectra was convenient ..and free, can't afford to buy both a car and insure it mate.

If you can't afford both then my advice would be spend the money you have set aside for the insurance and get more lessons and your full licence.

Don't be stupid and drive around with no insurance, if you are in an accident and it is serious then you can forget about driving for a very long time. You or your mother/father will end up paying for your mistakes.

I learned a very harsh lesson myself when i was your age, i had insurance and tax but within a few weeks i crashed because i had very little driving experience and only had a few lessons and of course i knew best and not my parents. I ended up paying for my mistakes for the next 5 years. A harsh lesson.

Ah ye sure we'll see what happens, just a little annoyed to be honest. I stopped taking the lessons cause i felt i wasn't benefiting from them without a car there to practice in afterwards. Bit like going to school without the books...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭SeanW

Vanbis wrote: »
    If you can't afford both then my advice would be spend the money you have set aside for the insurance and get more lessons and your full licence.

Don't be stupid and drive around with no insurance, if you are in an accident and it is serious then you can forget about driving for a very long time. You or your mother/father will end up paying for your mistakes.

I learned a very harsh lesson myself when i was your age, i had insurance and tax but within a few weeks i crashed because i had very little driving experience and only had a few lessons and of course i knew best and not my parents. I ended up paying for my mistakes for the next 5 years. A harsh lesson.
    He already has the car, it was a freebie - e.g. a hand me down? So he can afford the insurance.

In any case I mirror the above advice. Ring around and get more quotes.

I know from experience that quotes can vary wildly, and you lose a crazy amount of money if you go through a broker.

SeanW wrote: »
    He already has the car, it was a freebie - e.g. a hand me down? So he can afford the insurance.

I know the car was a freebie but you have to consider the running cost and maintenance of the car. OP shop around and if you have to get someone down as a name driver but get your full licence.

Is there a lists of non-broker company's on here i could try then?

-Ye the plan was to get full licence as quickly as possible but, i wouldn't feel confident after 12 lessons and no experience driving my own car day in day out, you know?

Is there a lists of non-broker company's on here i could try then?

-Ye the plan was to get full licence as quickly as possible but, i wouldn't feel confident after 12 lessons and no experience driving my own car day in day out, you know?

I know its tough and a long road, i was in a similar position to yourself. I got a car for free when i was younger, i learned the hard way.

What about getting insured as a name driver on a family members car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

On a provisional, they're a little picky about engine size and power.

Not in my experience with insurance so far. Only starting myself at 26 and the difference between a 1.4 -1.6 - 1.8 is only about a €100 jump each time.

I got quoted €1,820 on a 1.4 Corolla and €1,900 on a 1.6 Bora.

Sure I got quoted less on a 1.9TDi Bora than a 1.4 Corolla.

The risk method used is madness.

I know its tough and a long road, i was in a similar position to yourself. I got a car for free when i was younger, i learned the hard way.

Parents don't drive, brother said he doesn't thrust me with his NCB ..he drives for a living so can't really mess about there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭deadlast

Parents don't drive, brother said he doesn't thrust me with his NCB ..he drives for a living so can't really mess about there.
    How many different quotes have you got?

I dont mean to be asking a simple question, but have you picked up the phone and phonebook and rang them all? The online quote system is very different to speaking to them...

deadlast wrote: »
    How many different quotes have you got?

Only 2 don't really know where to be ringing/bank holiday. I only inquired yesterday evening a lot of them where closed.
    I dont mean to be asking a simple question, but have you picked up the phone and phonebook and rang them all? The online quote system is very different to speaking to them...

Yep don't use them quote systems for definitive quotes, always ring, albeit not all of them as most are not back until tuesday. (i think?)

Any lists of insurers floating around?